We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Western Hotel Inca = OK hotel - though definitely not 4 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Inca
Ranked #53 of 104 Hotels in Porto
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Western Hotel Inca = OK hotel - though definitely not 4 stars”
Reviewed February 27, 2009

Best Western Hotel Inca is close to Trindade metro station, which is really handy and it is a short walk to downtown Porto. It's quiet and tidy, which is great, especially when on business. Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful, handing out free maps and giving directions. They let me check in hours ahead, as I arrived early, which was really nice and much appreciated.
However, I'm not sure how they got the 4 stars - it's just not up to 4 star standards. It's not that it cost all that much to stay there (approximately €55), but I would have appreciated if they were up front with their 3 star standard (there's nothing wrong with being a 3 star hotel!). The room was quite average, though it had a fantastic view over the city. The bathroom was meant to have a bathtub, which it did, but it was miniscule - I mean, I have never in my life seen such a small tub. Perhaps it was a bidet? Jokes aside, it was tiiiny. I don't understand how a full size, adult human being is meant to fit in there. There was a TV in the room, but only one channel was in English, so no Sky or anything fancy like that - there was also a safe in the room, which you had to pay for. There's a computer with internet in the basement of the building that you have to pay to use, but there is apparently wifi in the room. These things may sound petty, but surely, if it is meant to be a 4 star hotel, these things should be considered...
The breakfast was ok with a good selection - different kinds of bread, cereal, omelettes, etc - the usual. All quite good!
The decor of the place is somewhere between horrific and terrific - the breakfast room looks like it hasn't been touched since the 1970s, amazing stuff. Lovely shades of brown! So maybe they need a bit of an update...?
It sounds like a bad review, but it really isn't, as long as you don't expect to get a 4 star hotel here - perhaps it once had 4 stars and lost one along the way! I would still recommend the hotel and would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Slumberparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    235
    171
    47
    26
See reviews for
82
279
32
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2009

This is an older hotel that fits the old fashioned and slightly run down appearance of Porto itself. The hotel is spotlessly kept and the staff speak many languages and go the extra mile to ensure a nice stay. It is situated uphill from the Ribera river area and the Trindade metro station in a quiet square next to the police station! Porto has narrow cobbled streets and narrow pavements. The metro light rail system is a delight to use and the ‘Adelante’ ticket card can be topped up when required and gives the user access to the airport by a direct line and also works on the bus network. Taxi’s are cheap in Porto too and it is not a huge city. Don’t miss the seafood restaurants at Ave Serpa Pinto, in the suburb of Matosinhos. It’s a metro ride from the city (Get off at Mercado) but well worth the journey. We liked Porto a lot. Go there. The people are nice. Its safe and inexpensive for a euro city. Highlight of our trip was Grahams Port Lodge tour. The lodge is up a hill out of the main own a bit but the tour and the views over the river were first class.

  • Liked — The nice staff and the location
  • Disliked — Difficult to find first time
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Dogbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2008

Good points:

Rooms are clean and decently-sized (but somewhat fusty - this is clearly an older hotel that has not been remodeled - that being said, though, they do a very good job of keeping it clean and well-maintained).

Front-desk staff is friendly and helpful.

Breakfast buffet is large and fresh - definitely recommended.

Within about 10-15 minutes walking distance of sites in central Porto (eg Sao Bento station, Se, Torre dos Clerigos, etc), though getting down to the riverside can be a bit of a hike.

Not-so-good points:

The area around the hotel is *completely* dead at night, with not even a convenience store open, and even bars/restaurants can be difficult to find. There is one fully-stocked grocery store about five minutes away, between the hotel and Ave dos Aliados.

Soundproofing around doors is basically non-existent, so if people in the hallway are going to be making any noise, you're going to be hearing it.

Would I stay here again? For the right price - it's not that there's anything wrong with the hotel (except for the minor quibbles above our experience was entirely positive) it's just that I can't help but suspect that you can find a more centrally-located hotel at roughly the same price. Bottom line: if you can get a decent price for a room here, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank bttravellerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BROMSGROVE
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2008

We had originally booked to stay at the Hotel Grande De Paris and on arriving there were told there was a "problem" with the water in our rooms. Very strange, as this happened to us on a trip to Krakow also! The reception called and paid for a taxi to transfer us to Hotel Inca which he said was a 4 star hotel. We were a little dismayed when we pulled up outside. The receptionist (Marta) was very proffesional and dealt with us swiftly. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed. The pillows are great! It's a little out of the way but taxis are cheap and when called by the reception staff, arrive very quickly. All of the staff were friendly and very helpful, and that was the saving grace. Breakfast is ok, there's a choice of cereal, fruit, meat and cheese, and a couple of hot "things". I wouldn't personally rate it as a 4 star.

  • Liked — Staff and pillows!
  • Disliked — A little out of the way
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FEENCHAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

If you're just looking for a place to sleep and expect good service from front-desk, that's the place! Don't expect a new building though.
I went to Porto for a day, with my train scheduled for 6am next day. That said, I just needed a place to rest until the departure time.
For this proposal, this hotel was just perfect.
Front desk was really really helpful and answered a tone of questions I had as soon as I got there since I wanted to see everything in just 1 day. They took a time to explain me all the options of tours and the best places to go visit first.
The building is oldie, but almost everything there is, so...
The bathroom is super tiny, but as everything else was very clean.
The sheets were soooo good! As well as the bed. Very comfortable.
In the morning, as it was so early, the person at the front desk offered my to call a cab as soon as I went downstairs. The taxi was there in 3 minutes! Very important when you have a train to catch.
About the location, it's very close to most historic buildings, but it didn't look to me to be the safest place in the world. Nothing happened to me tough.
I hope this can help.

  • Liked — Front desk's great service, clean and good sheets.
  • Disliked — The look of the neighborhood. It's close to most historic buildings tough..
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank LuGoFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Petherton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Although very clean and functional, this was not a 4 star hotel.

The staff were very helpful and spoke good English but the faciltiies at the hotel were extremely limited. We were in Porto for 4 days, during which time it poured with rain. The Inca is situated up a very steep hill and this combined with the weather made it far from ideal. Our main disappointment was to find that the hotel had no restaurant. It is obvious there has been one at some point but it is now just a breakfast room. The breakfast was good with the usual hot and cold selections, fully staffed and replenished quickly.

The bar was not open during the daytime.

The rooms were clean but somewhat dated.

All in all, it was value for money but only for stays of a couple of nights or so.

  • Liked — Reception staff
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank prudencepotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

We were transferred to the Hotel Inca due to problems at the Hotel Grande De Paris. Our room was comfortable, the bed exceptionally so, and very clean. The room had a minibar and satellite television. The in-room safe needed a key from reception which cost 1.5 euros a day. A 10 euro refundable deposit was also charged. The price of water in the minibar was extortionate, it was provided in small bottles and worked out at 10 euros a litre. A 1.5 litre bottle from a local supermarket cost 50 cents - a big difference. Coffee and tea making facilities were available on request. There was no charge but we were not given any milk. When we requested the tray at reception it was delivered to our room within a few minutes.
The bathroom was functional and very clean. The deep bath had an overbath shower. There was ample hot water. A container of shower gel was on the wall but we didn't use it so can't comment on its quality.
The hot buffet breakfasts were superb. They were served in a very pleasant room and there always seemed to be plenty of everything. It was unfortunate that an early morning flight meant we had to miss breakfast on our last day.
Staff at reception were always pleasant and helpful. We asked for a recommendation of a good restaurant and were directed to one about ten minutes walk away. It was very good.
The Trinidade metro station is within walking distance. It is on the yellow line that goes from the airport to the other side of the Douro where the port wine lodges are situated. A one, two or three day travel card is available from tourist information at the airport. It cost 11 euros for three days and could be used on the funicular, local buses (not tourist) and trams as well as the metro.
The highlight of our stay in Porto was lunch at the Taylors port lodge restaurant. We had read excellent reviews before our holiday and it certainly lived up to expectations!
We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending it to friends.

  • Liked — The superb breakfasts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crochetcymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dom Henrique Hotel
Dom Henrique Hotel
#34 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Porto
Quality Inn Porto
#47 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pao de Acucar Hotel
Pao de Acucar Hotel
#51 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Premium Porto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Inca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Inca

Property: Best Western Hotel Inca
Address: Pr. Coronel Pacheco 52, Porto 4050, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Inca 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Hotel Inca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inca
Best Western Porto
Porto Best Western
Best Western Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing