We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not worth a 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Infante Sagres
Ranked #31 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but not worth a 5 star hotel”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Beautifull hotel, very well located (old historical city), very comfortable bed BUT a lack of hygiene according to us (the bathroom was not very clean, the towels had not been changed despite the fact we had put them into the bath, we found a paper below the bed) and the service is not a 5 star one: our car was parked in a park but the hotel never mentioned the price but at the check out!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginieDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    379
    148
    40
    23
See reviews for
151
486
32
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Situated in the heart of the city, the Infante Sagres is a pretty hotel with a comfortable bar, very helpful front desk and nice rooms. The breakfast included in our rate was satisfactory. While the breakfast buffet offered "something for everyone", it perhaps lacked a little in something more out of the ordinary. (Also, the furniture in the breakfast room somewhat clashed with the more elegant style of the hotel.)

The associated restaurant around the corner, "Book", has really impressed me! Very nice atmosphere and an excellent meal make it definitely worth a visit! The massage service in the hotel spa was also great value!

Four points because the hotel didn't have a pool or sauna and because internet access was not included in our rate (but also not incredibly expensive and - once purchased - reliable).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGNYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This property has adopted the business model of attracting customers with a low rate, and then making up the difference with up-selling and gouging. I was offered a rate for three nights, March 8-11, 2013, of $459 (at $1.30 = 1 euro) including breakfast and tax. The desk clerk at check-in refused to honor the included breakfast, until I produced a hard copy of the acknowledgement from the hotel showing that breakfast was included. Then, without request or inquiry I got a hard sales pitch from the desk clerk for the favored tour operator, including maps and pictures until I insisted it stop -- obviously a commission is being paid to the clerk or the property. Two gin and tonics and two cokes in the hotel bar were $36.40 -- you be the judge of whether that's gouging.

Porto has much to see and explore -- enjoy it by staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beechmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

hotel very well located,in the center and close to the tourist interests,its interior has traces of a magnificient past,however the noise of nightclubs,is inadmissible for a 5 stars hotel,the rooms are a bit dark,the partnerships that they have with street restaurants,is HORRIBLE,the fish restaurant recommended,is clearly not prepared to receive foreign clients, are not even listed on tripadvisor,wordless.
Given that it is a 5 star hotel,the level of demanding must be much higher.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kity23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hechtel-Eksel, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The staff was very friendly and the hotel has a great sharm, the lobby, elevator and our room was really nice!
The location of this hotel is perfect to explore the city.
The breakfast was as we expected but we were not the only onces that found the orange juice very strange.
I find it however not done that a hotel like this does not have any free wifi/cable access, not even in the lobby and they want to charge 22Euro per day for this.
We were at the hotel in January and the room was very warm and this could not be changed, this is a pitty.
Our experience in this hotel was very good, when we are back in Porto we will try to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Good location, an old-world hotel that's been 'contemporized' with tacky decor and mediocre service. Our large room had brown carpeting that just looked old and huge bathroom windows which were blacked out with mirrors - why? The dining room was particularly badly-done - uncomfortable white vinyl chairs and mediocre breakfast spread with staff who all looked positively bored. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, but I wish the hotel were either elegant and old-world style or actually contemporary - instead, it felt like a cheap version of neither. Porto is a fantastic city and we had a great time there, but by the end of our stay, the hotel was kind of irritating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkFromInwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We recently stayed at this charming hotel, ideally located in the center of Porto. Service was superb and the decor at once evoked the elegance of an earlier time and the whimsy of contemporary style, evidenced by the distinctive chests throughout the lobby and hallways. Breakfast in the beautiful high ceilinged dining room was delicious and abundant. The front desk attendants provided excellent counsel regarding restaurants and getting around. Great base from which to explore this fascinating city!

Room Tip: Our room was on a higher floor, which we appreciated. The bathroom was large and the toiletries exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elhoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.4 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#8 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.2 mi away
Hotel Teatro Porto
Hotel Teatro Porto
#23 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Infante Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Infante Sagres

Property: Hotel Infante Sagres
Address: Praca Dona Filipa de Lencastre 62, Porto 4050-259, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Porto
#11 Business Hotel in Porto
#23 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#25 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Infante Sagres 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Fastbooking, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Infante Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infante Sagres Hotel
Infante Sagres Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing