We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent city views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albergaria Miradouro
Ranked #73 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed October 8, 2011

It is one of the best value for money hotels you can find in Oporto. Rooms furniture is a bit dated, but yet comfortable.
Great view from room and restaurant, were the breakfast is served. Breakfast is OK.
Location is good, near the S. Catarina street and the metro station (marques).
There is a night club in front of the hotel with loud music, people talking and cars making noise.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpc158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 183 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2009

This hotel is awful. We booked this for one night ( 2-rooms ) with my family but could not stay. The rooms smelled of urine, the fire-doors were locked shut and the area was run-down. It claims to be a 4-star hotel which is a total joke - I would'nt give it 1-star. I would recommend you check into the Novaoel ( which we subsequently did ! ) in Gaia which is much nicer and in a better part of town.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

Pros: friendly and helpful staff, free parking, great breakfast with amazing views over Porto, comfortable rooms with great views as well, extremely cheap and unbeatable rates, quiet rooms

Cons: a little old (but not a big deal), not really any bathroom ammenities, air conditioner barely works (got a little warm but it wasn't bad even in the height of summer), quite an uphill to walk to get to the hotel from the river (though if you can't walk this, taxis are pretty cheap -- from the river it costs just a bit over 5 euros).

Certainly no luxury, but it's perfectly acceptable, especially in light of what you way. Would stay again (already have 4 times)!

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Daniel5153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

This Hotel was out of date the bath was slimy the hotel was out of town.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james_denicolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

We booked this hotel based on the reviews on this site and think that some of the previous reviews concentrate on the positives of this hotel a bit too much (friendly staff, free parking, great views, crazy 60s decoration).
We felt that although it was clean, it was a bit shabby in places (particularly the bathroom and the restaurant ). Although we didn't eat a meal in the restaurant, the breakfast wasn't great.
It is a bit of a way out of town (as mentioned previously) but it isn't in a great area - lots of empty buildings (although this seems to be the case in most parts of Porto)

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottChristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We had just one night in Porto arriving late and leaving early but staying here meant that we had a wonderful meal in the hotel restaurant with views across Porto and then fabulous daylight views from our room the next day. The restaurant is like something from a James Bond film - apparently one of the best places to eat in Portugal (but not cheap!!) The decor has not changed since the sixties but doesn't seem shabby. Staff were lovely and spoke English. Our room cost £50 for the 12th floor - spend a little more for the views. This place deserves your custom so if you like somewhere with character, I would recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holiday_lover79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

If you think the reviews for this hotel are too good to be true, then resist your scepticism and don't hesitate to book a stay at this wonderful hotel. Everything reviewers say is true: 60's time-capsule, great restaurant, breathtaking views and staff who, tho shy, cannot do enough for you to make you feel at home.

We were slightly concerned by photos of apparently shabby bedrooms but trust us, the decor is not only authentic 1960's/1970's but is no more worn than your average Comfort Inn. In fact, we promise you will be spending your first evening staring at the extradordinary fixtures, the crazy paving flooring, the pink bathroom, the chintzy wallpaper and the retro furniture and wondering how it could all have survived in such good condition!

The location was also a half black mark when we were looking at our options. But though it is all uphill from Trinidade metro station, when you know where you're going, it takes little more than 10 minutes going up and the 20 minute walk to the old town/riverfront is all downhill and a delight.

Our only misgiving is that during high summer, the apparent lack of AC or ventilation in the rooms would probably make for a sweaty night but check with them first about this.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phileas_Flogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.6 mi away
The Rex Hotel
The Rex Hotel
#84 of 108 in Porto
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
TRYP Porto Centro Hotel
TRYP Porto Centro Hotel
#43 of 108 in Porto
620 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Porto Nobre
Hotel Porto Nobre
#66 of 108 in Porto
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paulista Pensao Residencial
1.7 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#37 of 108 in Porto
814 reviews
3.9 mi away
Residencial Porto Foz
Residencial Porto Foz
#75 of 108 in Porto
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria Miradouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria Miradouro

Address: Rua da Alegria 598, Porto 4000-037, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: $53 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergaria Miradouro 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergaria Miradouro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Miradouro Porto
Albergaria Miradouro Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing