We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the center”
Review of Oporto House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oporto House
Ranked #37 of 154 Porto B&B and Inns
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the center”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel is located in a narrow street very close to Aliados square. Although the place in weekends is very crowded and full of pubs and bars at night, once you enter the hotel you seem to be in a different place, very cozy and with a nice decoration. The rooms is very nice, and we barely could listen the noise of the crowded street! The toilets could be redecorated, they look a bit old, but they were clean! There was wifi also available
I would recommend this to young couples that enjoy the nightlife and enjoy comfortable, clean and warm rooms!
there are many restaurants around

Room Tip: In some rooms you may find them noise, you should check the available rooms, first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pdess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    124
    45
    15
    10
See reviews for
17
192
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

What an amazing find. This hotel is down a side street which could be a little off putting as there is very little open on the street itself and it is narrow with one way traffic. I was a little apprehensive when we arrived outside at 11pm at night, we got lost. Once we got inside you realise that it is a great little find. It has exposed stone walls, wooden floors and very minimal style. This is the only hotel I have stayed in which has not only provided a baby cot for my baby but also provided beautiful bedding for it too. Its is a spotlessly clean hotel, excellent value for money and great little breakfast to start your day. The hotel is approx 5 minutes walk from the Intercontinental (this gives you an indication of location). Approx a 15 min walk to the water front and the Druro River. We loved the hotel and if in Porto again would stay there.

Room Tip: We had a high up room at the back of the hotel, fantastic view of old building which were amazing es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyBEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Location near downtown (5 minutes to walk); clean and cozy rooms; friendly and helpfull stuff. The hotel offers the breakfast (4 euro per person) and public parking 15 euro per 24 hours instead of 32 euro (you need to by a card on the reception).
Great price/quality ratio.
Rooms on the top flour have the inclined celling. We booked a room with a normal celling and got it. No cards accepted, prepare cash.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasha3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Oporto House is located on a quiet street within walking distance to the Sao Bento train station and a block away from many restaurants and bars. The attic room is large and cute but be prepared for the sloped ceilings. There is no elevator so be ready to get your luggage up the narrow stairs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekah07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I loved this B & B. Our room was beautiful, spotlessly clean, and we had a great view from our balcony. The hotel itself is very charming and has lots of common space -- they just opened a lovely terrasse out back, in addition to the breakfast area and the lounge next to the reception. The hotel is centrally located, within easy walking distance to the cathedral and Porto old town. The stass was friendly and always available. All this for just 50 euros a night -- excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaninCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
111 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Oporto house is a very beautiful and cozy hostel in the middle of downtown Oporto, close to many restaurants, the night scene and the river. The women that run it, specially Julia are delightful, we loved her! Our room on the first floor was really big and the balcony had amazing views to the old town. There is a very nice terrace as well were you can have some food and drinks. It´s clean and refurbished, a perfect choice for visiting the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RifkaRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had a great stay in Oporto house. Close to the station we walked there in about 5 minutes. The staff is very helpful and had some good tips. The room was spacious, had good beds and cleaned every day. The breakfast is not special. You can walk everywhere from here. Very close to Galleria the Paris and other nice spots for dinner and drinks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thorsten Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#38 of 106 in Porto
919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yes! Hostel Porto
Yes! Hostel Porto
#4 of 225 in Porto
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Oceano Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Boavista Guest House
Boavista Guest House
#33 of 154 in Porto
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yours GuestHouse Porto
Yours GuestHouse Porto
#6 of 154 in Porto
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vivacity Porto
Vivacity Porto
#25 of 154 in Porto
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oporto House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oporto House

Property: Oporto House
Address: Rua Conde de Vizela 56, Porto 4050-639, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oporto House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Oporto House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing