We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Infante Sagres
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Like:
Interiors are really gorgeous. Stuff makes this hotel a 5-star one.
Don't like:
1. Instant coffee for breakfast. In 5-star hotel! how?
2. If you plan to go to sleep before midnight, newer take a room with balcony and city view. From Friday do Sunday there is life music at the square.
3. If you prefer a non-smoking room and receptionist will tell that you won't smell traces of smoke in the room, don't believe, you will.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babanakov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,012)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

Picked this hotel for a 3 day trip to Porto based on TripAdvisor ratings. Again TripAdvisor scores a home run. We wanted an upscale, smaller, reasonably priced hotel in the heart of the city near the water. This hotel is all of it. As others have said, exterior looks are deceiving but once you go inside you see this exquisite hotel for what it is. Another great European hotel - meaning elegant, smaller rooms (unless you bargain for the upgrade which they are happy to give if they are available) but clean and well furnished. Breakfast inside or out on the central courtyard is fantastic. The staff helped us with trips, boat rides up the Duero, and restaurant reservations. Great kicking off location for all the Porto action.

Room Tip: Ask for the mini-suite upgrades which they give if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaslosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great ambiance from reception through the lobby to our room.

Stayed here for 2 nights during our honeymoon tour of Portugal and Spain.

Room was very comfortable but could be a bit updated, especially in bathroom.

Breakfast was average.

Staff was great, especially Joao at the front desk. A wealth of information, knew exactly what we were looking for whenever we asked.

Will definitely stay here next time in Porto.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milexz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Just back from 4 nights in this beautiful hotel. First impression isn't great as it doesn't look much from the outside but once you step through the doors everthing changes. This hotel is exquisite. We loved it. Small and cosy yet oozing luxury. Speedy check in, with a glass of port! We had a standard room which was facing out onto the courtyard. Beautifully furnished it had everything you need in a hotel room. The bathroom window was also onto the courtyard which was great because at night we could leave both open a fraction to give the place a nice airy feel (I hate sleeping with air con on) but we weren't bothered by noise from the street. Fantastic location, everything was a stroll away. For me breakfast was a let down, a bit boring and could be improved with a few small changes e.g. milk jugs could be placed on coolers to keep the milk chilled, who wants room temp milk on cereal, fruit bowls could be replenished, cheese board covered etc etc Also the courtyard needs a bit of attention, plants all look like they're dying and the couches could do with a daily scrub to clean the bird poo!!! Porto is full of seagulls! However these are small things and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going on a city break to Porto. One last thing, there is a stop for the hop-on, hop-off tourist buses directly across the road. They have info on both at the front desk, get the YELLOW bus. It is the official tour bus and has a much better service. We got the red and spent a lot of our time standing at stops as the yellow ones passed us by. When we went on to Lisbon we got the yellow bus there, same company as in Porto, and our ticket was valid on all publice transport as well, buses, trams etc. so there is some connection with the local authority.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank MMMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Hotel's design is truly beautiful. Attention to detail can be seen everywhere.
Location is one of the hotel’s advantages – you can reach Sao Bento, Igreja dos Carmo with a short walk, Aliados metro station is a minute away (from where one can reach the ocean in approx. 40minutes). All around you’ll find restaurants and bars.
Standard rooms are small but very comfortable, with big, comfy beds and quite spacious bathroom. The bathroom is equipped with hairdryer of old type, so it takes ages to dry your hair (the box with a tube fixed to the wall). When it comes to room facilities I was missing tea/coffee maker, clock/alarm clock. Some (who need it) might find the TV small and with few programs available. They also charge you for WI-FI – with the rate you have to pay per night, it is ridiculous.
The service was very good with helpful, providing all sorts of information people in reception area, always smiling (and handsome :) ) bellboy, and the cleaning ladies leaving the best chocolates during the turndown.

Room Tip: If you choose rooms facing the street it might be noisy during the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ttiaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

From the moment we arrived the 5star feel was there. Small, elegant hotel, where you feel welcomed as soon as you walk in the door. The buffet breakfast is outstanding. Cheeses, smoked salmon, fresh fruit, eggs, meats and cereals. On a nice day you may choose to have breakfast in the courtyard. Two things could be easily improved. The hair dryer in the bathroom and the fact that there is a charge through Swisscom for wifi. Other than that there are only good things to say about this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathyvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great hotel!
The first contact when booking was immediatelly positive... Hopes were high!
The city is amazing, the hotel's location is perfect, staff were excellent.....
Room was spotless clean, cleaning ladies were extremelly kind, portuguese bathroom products are excelent, beds are wonderfully confortable, breakfast is excelent, all staff is polite and professional....
The hotel is renovated but they kept the "old-times" charming aspect, i loved it!

Manuel, Paris

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nelitodasilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
2 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 109 in Porto
626 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.3 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#34 of 109 in Porto
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Infante Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Infante Sagres

Address: Praca Dona Filipa de Lencastre 62, Porto 4050-259, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Porto
#22 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#28 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: $202 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Infante Sagres 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Infante Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infante Sagres Hotel
Infante Sagres Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing