We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not meet expectations...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Infante Sagres

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Infante Sagres
Ranked #26 of 101 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Did not meet expectations...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Upon check in we're upgraded to the presidential suite... excited as we were the disappointment hit us hard when we entered the room... the room doesn't smell fresh, the heavy carpets and curtains are up for a mega cleaning or perhaps replacement... we opened all windows to get some fresh air inside, but that is not ideal with high temperature outside.

bed was queen size, a bit small for such a huge room...decorations are for my taste a bit too many, quality is very good though...

The bathroom was very smelly, you can expect that with carpet in the bathroom. If you place a carpet in the bathroom and close to a toilet it should be shampooed at least once a month...

First night we had dinner in the hotels book restaurant round the corner of the hotel, food was average nothing special, staff not friendly.. would not go there again.

Location of the hotel is perfect, we booked a private tour guide with car from the reception which is highly recommendable if you'd like to see some more than just the regular tourist things and the center of Porto.

Breakfast was very average, not much choice and quality just ok. But it is nice that you can sit outside on the patio for having breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartBvB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    309
    125
    33
    19
See reviews for
122
390
26
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Playa de las Americas, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

pros: central location, staff very helpful and curteous, housekeeping good

cons: rooms need to be updated, lighting is not sufficient, especially in the bathroom (bathroom walls were painted black, this did not help the low lighting situation), view from second floor room not good (a small side street), noise level high (bar in side street below window - seemed to be opened and well attended by loud people all night...!)

Room Tip: try as high floor as possible, rooms facing innner courtyard may be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveladventures123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
111 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Infante Sagres hotel is old and charming. It is very well located in Porto's center, and the staff is friendly and helpful.
It has a sign of 5 stars rating on the outside wall, and it is part of a small network of first class hotels in the world.
All great. If you look for charming old hotel, this is a great place.
If you are a business traveler, who still needs to make international calls from your room, have an efficient Wi-Fi from anywhere in the hotel,and basically want to operate from your room, this is not the place.
The old world charm is good up to a point, but there are parts of the hotel that show age and neglect. If you need an event, or a meeting place, there are better eqcuiped hotels.
So the bottom line is this: for leisure, good, for business, not so much.

Room Tip: Get a room facing inside, on a high floor. Make sure to operate the old elevator carefully, you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miceguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Walking through the doors of Infante Sagres was amazing. The hotel is stunning maintaining the beautiful traditional decor with contemporary flourishes. Our room was lovely. It is rare that hotel room art and furniture is worth noting, but it certainly was in our room in Infante Sagres. The huge, marble bathroom was fabulous. My only regret is that we were not in Porto and the hotel longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaP5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I travel for work and have had my fair share of bad hotel experiences, but never in a place that is marketed as having 5 stars and that charges such high prices. The entire staff was rude and inconsiderate - the porter almost picked a fight with us when we politely declined his help - the rooms were worn and outdated (the bathroom seemed to be falling apart and the bathtub could have used new tiles or a scrub), the location was on a noisy square and, I understand locking the doors at night, but we needed to leave at 6am one morning, the door was blocked off with metal bars and there was no one at reception. So many headaches and frustrations, I strongly advise people to think twice before booking here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRUPOLAGRIMAS, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Infante Sagres, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Infante de Sagres! I hope this email finds you well.

First of all, I would like to thank you for sharing your opinion on Trip Advisor website and helping us to improve our services. All your comments were shared with the hotel management and we are already working to prevent this from repeating. I am really sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

I would like to put myself at your disposal for any further assistance or query.

Warm regards,

Paula Coutinho
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

With high expectations, this hotel (which is H1 on El Corte Ingles' City Map of Porto) was really beautiful, the classic architecture and furnishings of the public rooms and bedrooms were lovely. We checked in to a pleasant room at 2pm and went out; returning at 9.30, the room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. It took 20 minutes for a porter to come and a further 30 before the manager turned up - both didn't argue, and we were assisted to move to the only room available, a beautiful suite. The smokiness was clearly something that they had experienced before, as the porter said "coming up from the bar directly below".
Porto has a vibrant nightlife, and the bars and disco opposite were active beyond 2am on the Friday and Saturday nights!
The hotel charges for access to WiFi which is very surprising nowadays.
For the high prices charged, the experience should have been better!

Room Tip: Choose higher floors, side street rather than front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanhardinguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york ny
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is overall just fine. It is a charming old hotel that has recently had a rather unusual renovation, it might not be to everyone's taste, but it is not awful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. A lot of the 1930s looking large slabs of marble are still in the bathrooms, all rather interesting. Not a boutique hotel by miami beach standards, but some thing out of the ordinary and very personal. The breakfast was fine the staff very accommodating. Clean and well cared for. I would return and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrponcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Teatro Porto
Hotel Teatro Porto
#16 of 101 in Porto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,295 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#5 of 101 in Porto
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
2.0 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Infante Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Infante Sagres

Property: Hotel Infante Sagres
Address: Praca D. Filipa de Lencastre, 62, Porto 4050-259, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Porto
#11 Business Hotel in Porto
#21 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#23 Romantic Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Infante Sagres 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Infante Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infante Sagres Hotel
Infante Sagres Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing