We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (967)
Filter reviews
967 results
Traveler rating
448
369
98
32
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
448
369
98
32
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barvip loungegreat gymstar hoteltop floorhealth clubexecutive roomnice hotelbusiness tripcomfortable roomstwo nightsold citycity centremini barbuffet breakfastmetro stationconference
Filter
Updating list...
273 - 278 of 967 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Spent 3 days here and really enjoyed this hotel.
There are however little niggles that really start to irritate after 3 days.
Firstly the corridors to the rooms are very poorly lit, some might say gloomy and it makes it very difficult to find the card access spot,on the door and then the internal cardholder to enable the lights to come on.
I still didnt really get the hang of it and did it by feel!
I would personally like tea and coffee making facilities in the room, surely it is expected in a hotel of this quality.
In this day and age I would expect free wifi but had to pay 10 euros a day.
In all I really liked the hotel and would return but request that my final niggle be attended to as the TV is on a timer and cuts off in the middle of a programme

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your last stay at the Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA.
It is very rewarding to know that you enjoyed your stay!

Your feedback is very important to improve our service, therefore, we would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we have taken notice of your suggestions regarding the corridor lighting, internet service and in-room coffee/tea facilities.

We hope it will not be long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you once again at our Hotel, and remain at your entire disposal.


Yours Sincerely,

Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed here on business recently. The room was huge and had great city views and was very quiet. Bed really comfy and a nice shower which is all I ask for in a hotel room. I didn't eat there but I did go to their sky bar, the inside was very nice with bud comfy chairs and great views, the outside terrace was spectacular. I paid €105 room only which I thought was reasonable for 5 star luxury

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank AmeliaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Porto!

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel, namely our VIP Lounge on 19th floor.

Thank you very much for having taken this time to post your comments and to enhance the services in Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa .

Looking forward to be welcoming you soon.

Best regards,

Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Great hotel, rooms , lobby and floors high spec and comfortable.

luxurious and comfortable beds and pillows . Water and mini bar not so reasonable. No coffee facilities and ice only available via room service.

The happy staff are professional , courteous and very helpful. Breakfast choice and service are excellent.

Not overly impressed with the in house restaurant but the more expensive Japanese restaurant was excellent.

Wifi too expensive these days where most hotels provide it for free. It is a conference hotel and not walking distance from the city center. Good car parking facilities.

There are lots of buses and a supermarket etc next to the hotel and other shops too.

The overall standard and service was so good that any minor niggles are so very easily forgotten and forgiven.

I would go back.

Room Tip: Great tourist bus passes available and the yellow bus throws in free local bus travel too. Just outside the hotel. The services are 1hourly and 1/2 hourly for just 22 euros but you get a free river cruise and a wine tasting in the price . Blue and Red buses seem more frequent but I did not find out what the package was with them. Concierge or reception will get you tickets. Also ask for a sea view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmuch_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for the time taken to post your feedback on Tripadvisor about Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed our hotel and we do appreciate your kind words regarding our service.

Your comments are of a great value to us and will contribute to improve our overall services and guest’s enjoyment.

We look forward to welcome you again in a future visit.

Kind regards,

Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

True ***** hotel with excellent service and facilities. Located right on Boavista avenue in the shopping district between airport and city. The old town is 5min by taxi and easy to reach. Great roof bar and views from the higher level rooms.

The only two thing sI did not like is the more and more common "dark" atmosphere...my corridor was so dark I hardly could find the key slot....and the Wifi....no free Wifi in the lobby, I had to buy 3 24h passes for mobile, tablet and laptop.....not really up to date...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristianK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Greeting from Porto!

We appreciatte you sending us your important feedback abaout your last stay at the Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA.

It is very rewarding to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Comments like the ones you left us make us believe that our daily accomplishments are worthwhile.

We also take this opportunity to inform you that we have taken notice of your suggestions regarding the internet service.

We hope it will not be long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you once again at our Hotel, and remain at your entire disposal.


Yours Sincerely,

Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our room was No. 307. This was a large room but without a view. The view was the roof of the lower floors. I would ask for a room on the higher floors.

There were two twin beds that were very comfortable. There was a desk with internet and electrical outlets. The desk chair was upholstered with gold leather. The headboard was also upholstered with the same gold material. There was a club chair upholstered with a brown fabric. The closet was large. The bathroom was large with a double sink. However the bathtub was a bit dangerous to get in and out. There was a separate room with a toilet and bidet. There was a large TV mounted on the wall.

The breakfast buffet was quite good and had many hot entrees. There was also esfumante (bubbly wine) available.

The desk was very friendly and the service was efficient and friendly.

Adjacent to the hotel was a large supermarket.

The hotel was in a good district but a bit far from downtown. Cost of a taxi to downtown was about 6 euros.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, higher than the third floor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to post your comments regarding your last stay at the Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA.

It is very rewarding to know that you enjoyed your stay and especially our buffet breakfast service.
Comments like the ones you left us make us believe that our daily accomplishments are worthwhile.

We hope it will not be long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you once again at our Hotel, and remain at your entire disposal.


Yours Sincerely,

Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews