We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strongly recommended if you want to feel pampered!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Porto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Porto
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Estoril, Portugal
Level Contributor
123 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Strongly recommended if you want to feel pampered!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

This was my 4th stay at the Tiara . No doubt the excellence of this hotel is found i in the small details. Beautiful rooms, very well appointed, excellent mattress, fabulous breakfast presentation, top class Buffet meals at the restaurant, very attentive service at reception and excellent concierge service which includes valet parking at any hour. The Tiara is a small boutique hotel that makes its guests feel very welcome and at home. In essence this is exactly what a 5 star Hotel should do!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lagartixa47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    443
    67
    14
    9
See reviews for
218
580
43
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted with a glass of Port and shown to our Room on the 14th Floor - spectacular, the Mini Bar is extremely well stocked, room size was very good and delightfully furnished. Breakfast was plentiful with a wide choice.

We chose this Hotel due to its reviews that were highly rated - We were attending a Football Match in Braga and stayed for three nights - The people here are so lovely.

Porto is a very pretty place - and its worth taking a trip around the Cellars - beautiful Ports to be tasted.

If we went back to Porto we would 100% stay here!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kp2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

Staff, service and comfort at the level of its 5 stars.
Good location.
Thank you for having provided an excellent stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lewis_F64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Excellent staff...and this includes all staff. Feels really good when you are surrounded by a team that is there to help you with whatever you might need. Breakfast is great. Rooms are quiet, altough the windows may need some repair (I hear some of noise from the outside)...but the room is so cosy, so well light and detailed that it surpasses "this problem".

Bathroom amenities are very good, but I miss the Hermes products!

Rooms feature a nice stereo with cd player, but no Ipod dock. I think it would be nice to have an ipod dock!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PedrodeAzevedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Tiara Park for a business sales conference.
Our company chose Porto primarily because of its proximity to a local manufacturer in Braga and because of the overall "value" associated with the hotel and the historic yet modern city.
We typically choose contemporary hotels but decided that based on the many positive trip advisor ratings that this hotel would be a "safe" bet (and location was not our primary criteria and generally it was only a 10 minute cab ride to anywhere in town).
Sure enough, it was pure satisfaction and the hotel management/staff did a wonderful job accomodating our every need throughout the stay.
I was fortunate to have checked in to their second largest suite with two upscale washrooms, a kitchen, dining room/living room and sizable bedroom with flat screen TV.
The suite was tasteful, well designed and cozy. If I had one little complaint, I would say that my mattress was a little stiff but that's probably a local thing based on my travel experience.
The hotel restaurant/bar and conference facilities were all well appointed, comfortable and offered quality food (BIG BUFFETS), beverages and service. You feel as though you're in a large boutique hotel with a pleasant aura of calm and charm. The staff exude a warmth that is almost "family like" and generally have good comand of the english language (but some better than others which was just a little frustrating at times).
We had the opportunity to hang-out in the lower level "club" on the saturday night of our visit and had quite a lot of fun although it's more 70's disco (if you like that level of action).
I would highly recommend the Tiara for business or personal stays and can reassure you that this well run hotel will go out of its way to provide you with a superior experience.
The city of Porto (although slightly run down) offers a wide array of historical venues and is extremely well known for its superior Port wines (both red and white).
Surprisingly, it also has a modern "west coast" edge to it and I was pleasantly surprised with the airport, concert hall and choice of world class "fusion/asian" restaurants along the ocean.

My only regret is that it would have been nice to spend a few more days in Porto......

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jbl1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruchsal, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

Like many buildings in Portugal, it doesn't look that promising from outside, but inside everything was elegant and tasteful, whether in common areas or our guest room. If you don't have to have sea or city views, the location is possibly a good compromise. The biggest minus was the lack of free or truly affordable parking. Of course, one could presumably do as the locals and simply park in the middle of the street, blocking traffic. Our room was in impeccable condition, very comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom was also very nice. My only complaint about it was the half shower door that is so common in southern Europe, and the necessity to use the hairdryer outside of the bathroom. The pillows were probably the most comfortable I've ever had at a hotel, and the bed was reasonably comfortable. The bed linens, bathrobes and other textiles were very nice. We didn't realize the hotel had a fitness room, so we didn't bring our workout attire, but they have what appears to be a fairly small fitness room just off the main lobby area. We only discovered the breakfast buffet on Sunday (our last day), and it was quite nice but rather expensive at €21 per person - especially compared to the €3.50 we spent on breakfast for two the day before at the little stand-up cafe inside the supermarket across the street.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ExilAmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Annual trip for 8 ageing lads was to Porto this year. Interesting place - very hilly, run down in places but picturesque. River area was very nice with magnificent views of the bridges (suggest you walk over the main one - stunning scenery - cable car the other side which takes you down to the river - E5) and some nice bars and restaurants. Strongly suggest that anyone going to that area (Ribera) try the Ode restaurant. Small place, not cheap - but food and wine is lovely. Meal is not quick but that is because Christophe - not sure if he is the owner - takes time to explain where he sources the food from, why he chooses certain products and why he picks the wine and other drinks he sells. Extremely interesting and entertaining - a really good evening. Bit disappointed in the lack of things we like to do apart from the sightseeing - ie: watch some sports in bars, odd game of snooker/pool - seemed to be dominated by small street cafes and very few ordinary bars as far as we could tell. the Tiara is a nice modern hotel with good rooms and facilities. Nice bar area with a tv lounge where we did watch some football and had a chat with staff and guests. Staff were very helpful and pleasant - as were most of the other people we met in the town. We walked into town on the first day but it is a long trek up and down steep roads - highly suggest a taxi for all trips - with 4 of us in a tax it came to the princely sum of E1.50 each - or get a bus - I couldn't find the metro station. Same to get back to the airport - cost me as a single traveller E17. Visit to the port warehouses is a must - we went to Taylors and had a tour followed by an excellent lunch with nice wine and needless to say, many glasses of lovely port. Good weekend but not sure if I would go back to Porto for this kind of event - a bit too quiet.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C Saloux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.3 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Porto

Property: Crowne Plaza Porto
Address: Avenida da Boavista 1466, Porto 4100-114, Portugal (Formerly Tiara Park Atlantic Porto)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Porto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#6 Family Hotel in Porto
#9 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Porto 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiara Park Atlantic Porto Hotel Porto
Tiara Park Atlantic Hotel Porto
Porto Tiara Park Atlantic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing