We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gallery Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$475
$400
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$231
$216
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$303
$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$196
$190
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (546)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveler rating
483
58
2
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
58
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree walking tourcinema roommeet other guestsentertainment roombunk bedsfemale dormdeluxe suitedouro valleycleaned dailycommon areasroof terracewould definitely stay here againgreat facilitiesvisiting portostayed longernice gardendecent breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 546 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Strongly recommend this beautiful hostel to anyone who's visiting Porto! Porto is a very beautiful city itself, I personally much prefer Porto over Lisbon. This hostel is located in the art district, surrounded by lots of cute garden cafes and restaurants! about 5mins walk to the night life area, 10mins walk to old town. However, the city is very hilly, might take longer to walk if you are not used to climbing. Breakfast is lovely here, free with freshly cooked eggs or sausage when you sit down. Staff are very helpful and informative. Would definitely stay in the same hostel when I come back to visit Porto! Oh and the room smells lovely!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

It was a pleasure to arrive in a new city with such a friendly team in the hostel: welcoming, speaking several langages, explaining what to see in Porto, a bar inside, organising visits and every night a special diner! Their advice were really helpfull: restaurants, place to see.
We had a double bedroom (even if it's a hostel, there are 3 separate bedrooms). The decoration of the place is lovely: a patio with an inside garden, paintings, a cinema-room and the kitchen. Breakfast was great and the bedroom very nice. Just a little thing, the mat was not the best ever. Everything was clean and not noisy. Moreover, it was a very good localisation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arnan_swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

A very peacefull place in the centre of Porto. The staff is extremely helpfu,l with perfect English, everything is well organised, stressless. The Hostel Gallery is spotless place, the rooms are with airconditioning so you can relax in a very hot day. What I really liked is the spirit of art.
Jana, the Czech Republic

Room Tip: we stayed in a double room in the garden. It was quiet, comfortable, clean and with airconditioning.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

If only all hostels could be like the Gallery! Beautifully restored building. Thoughtful and charming decoration. Warm welcome and very helpful staff throughout: from the breakfast-ladies to the night porter. We stayed 4 nights in a double room with private bath (large shower cubicle). Due to the unseasonal cold weather, we can assure that the heating worked well. Towels were changed on the 2nd day which is a luxury for a hostel. Breakfast offers a good choice, including home-made cakes, fruit salad and savoury. Nice bar corner with excellent drinks (must try the port-tonic!). Stunning smoker veranda. Gallery offers an unbeatable value for money ratio. We recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunflower651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The best hostel I've ever stayed in. The staff are very approachable, friendly, informative and responsive. We had a great introduction and tour around the hostel. The free walking tour is a good little tastier for you to go alone and explore the city further. The tour guide was excellent and on the same night we had a three course Portugese meal for ten euros - we were late to tell the staff that we wanted to have the meal and they bent over backward to accommodate us that evening. The room was great and the shower pressure was brilliant. The hostel has a cute little bar and a fanastic television room. The staff are the ones that made it such a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RodneyEb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews