We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel deserves every star of its five-star rating. The staff are so friendly, kind, thoughtful and well trained to offer service and support. Our room was beautiful with every conceivable convenience. All we know is that our car was parked securely somewhere below the hotel, as it was whisked away by the efficient men at the door, who unloaded us, took our luggage to our room, and parked our car without any effort on our part. If we had a question (how to get somewhere; what sights are where), we were looked after by a pleasant lady who gave us maps, told us all we needed to know and helped as much as possible. Breakfast was extensive and excellent, helped again by cheerful staff who actually made you feel they meant it when they said "Good morning". The hotel is well situated. It is a short walk to the metro for those wanting to use public transport to the city centre. The taxi trip is also short and inexpensive. When driving, the hotel is easy to find. We thoroughly recommend this hotel after our 4-night stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheCr00ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guests,
We are very glad to read your review on Tripadvisor concerning your recent stay at Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA.
With comments like yours we really feel that our team efforts are recognized and that we provide excellency of service.
Our staff is motivated by your kind words and will surely continue to work everyday in order to improve our quality even more.
We hope to welcome you again soon at Hotel Porto Palácio.
Best Regards,
Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (855)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 856 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel on business many times over the last few years. It is a nice hotel, with spacious rooms, a very nice gym and an above average breakfast. It used to be more oriented to luxury, lately I would say it has become quite standard. Nothing to complain about, especially if you get a good corporate rate - except maybe that they charge for wifi which I find inconvenient, to say the least

Room Tip: Front rooms on high floors have an excellent view of the entire city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pavlina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review on Tripadvisor regarding the Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA.
It is a great pleasure to know that you are a frequent guest and that we always deserve your preference on your visits to Porto city.
Your comments are very important for us and help us keeping the level of service you are used to provide all our guests.
We hope to welcome you again in a near future.
Best Regards,
Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Excellent hotel with large rooms and very attentive and professional staff. The lounge on the 19th floor offers great views over the Porto suburbs but if you're expecting to look over the old town you will be disappointed. The only thing that lets the hotel down is the location which is, apparently in a very nice part of town, but it is a bit of a drag to get to the old town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakedalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciatte your kind review on Tripadvisor about Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA.
It is a great pleasure to know that our staff delivered a service that was according to your highest expectations.
We hope to welcome you soon again at our hotel on a future visit to Porto city.
Best Regards
Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This must be my 7th stay in this hotel in last 3-4 years I always love to stay here no complaints always the best the staff the rooms and the location is perfect for stay in Porto, the breakfast is although not so impressive

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gargarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Guest,
It is a great pleasure to know that you are a frequent guest of Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA.
As our preferred guest your comments are really important and help us improving our quality of service.
We hope to always continue deserving your preference on your visits to Porto city.
Best Regards,
Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is a 5 star hotel well located, at walking distance from the subway in a trendy area of Porto. Regarding the hotel itself there is not much to say, since, in general, it fulfills the requirements of an hotel of this category. What surprised me most is that one have to pay to access to a Wi-fi connection. Today, every cafe, grocery store, supermarket... have free access to a Wi-fi connection but a 5 star hotel, not.
The view from the VIP lounge on the top of the building is magnificent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sptsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest of the Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA,
Thank you so much for your review about the experience lived at our hotel.
We are happy to receive you suggestions and appreciate your great comments on our VIP Lounge.
Hoping to welcome you soon again at Hotel Porto Palácio.
Best Regards,
Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Excellent quality hotel, with very professional staff, spacious rooms and spa with no restrictions for age visits (good for children). I don't know if it was about Portugal, but everywhere we went the service was absolutely excellent, friendly and people genuinely paid attention and always try to help.
The terrace on the 19th floor had a great view and service, but there were no cushions on the couches or umbrella's for some shade. I know it was early season, as we visited in May, but still you expect that the facilities will be fully prepared for the guests to enjoy.
The breakfast buffet was somewhat poor without any raw vegetables and boring choice of sliced fruit. You cannot really enjoy more than once or twice.
This seems to be the hotel of choice for all airlines stopping at Porto, so breakfasts were quite busy. Generally I did not like the taste of water and coffee. I do think Nespresso machines should be a standard kit for any self respectable hotel these days.
The bed, bathroom and rooms in general were very good quality and well designed and equipped. The WIFI is 10 euro per 24 hours, but speed is really good and I could stream movies without a problem.
The taxis are readily available and the only surprise is that most drivers are well passed retirement age, but some drive as on a race all the time.
I fell in love with the cutlery of the hotel and bought a 130 pcs set myself from now my most favourite Portuguese brand Cutipol.
I know Portuguese food is excellent, but we found one of the best Japanese restaurants in Europe, I am sure (!) called Ichiban (you need to book it in the evening or there will be no space).
Nice holiday! Portugal is a great holiday destination! Would absolutely recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Djasta_Prasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us at the Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA.
Thank you for all your comments on our great service and suggestions for improvement.
Only with opinions like yours we can offer excellence of service.
We hope to welcome you soon again at the lovely city of Porto and at Porto Palacio.
Best Regards,
Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

If this is your first trip into Porto, the Palacio is a good choice for a few nights, but it quite a walk from the historic old town sites or decent restaurants. We tired the ones attached to the property (pass these by) and the hotel itself only serves breakfast unless it is a function lunch buffet. The breakfast buffet is typical European, so be warned they serve only boiled bacon, runny powdered-like eggs with all the usual cheese, cold cut meats, and loads of sugar pastries. The rooms are very nice though! If you are planning a conference... the big issues are: thick carpet on the meeting room floors which drives you crazy trying to slide your chairs in or out, and a total lack of laptop outlets! They have nice fast WiFi, but maybe one useful outlet per meeting room for you to charge your stuff. If you want water at your meeting (which may be a venue choice however) bring your own (not from your room though, the water bottles are outrageously priced). Would I recommend it? Yes, but make sure you go out for meals and keep your stuff charged in your room.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get Deluxe room on the 16-18th floor facing the water. It includes the 19th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldfishingfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your good review on Tripadvisor about your stay at Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA.

Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciatted and help us improving our leisure and conference services.

We hope to weclcome you soon again at Hotel Porto Palácio.

Best Regards,

Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Porto
Crowne Plaza Porto
#8 of 109 in Porto
1,383 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel
0.4 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 109 in Porto
956 reviews
0.7 mi away
HF Ipanema Park
HF Ipanema Park
#46 of 109 in Porto
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida Boavista 1269, Porto 4100-130, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Porto
#7 Spa Hotel in Porto
#13 Family Hotel in Porto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#17 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: $118 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High-rise Hotel in city center; 5 minutes from Palacio de Cristal Exhibition Center; 10 minutes from Exponor Exhibition Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel Porto
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing