We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“get to know the unknown...;-).”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Porto Free Tour

Porto Free Tour
Ranked #16 of 152 Tours in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: PLEASE BOOK TO OUR E-MAIL TILL 10PM OF THE DAY BEFORE THE TOUR Portofreetour guides are not professional tour guides but enthusiastic, friendly individuals with knowledge of Porto who will accompany you on a visit of the city, take advantage of their passion and discover hidden, unusual places off the tourist trail. Together we designed a few "caminhos" through our city, giving you a glimpse of what Invicta's all about. Zigzagging between past, present and potential futures, we try to give an insight into our hometown that will enable you to understand and enjoy it evermore. Our visits are simple and friendly : we try to limit our tours to 6 people maximum, so you can get to sightsee without the crowd, we also like to have a small break (Porto's hilly), to chill out and chat, no rush we're in Portugal. Average tour duration : 2h or 3hTime : 10/11am or 2/3pm
Krakow, Poland
1 review
“get to know the unknown...;-).”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

It's a great opportunity for those who like to go beyond the 'top tourist attractions list'. Our tour guide was Joana. She was very very nice. We had a long walk, then we enjoyed a lunch together, she made us try delicious green wine, she has showed us where to eat the best francesinha, and where to listen a real Fado. Even though we have booked our tour in the last minute, they were very flexible about the meeting time ect. I strongly recommend it and appreciate their effort!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank marzenapiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    62
    5
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Many interesting places and stories with local guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a tour with Porto Free Tour in the beginning of June. Be we joined this tour we have spend already a few days in Porto and discovered the city quite well. But Andre showed us quite a different Porto. We liked this city even more after the tour. We wouldn't find so many interesting places and stories without local guide.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“See Porto with a local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a few days in Porto and wanted to have a small walking tour with a local rather than a hop on hop off bus tour.

Andre was wonderful.Friendly and chatty and full of interesting information about Portugal and Porto.

We had a long walk taking in not the usual attractions.We walked from 3 pm till 7 pm and the tour included the Lello book shop with the amazing butterfly staircase which inspired J.K.Rowling author of the famous Harry Potter series.
While in the book shop Andre helped us choose some DVDs of the well known fado music both with singers and just with guitar music.

. Next we went around the university area and then on to the Crystil Palace Gardens which provided excellent views over the River Douro, Porto's river famous for its wine growing region upstream. After several hours we stopped to enjoy a drink at a local little cafe and we marveled at the cheapness of the excellent wines on offer.

Luckily for us we were the only 2 people on this tour so we really did have Andre's total attention.I rang him only the night before to arrange it and he was on time and courteous , knowledgeable about the local economy and made our afternoon in Porto pleasurable.

Andre also gave good suggestions for the next day and we took his advise and visited a local little fishing village and also visited Taylors winery which was a real highlight of the Porto trip.
Highly recommended and remember to give Andre a good tip.
Kate and Bill Australia
June 2013

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kate g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
“Great tour of Porto: relaxed and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our walk with Andre trough the city of Porto. He told us a lot of inside stories about the city and its inhabitants. We had a great time and really appreciated all of Andre efforts. It was GREAT!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Derek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We very much enjoyed Andre's company and knowledge! It's like having a friend showing you their hometown, in a relaxed way.

Andre is friendly, speaks perfect English and knows a lot about his city, which is truly lovely!

Thanks again so much for the tour Andre!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaVoyageuse777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Free Tour also viewed

 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Porto Free Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing