We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa
Ranked #20 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Myself and 9 other friends have just returned from trip to Porto staying at the Palacio. We were all hugely impressed by not only the standard and quality of the hotel, rooms, decor and facilities but also the extremely helpful and friendly staff. We were astounded by the value for money for the quality of hotel. I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chunk1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your great review on Tripadvisor considering the service and quality of Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & SPA.

All our team appreciattes your kind words and we will continue to do our best everyday in order to offer all our guests unforgetable lifetime experiences.

We hope to welcome you again soon in Porto city.

Best Regards,

Eugénia Queirós
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    268
    74
    24
    12
See reviews for
111
244
28
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We actually went to the wrong hotel. We were supposed to go to the Intercontinental - which has Porto and Palacio in its name. So we get to the front desk, and the clerk tells us we are at the wrong hotel. We are tired. So we ask if they have a room - and if they will cancel our reservation at the Intercontinental. No problem. It was the Thursday before Easter, we got a lovely King size room for $129/euros a night including breakfast. The front desk clerk arranged a tour of Porto for us, which we enjoyed. Internet and parking were extra. We still believe we got a good deal.

The front desk staff were very nice and accomodating. By American standards the check in/out process seemed laborious. So we had to wait about 15 minutes to check out. Breakfast was fine, not outstanding.

By the way, hats off to the Intercontinental for being so understanding and allowing us to cancel our room.


The room was good sized, comfortable sheets and towels, nice bathroom. Breakfast was only okay. It was slow to check out

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank real_in_philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are very glad to know that you decided to change your plans and stay with us during your visit to the lovely city of Porto.

We are even more happy to feel that we made your stay at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & SPA memorable!

It was with great pleasure that we received you and we will be very pleased to welcome you again in a near future!

All the best, Regards,

Eugénia Queirós
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The standard room is cheap but does not include free breakfast, nor parking or wi-fi. Therefore I strongly recommend the Deluxe rooms: cozy, nicely decorated, excelent view and access to the "à la carte" breakfast at the top floor VIP lounge with a panoramic view over Porto. Free parking and wi-fi are included in the tariff. Therefore, the all-in price is certainly worth it. I stayed with my 10-year daughter and 14-year old niece and they loved the experience (namely the swimming pool and jacuzzi available in the fitness club).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandraAlmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest!
Greetings from sunny Porto!
We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA, namely our delluxe rooms.
Thank you for having taken the time to post your comments and to enhance your experience at our hotel.
Looking forward to be welcoming you soon.
Best Regards,
Euegénia Queirós
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I’ve been a regular guest since 2010. For me this hotel stands out above the rest for one main reason: the Staff. Yes, it ticks all the 5 star boxes, has a great Gym and Health club, various restaurants (among them a fantastic Japanese) and the famous VIP lounge overlooking Porto.

But at the end of the day it is the Hospitality that counts, the personal touch and the always “ready to serve” people working at the Palacio. You do need public transport to go down town but it's a pleasant and easy 20-minute walk to the fantastic Porto sea site boulevard with many excellent places to enjoy good food and beaches. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronaldvb2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We didn't like this hotel at all. It's got all the luxuries, but we'd much rather have free wifi than a towel warmer. We deeply resented being charged 20 euro to park the car for the night, and deeply resented having to pay an outrageous amount for wifi or even to use the computer in the "Business Center." As usual, it turns out that the more expensive the hotel, the more likely you'll have to pay for internet.

Porto is a beautiful city. Unfortunately, the Porto Palacio is quite a ways from the beautiful part. The area is cold and sterile, as is the hotel itself. Staying at the Porto Palacio in Porto is pretty much the same experience as staying at a Sheraton in Dubuque. Despite the hotel's many comforts and helpful staff, I rate it one star for its unnecessary irritations and poor location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank glenncheney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference for Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA during your last visit to Porto city.

We regret to know that your experience did not met your expectations.

At Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns and hope to welcome you in a near future.

Best Regards,

Eugénia Queirós
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Late October is a great time to be in Porto and my wife and I were there for the 9th annual Porto Marathon. We picked this hotel primarily because of its equidistant proximity to the start and finish lines so those wishing to stay more in the thick of the old city and the port cellars across the river in Gaia should think again. Still, it was a 4-star quality hotel with helpful staff who went out of their way to assist us. Examples include assistance with the lobby internet access and fetching ice when my wife slammed her thumb in the sliding doors of the hotel room bathroom (watch those - they both slide closed together even if pulling one side closed!). At any rate, if you get a 2-day ticket for one of the sightseeing bus tours, the stop is just across the street and there's also a good supermarket next door so we didn't mind the slighly out-of-town location.

Rooms were good-sized and modern. It was very peaceful and the beds were comfy. We had a great view to the north-east but the rooftop bar/restaurant had better views in all directions. We chose to eat one night at the restaurant and the food was nothing spectacular. The bar boasts lots of choice for tea and whiskey fans though! Our rate included the buffet breakfast, which was stupendous and definitely a requirement for the marathon. The dining room was cavernous but exquisitely modern tapestries on the wall made it feel inviting.

Overall, a great place to stay for a romantic weekend or if you're in town for a road race!

Room Tip: The higher the better for a great view and less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briguyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at Porto Paláco Congress Hotel & SPA.
As a very well located 5 star hotel, belonging to The Leading Hotels of the World, we are really pleased to know that you found our hotel a "great place to stay for a romantic weekend or if you're in town for a road race".
Also regarding our rooms, VIP Lounge and breakfast composition we feel very glad to receive your positive feedback highlighting the confort and quality of service you received.
We hope it does not take to long to welcome you again at Hotel Porto Palacio.
Best Regards and Season's Greetings,
Eugénia Queirós
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Being a leaders club member, I prefer to stay at LHW establishments as they are usually of high standard, comfortable and typically good value.

This one stood out as an exception! The staff were top notch, extremely helpful, welcoming and friendly. We were treated with complete appreciation and respect our entire time, even upgraded to a suite upon arrival.

The hotel is in pristine condition, extremely clean and in a central area where you can talk a leisurely stroll to the old town (about 30 minutes) and far enough away from all the touristy stuff.

Breakfast was perfect, made to order and you can have it in the downstairs area or on top in the VIP terrace which provided lovely views of Port city and the river.

I would highly recommend staying here and wish we had more time to spend at this lovely hotel. Thanks to the staff for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: We opted for a Deluxe Double Bedroom with City and Water View and was upgraded to executive suite wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukcurtisnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Greetings from Porto!
Thank you so much for your review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us.
At Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA we value all our guests and especially our Leaders Club Members by offering each one of you our most high level of service and sincere hospitality.
We are very glad you fully enjoyed your stay and will be very pleased to welcome you again soon in Porto,
Best Regards,
Eugénia Queirós
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Porto
Crowne Plaza Porto
#10 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
1.7 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
3.5 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa

Property: Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa
Address: Avenida Boavista 1269, Porto 4100-130, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Porto
#7 Spa Hotel in Porto
#15 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#17 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#26 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High-rise Hotel in city center; 5 minutes from Palacio de Cristal Exhibition Center; 10 minutes from Exponor Exhibition Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel Porto
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing