We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Dated Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Infante Sagres
Ranked #33 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Dated Hotel”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

hotel Infante Sagres was probably a luxury hotel 20 or 30 years ago, but nothing has been updated since. The hotel is well situated, has wifi, and includes a nice breakfast, but the sleeping conditions are not comfortable. The beds are old (i'd guess at least 10 years old) and are extremely soft and creak very loudly. There is also no way to control the temperature in the room which made our room uncomfortably hot. In addition the walls are very thin so you can hear anything that occurs in the hallway or room next door (even a cough). The bathrooms are probably the best part of the room, they are not luxurious but at least clean and the shower has good water pressure. If you are looking for a cheap hotel in a good location this is not a bad choice, but if you want an upscale hotel this is not it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avidtraveler123985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    395
    154
    46
    25
See reviews for
161
510
32
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my family for 3 days and the experience was nice when we are in this kind of trips we always walk so we always get to the hotel late, it was in winter so it was all rainy, the hotel had a good heating system so we were warm, but possibly it was a little too good as we had to sleep without the covers sometimes and the staff was nice, but the walls were to thin so we heard all that the other people were doing.
Overall it was nice.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fooderl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The hotel was nicer on the inside than the outside would let you believe.
The staff was over all friendly and helpful. However having stayed at other "small luxury hotel" properties I was not that impressed with the luxury part. The room was nice but unfortunately only heated from 8pm on. The lighting in the bathroom was very bad and the walls so thin I had to listen to somebody being sick in the bathroom next door all night. When I went down at 2.30am to notify the reception about this, he said I could move the next day. I had hoped for a room not anywhere another neighbouring bathroom but apparently that was not possible. I still moved even though the room I received was a slight downgrade. I do not believe I will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefano O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had a ‘superior room’ here, which was a very large room, with pleasant décor in red, white and black. It also had a very good sized bathroom. The wardrobe was a small room in itself!

The hotel seemed quite busy with people coming and going, although there was little in the way of ‘public rooms’ (at least that we found): just a bar, off the reception area, and the dining room where breakfast was served. The lift is splendidly old-fashioned and even has a seat inside! The hotel’s location is good for exploring the city. The reception staff, particularly one lady, spoke excellent English and were very efficient and helpful.

Breakfast was a reasonable selection and good quality, but the breakfast room was possibly a bit too small for the size of hotel – we had to wait for a table to be found and re-set on both mornings of our stay.

The Book! Restaurant next door (which is part of the hotel but has a separate entrance) provided an excellent value set lunch. (I think it was a 10 Euro set two-course lunch) We also ate a dinner there on one occasion, which was nice, but less good value than the lunch. They make good use of old books to present the menus and bills!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsABear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel facade does not do its interior decor justice, but I suppose this is a common trait of buildings in Portugal. I personally felt that its rooms could be better refurbished. My twin room was basic without the "luxury element" which I was expecting from a hotel which is part of the "small luxury hotels" group. That said, I have nothing but praises for its lovely breakfast hall and lobby. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to Sao Bento station and most tourist attractions. Objectively better than most hotels in the vicinity, but may not be the best value-for-money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queridabonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel right in the centre of Porto. Big, clean rooms and very comfy beds. Our room had a nice view over the city. From the hotel you can walk all around the city centre. Good breakfast! I would definitely stay here again when I go back to Porto. Recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

By conventional measures of convenience, comfort, cleanliness, economy and, especially and importantly, customer care, the Hotel Infante Sagres is among the best we've experienced in 30+ years of travel. We arrived hot and flustered after driving through peak hour Oporto traffic - having taken a few wrong turns along the way, to be greeted by charming, calming front of house staff who made us feel we were the most important people in the world and who settled us into our large, comfortable room (with excellent bathroom) with a minimum of fuss. Sure, the fittings and furniture are eclectic, but they only add another layer of charm to an overall experience of the highest satisfaction. Our only improvement suggestion would be to increase the number of breakfast service staff: the courtly gentleman who provided table coffee service was, at times, run off his feet - but still managed to carry out his duties with the grace and charm that typify this excellent establishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.4 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#7 of 108 in Porto
559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
2.0 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.2 mi away
Hotel Teatro Porto
Hotel Teatro Porto
#20 of 108 in Porto
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Infante Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Infante Sagres

Property: Hotel Infante Sagres
Address: Praca Dona Filipa de Lencastre 62, Porto 4050-259, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Porto
#11 Business Hotel in Porto
#22 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#27 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Infante Sagres 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Infante Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infante Sagres Hotel
Infante Sagres Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing