We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Eclectic excellence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Infante Sagres

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Infante Sagres
Ranked #28 of 101 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eclectic excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

By conventional measures of convenience, comfort, cleanliness, economy and, especially and importantly, customer care, the Hotel Infante Sagres is among the best we've experienced in 30+ years of travel. We arrived hot and flustered after driving through peak hour Oporto traffic - having taken a few wrong turns along the way, to be greeted by charming, calming front of house staff who made us feel we were the most important people in the world and who settled us into our large, comfortable room (with excellent bathroom) with a minimum of fuss. Sure, the fittings and furniture are eclectic, but they only add another layer of charm to an overall experience of the highest satisfaction. Our only improvement suggestion would be to increase the number of breakfast service staff: the courtly gentleman who provided table coffee service was, at times, run off his feet - but still managed to carry out his duties with the grace and charm that typify this excellent establishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    354
    137
    38
    20
See reviews for
138
443
29
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very grand other era design and interesting. A little dark perhaps for current taste, but decor has been updated to help with this. The head on clash with the palace style with contemporary white leather in reception, the wall hung chairs, and the feature lime green chairs in the dining room are certainly a talking point but probably better than gutting it all and making it look like just another chain hotel. I love the crocodile seat in the lift!

So, this is an individual hotel in a great location for exploring the city. It can be a little noisy, but there are lovely sunny courtyards and fabulous views. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was fine and the room was spotless.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mirandaLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel decorations are very interesting (old palace style) and the location is perfect for exploring the city on foot. Public transport is very close as well. Rooms are ok, maybe a bit dusty and with an odd smell, but overall the quality is good. Breakfast had plenty of choices. Staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bebelutel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

An authentic Portuguese hotel in an excellent location. Stayed four nights. Weirdly but interestingly decorated and the people individually were all pleasant and helpful. The service was not well managed and somewhat intimidating at breakfast; getting a cup of coffee was much more difficult than it should have been. The food selection during breakfast was acceptable although not special. Overall, good value in great location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Street_smart2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stay five nights,excellent location,excellent design inside,gut value for money.
The staff was very helfull.Drink a porto at patio and enjoy your stay.
The room was ok.,but not so clean.

....................................................................................

Room Tip: if you smoke than choose the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yannakis2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have to agree with other reviewers that the hotel is probably not 5 stars but it is definitely worth 4 and maybe a bit more.

The personnel where pleasant, helpful and it is indeed perfectly located. The service was correct. We had to ask for more towels once because the maid had, apparently, not understood that we where three people in one of the rooms but apart from that everything was very good.

The restaurant that we went to on the recommendation from the hotel staff was excellent.

We staid 7 nights and it was a enjoyable experience. The location is of course a huge plus. There was some nice from the street but nothing that stopped us from sleeping well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Per Gunnar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a very nice stay in this hotel. The rooms are very nice and clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful. A highlight is the very classy and noble interior (e.g. the candelabra) and the beautiful dinning room. A wonderful ambiance!
The breakfast is delicious and has a fine selection.
The central location of this hotel is perfect for a city trip. Also a lot of bars and restaurants are very close and easily to reach.

We would return at any time again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pugs_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.2 mi away
Hotel Teatro Porto
Hotel Teatro Porto
#20 of 101 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.4 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 101 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Infante Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Infante Sagres

Property: Hotel Infante Sagres
Address: Praca Dona Filipa de Lencastre 62, Porto 4050-259, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Porto
#11 Business Hotel in Porto
#22 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#23 Romantic Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Infante Sagres 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Infante Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infante Sagres Hotel
Infante Sagres Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing