We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good quality, but a bit far from everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good quality, but a bit far from everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Excellent quality hotel, with very professional staff, spacious rooms and spa with no restrictions for age visits (good for children). I don't know if it was about Portugal, but everywhere we went the service was absolutely excellent, friendly and people genuinely paid attention and always try to help.
The terrace on the 19th floor had a great view and service, but there were no cushions on the couches or umbrella's for some shade. I know it was early season, as we visited in May, but still you expect that the facilities will be fully prepared for the guests to enjoy.
The breakfast buffet was somewhat poor without any raw vegetables and boring choice of sliced fruit. You cannot really enjoy more than once or twice.
This seems to be the hotel of choice for all airlines stopping at Porto, so breakfasts were quite busy. Generally I did not like the taste of water and coffee. I do think Nespresso machines should be a standard kit for any self respectable hotel these days.
The bed, bathroom and rooms in general were very good quality and well designed and equipped. The WIFI is 10 euro per 24 hours, but speed is really good and I could stream movies without a problem.
The taxis are readily available and the only surprise is that most drivers are well passed retirement age, but some drive as on a race all the time.
I fell in love with the cutlery of the hotel and bought a 130 pcs set myself from now my most favourite Portuguese brand Cutipol.
I know Portuguese food is excellent, but we found one of the best Japanese restaurants in Europe, I am sure (!) called Ichiban (you need to book it in the evening or there will be no space).
Nice holiday! Portugal is a great holiday destination! Would absolutely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Djasta_Prasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us at the Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA.
Thank you for all your comments on our great service and suggestions for improvement.
Only with opinions like yours we can offer excellence of service.
We hope to welcome you soon again at the lovely city of Porto and at Porto Palacio.
Best Regards,
Eugénia Queirós
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    240
    62
    21
    11
See reviews for
98
210
26
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

If this is your first trip into Porto, the Palacio is a good choice for a few nights, but it quite a walk from the historic old town sites or decent restaurants. We tired the ones attached to the property (pass these by) and the hotel itself only serves breakfast unless it is a function lunch buffet. The breakfast buffet is typical European, so be warned they serve only boiled bacon, runny powdered-like eggs with all the usual cheese, cold cut meats, and loads of sugar pastries. The rooms are very nice though! If you are planning a conference... the big issues are: thick carpet on the meeting room floors which drives you crazy trying to slide your chairs in or out, and a total lack of laptop outlets! They have nice fast WiFi, but maybe one useful outlet per meeting room for you to charge your stuff. If you want water at your meeting (which may be a venue choice however) bring your own (not from your room though, the water bottles are outrageously priced). Would I recommend it? Yes, but make sure you go out for meals and keep your stuff charged in your room.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get Deluxe room on the 16-18th floor facing the water. It includes the 19th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldfishingfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your good review on Tripadvisor about your stay at Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA.

Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciatted and help us improving our leisure and conference services.

We hope to weclcome you soon again at Hotel Porto Palácio.

Best Regards,

Eugénia Queirós
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The hotel rooms are super large and everything you need for a very good nights sleep. The bed is huge and I could lie horizontally as well as vertically. My room was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet.
The bar on the roof has quite a nice view and food tasted ok but I think it would have been better if the menu had had more of a Portugese flavor to it as you can get a burger anywhere.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Particularly the lady at breakfast who remembered my English tea with milk on the second day. The breakfast is sadly in the basement which is a shame on a nice day but the selection is very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redredrose666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great comments about your stay at Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA.

We are very pleased to know that you realy enjoyed your time with us and that our service, as well as our staff, overrided your expectations.

We hope to welcome you again soon at Hotel Porto Palácio.

Best Regards,

Eugénia Queirós
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I stayed four nights as part of a Conference held at the hotel. Rooms are way larger than average, continental breakfast. Did not use fitness and Spa - but rather went out for sightseeing and to appreciate Portuguese seafood options by the river. A little far from the metro, but still at a walking distance. Recommended for business trips.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelo_EG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review on Tripadvisor and for enhancing the qualities of Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA as a conference and business hotel.

We hope to welcome you again pretty soon at our Hotel and at the lovely city of Porto.

Best Regards,

Eugénia Queirós
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

The Hotel, as soon as you enter, let's you know at the first moment, that you will enjoy your stay. The staff is very nice and well trained and the lobby is very welcoming.

I stayed in an executive room, and it was a very pleasant experience. The beds are comfortable, the TV has many channels, and it's clean and very friendly to alregic people.

The food was excellent, having eaten both in the buffet and the Portuguese restaurant, which had an amazing quality of both service and taste.

All in all, this hotel is very good for business stays, and provides excellent quality.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Rafael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Hóspede,
Muito obrigada pelo seu review no Tripadvisor relativamente à estadia no Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA.
Ficamos muito satisfeitos de saber que os nossos serviços estiveram à altura das suas melhores expectativas, em especial a nossa equipa, quartos e restaurantes.
Esperamos poder voltar a recebê-los muito em breve.
Com os melhores cumprimentos e votos de um bom ano novo,
Eugénia Queirós
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were part of a group tour so feared the usual 'worst block of rooms in the house and limited housekeeping service' that seems to occur with the bare-bones rates negotiated by coach tour companies. We were pleasantly surprised - glass of port on check-in (to be fair, it's pretty cheap in Porto!), evening turndown with choccies, great buffet breakfast selection in the 'Madruga' restaurant with pleasant staff. Even the included group dinner, often a dire affair, was great except for a slightly tough beef dish.

The other in-house restaurants, Portobeer Cervejaria, Salsa & Loureiro, and Gosho covered a la carte 'regular' local food, fancy modern local food, and Japanese respectively. We dined in Portobeer on the first night and it did just what it said on the tin - simple food, reasonably priced, well-prepared.

Room Tip: The views aren't of anything spectacular, so unless you're doing an Exec room ask for a lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martincath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Porto!
We are very pleased to know that all guests feel welcomed at our hotel, being part of a group or coming individually, either for work or for leisure.
Your review on Tripadvisor is extremelly valuable for us and gives us a very nice feedback about the groups guests experience at Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA.
We are also very glad to know that you enjoyed our offer of restaurants and quality of the food presented.
Hope to welcome you again in very near future!
Sincerely,
Eugénia Queirós
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed in an executive room, which was comfortable but bland. Had excellent breakfasts in the top floor lounge, with pleasant views over the City. Nothing really very wrong with the Hotel, but then nothing really exciting to talk about either. Next time in this City full of character and charm, I will make a more imaginative choice of Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciatte you giving your time to post a review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA.

Thank you for your kind comments redarging our breakfast at the VIP Lounge.

We hope you have the chance to enjoy of our high quality service and variety of outlets during your next visit to Porto city, so that you can be then suprised with our unique hotel.

Best Regards,

Eugénia Queirós
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Porto
Crowne Plaza Porto
#10 of 101 in Porto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
0.4 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#14 of 101 in Porto
4.5 of 5 stars 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
HF Ipanema Park
HF Ipanema Park
#46 of 101 in Porto
4.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
2.9 mi away
Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa

Property: Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa
Address: Avenida Boavista 1269, Porto 4100-130, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Porto
#7 Spa Hotel in Porto
#15 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#26 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High-rise Hotel in city center; 5 minutes from Palacio de Cristal Exhibition Center; 10 minutes from Exponor Exhibition Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel Porto
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing