We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Gallery Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gallery Hostel
Ranked #2 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic”
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Everything and more you could want of a good hotel without the price tag. Service, multilingual, clean, friendly, informed, close to everything. would highly recommend this hostel but why does trip adviser insist on the review being two hundred characters?

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jdbate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    43
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
114
144
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just stayed one night here but loved it - welcomed like family, great beds, great food (book yourself in for dinner if you can) and loads of tips for what to do in this enchanting town.

It's a working gallery as well as a hostel so it attracted a friendly, arty crowd - expect to be rubbing shoulders with photographers and architects at breakfast!

Enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Absolutely echo all the positive reviews--this place is a gem.
I stayed one night in a private room (and would have stayed longer if they weren't totally booked for the private rooms--I just don't want to do the sharing bathrooms thing anymore!) which was spacious, comfortable, and clean. Great wi-fi. Great-looking lounge area, bar, and media room (with set-up for movies!). Library with computers for use. Located in the art district, right by the Crystal Palace park & Museo Romantico.
Had dinner (10 euros for a complete home-cooked meal with starters, wine, dessert--a steal!) with the lovely staff & owner and really felt like I was a guest in their home--really enjoyed the food and conversations! Paula was kind enough to take me on my own private walking tour (since I was the only one that day) and shared lots of insights about Porto--I got much more from a walk with a true Porto native than I did wandering on my own.
All in all, a wonderful experience--most hotels are just a place to stay (with more- or less- stylish beds), but this place offers real, warm hospitality. I really look forward to coming back the next time I get the chance to visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Synne9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

i booked a 6 bed dorm in may and stayed for a week.when we checked in we were given a map with all different things circled on it so good then they showed us around the whole hostel which is nice cos most hostels dont do this.the hostel is also an art gallery which gives it a reall nice touch.there is free wifi and computers and they have a really cool theatre room where every monday night they have live musiv. our room was amazing the room was huge and very clean our beds were pre made and we had our own bathroom so we didnt have to share with lots of people.every day house keeping would make our bed and give us fresh bath towels all for free.we did the completly free walking tour ran by the hostel it was really good.They have a kitchen you can use .and every night they make a home made traditional meal with drinks starters and dessert
.my gosh the food is amazing i wish i did it every night.this hostel is family run the owners are sooo nice and as one quoted " we built this hostel from the heart" and they did

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiraleejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hostel has everything you need. A friendly (multilingual) staff, a comfortable bed, a nice living room, a TV/Cinema room, a smoking garden, a big kitchen and it includes breakfast.
If you are traveling as a couple I suggest you book one of the private rooms and for a very reasonable price you will be staying in a fabulous Bed & Breakfast at the heart of Porto's Art District.
If you are traveling by yourself, book a bed in any of the rooms. Every room has a private bathroom and plenty space for the 4/6 people in there.
Without question this is the best hostel I've ever stayed in, I'm totally staying there in my next visit to Porto.

Room Tip: If you travel as a couple, book a private bedroom. Cheaper and better than any hotel this price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ocecena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Simply one of the best hostels I have stayed in, ever. We stayed in a private room that more like a hotel than a hostel, the organized meals and port tasting was outstanding and the location in the middle of Porto's trendy artist centre was superb. Showers pressure, temperature were great. Hostel staff were friendly to an almost unhealthy degree.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I decided to write this review after 6 months, because having visited few hostels across the Europe and can now really appreciate the great accommodation at Gallery hostel.

The location and facilities were very good, but what made this place so great was the atmosphere and personal touch of the staff towards the guests. Daily organised dinners (for example with Porto tasting), long talks, openness made us feel like home and contributed to the so fantastic experience of Porto. I hope they will keep up this approach and remain one of the best accommodations in Europe!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ender_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 106 in Porto
968 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#40 of 106 in Porto
743 reviews
1.6 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 106 in Porto
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallery Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery Hostel

Property: Gallery Hostel
Address: Rua Miguel Bombarda 222, Porto 4050-377, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gallery Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gallery Hostel is set in a privileged area of Oporto, known for its art galleries and modern shops, at a walking distance from the main points of interest in the city centre such as museums, monuments, gardens, restaurants and bars. Located in Rua Miguel Bombarda, the Hostel is established in an historical building with more than 100 years old, which just went through a renewal in order to respond to our guest’s needs and expectations. With high standards of comfort and carefully decorated, you will find a familiar and cosy atmosphere, complemented by a multilingual and professional team. Composed by several types of rooms, the Gallery Hostel is divided in two sections. You can choose between staying in the main building in a 6 or 4 people bedroom, or in one of our Garden Suites, always offering a privileged privacy. In the main building, each room is named after the most renowned artists of Oporto such as Sophia Mello Breyner, Almeida Garrett, Julio Resende, Silva Porto, Siza Vieira and Souto Moura. Also creating an original feeling of the city and enhancing local culture, the Garden Suites are named after the main Oporto city parks (Cordoaria, Botânico, Serralves and Palácio de Cristal). Our services and common areas have also been developed in order to satisfy any need the guest might have. You can choose listening to music and drink Portuguese wine in our Lounge Bar, watch a DVD in our Movie Theatre or play a game, surf on internet or read a book in our Library, have a chat or chill out in our interior gardens, enjoy a meal in our open kitchen and breakfast area, between others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gallery Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing