We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Olde Worlde" Portuguese charm right in the centre of Oporto!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Infante Sagres
Ranked #33 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“"Olde Worlde" Portuguese charm right in the centre of Oporto!”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

After many years of slow decay, this lovely hotel has been fully restored to it's old luxurious past. With real antique furniture - barroque dressers in the halls and fine 'bilros' turned beadsteads in the bedrooms - the atmosphere is an eclectic charming mix of old and modern. Centrally located for downtown museums and Douro river sightseeing, including visits to the Port shipping houses, the hotel rooms are comfortable, even if on the small side. Breakfast buffet is excellent 5-star hotel fare, with plenty of choice and Concierge services excell in their knowledge of good restaurants and evening entertainment. I used to stay in the business district of Boavista, but I may think twice in the future...

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the D. Fillipa de Lencastre Square are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeogieBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    383
    149
    42
    25
See reviews for
153
491
32
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
128 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed for the weekend and everything was perfect. Location wsie, the hotel is walking distance from the major atractions, nearby the metro station and right by the nightlife area. The rooms are very nicely decorated although the bathroom could need a little lifting. Totally recomend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EduIgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I stayed for a week in this hotel and I would say that it deserves the money you pay. Good location. Nice facilities. Service perfect (you are in a 5 star hotel and from the beggining the staff make you feel special). Room normal but the bed and linen superb. Breakfast service very good. Buffet good quality but not so much variety.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akashiwo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England
Level Contributor
131 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The Infante Sagres is a well located hotel which is comfortable and has a certain old world charm; the bedroom was extremely comfortable, although a degree in engineering would have helped in working out the unusual shower taps.
Staffing arrangements are rather odd, with one member of staff covering the bar and room service; so if you want a drink at the bar it can be an exceedingly long wait. Perhaps it is a sign of these austere times, a way of creating double value: save money on staff and help guests stay healthy?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank never2late
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We spent three nights during a sightseeing trip at this hotel. Very much enjoyed its cozy athmosphere, and the spacious and well-maintained superior room that we had booked. Breakfast is good, given the hotel category, I would have expected a slightly larger selection. The only negative impression that we had was Friday night, when the bar and concert scene around the corner could well be heard until 1am and beyond.
Hotel is an ideal base for sightseeing, right in the town center, with a stop of the historic tram right in front of the entrance.
Very much enjoyed the restaurant tips of the friendly staff, too.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveZug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This charming hotel would receive higher ratings here if it claimed a more realistic star rating. As a 3-4 star hotel (and price) it would get at least one more tripadvisor bubble across the board. In 2011 I would expect a better work place in the room. More electrical outlets (had to disconcect the night table lamp to connect my travel clock). A real selection and quality of international TV channels. A gym. Earlier breakfast (8 - 10 doesn't work for most early risers). Try the Yeatman.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno NV
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I would highly recommend this property in Porto. Although it's not the closest to the cellars, it well made up for it in style, charm, accessibility to good shops, and service.

Our group was greeted by eager bellmen and lovely front desk employees who poured us glasses of port before we'd even given them our passports.

The interior design of the hotel is absolutely fabulous. I think this is the best historical property I've stayed in. They've maintained the integrity and old world features of the hotel, while updating fabrics and prints... The result is a hotel that feels fresh and chic, but still maintains its soul. So many other historical properties I've stayed at feel tired and worn out... Not here!

The elevator is absolutely beautiful by the way. You MUST give it a ride. But be warned - it can't carry more than 4 people at once.

One day we ordered coffee to the room. They brought it but didn't even charge us.

We loved our stay here, and would DEFINITELY return on another trip to Porto!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martini_A_Go_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.4 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#8 of 106 in Porto
521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.2 mi away
Hotel Teatro Porto
Hotel Teatro Porto
#20 of 106 in Porto
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Infante Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Infante Sagres

Property: Hotel Infante Sagres
Address: Praca Dona Filipa de Lencastre 62, Porto 4050-259, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Porto
#11 Business Hotel in Porto
#23 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#26 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Infante Sagres 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Infante Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infante Sagres Hotel
Infante Sagres Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing