We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nearly spectacular”
Review of Gallery Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gallery Hostel
Ranked #2 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,096 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 561 helpful votes
“Nearly spectacular”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our guide at Gallery Hostel (I apologize that I have forgotten his name) took great pride in showing us all the different parts of the hostel, all the amenities, and we were justly impressed. We only stayed in Porto for one night (most of our trip to Portugal was spent in Lisbon), but we wish we could've stayed longer just to avail ourselves of the many wonders of this hostel!

And most importantly, our room was very nice - spacious, comfortable, well-appointed. A couple things struck me as not working exactly as envisioned - for example, the bathroom lights work on motion sensors, and if you are in the same place for more than a minute or two, the light goes out and you have to move to activate it again, which can be annoying. Shaving was an adventure. But this was a rare misstep - most everything else worked perfectly.

They also helped us get around Porto - with ordering taxis (and telling the drivers where we were going), and giving us fabulous advice on things to do and see - while we had planned our day out, there was room for some additions, like a visit to the Rota do Cha teahouse just down the street from the hostel. And there is an gallery area tour that leaves from the lobby of the hostel which we did not have a chance to do but would've loved.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charming_Karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    42
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
112
144
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

A very beautiful hostel with very good facilities. Most special is the theme, the art and sustainable character. We stayed a total of two nights.
Hospitality was great: we were planning to take the last bus to the airport, but they informed us there are night buses as well and they let us stay, wait and relax in the movie lounge, while we were already checked out.
So, they try everything to satisfy their guests: that also counts for food: good breakfast (free) with lots of choices and the possibility to have a dinner.
Porto itself was a city or us with surprises on every corner and taking one of the tours with the staff, was another beautiful discovery.
My friend was the 85th visiting nationality (first one of her country) of the hostel.
There are so many other good things to tell but if you get a chance to visit Porto this hostel offers you and excellency and character that cannot easily be found, so go for it. I felt privileged I could stay in this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ymke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capital of the World
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Gallery Hostels has an excellent location in the arty district of Porto to explore this beautiful city. Decor is funky and tasteful, lots of space, cool little patio/bar area, and clean rooms. Staff is very knowledgeable about the city and always ready to help. Breakfast is included and prepared fresh daily. They organize dinner parties and wine tastings, make sure to join one of those. Free walking tour.

Room Tip: Double rooms are almost hotel rooms, in quiet are in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldCTZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed at the Gallery hostel in late April. I stayed there three nights by myself in a dorm. When I arrived I was immediately made to feel welcomed. The guy on reception explained the city to me and I was then invited to join in on a delicious dinner. The staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much effort. All the finer details were thought of when they created the rooms. They are simply gorgeous. I joined in on a trip to the Douro Valley which was good fun and well organised. I wish I could have spent longer here as I fell in love with Porto and this hostel. I hope to visit again some time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashlee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Wonderful, beautiful, so lovely. I hope to go back soon!

I stayed for 2 nights but wish I could have stayed forever. The staff was so wonderful, the location was fantastic, and the other hostel guests were so nice. The hostel helped set me up on a day tour of the Douro river, and I am grateful to them for their help because it was a fantastic day and an incredibly well-done tour.

The best parts of the hostel:
1. The gallery throughout was beautiful, with very comfortable sitting areas
2. Even the bunk beds were quite comfortable, I stayed in the 6-bed female dorm and it was very nice.
3. The breakfast in the morning is WONDERFUL -- scrambled eggs to order and homemade cornbread included.
4. The 10-euro dinners were a fabulous way to meet other hotel guests and were both tasty and a good value
5. The staff was so friendly, they knew my name immediately after checking in
6. The free walking tour was a helpful introduction to the city.

Great hostel, great guests, great staff. Cannot recommend enough.

- Sarah

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spettengill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a great hostel, I have travelled hundreds of hostels already and I can really recommend you this one, it's really one of the best! The neighborhood is a little strange and you wouldn't expect such a quality hostel in there, but it's absolutely great!
That's how Portugal is, the facade is a but run down, but it's all about inner values ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redlefloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is the best hostel I've ever stayed! I picked this hostel since it has very good comments and ranking on Tripadvisor, and I am glad I made the right choice.
Stayed at 6 beds female dorm, the room is so clean and nicely decorated. Alll the hostel staffs are so friendly and speak perfect English.
All the travelers I met in this hostel are happy with the hotel, the common areas (bar, living room, library, dining room) are good places to meet people stayed there.
The 10 Euro dinner was very nice, incluing three courses meal and wine.
I highly recommend this hostel and will stay here again when I return to Porto.

Room Tip: Take the walking tour in the morning, very informative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigpawbasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#40 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
1.6 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#33 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallery Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery Hostel

Property: Gallery Hostel
Address: Rua Miguel Bombarda 222, Porto 4050-377, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gallery Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gallery Hostel is set in a privileged area of Oporto, known for its art galleries and modern shops, at a walking distance from the main points of interest in the city centre such as museums, monuments, gardens, restaurants and bars. Located in Rua Miguel Bombarda, the Hostel is established in an historical building with more than 100 years old, which just went through a renewal in order to respond to our guest’s needs and expectations. With high standards of comfort and carefully decorated, you will find a familiar and cosy atmosphere, complemented by a multilingual and professional team. Composed by several types of rooms, the Gallery Hostel is divided in two sections. You can choose between staying in the main building in a 6 or 4 people bedroom, or in one of our Garden Suites, always offering a privileged privacy. In the main building, each room is named after the most renowned artists of Oporto such as Sophia Mello Breyner, Almeida Garrett, Julio Resende, Silva Porto, Siza Vieira and Souto Moura. Also creating an original feeling of the city and enhancing local culture, the Garden Suites are named after the main Oporto city parks (Cordoaria, Botânico, Serralves and Palácio de Cristal). Our services and common areas have also been developed in order to satisfy any need the guest might have. You can choose listening to music and drink Portuguese wine in our Lounge Bar, watch a DVD in our Movie Theatre or play a game, surf on internet or read a book in our Library, have a chat or chill out in our interior gardens, enjoy a meal in our open kitchen and breakfast area, between others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gallery Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing