We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel in Europe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gallery Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gallery Hostel
Ranked #2 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best hostel in Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

This hostel, in an old building just north of Porto's historic centre, has everything: great, clean rooms with clean, comfortable beds and pillows, really helpful and lovely staff, laundry services, wifi and Internet, a bar, free breakfast and cheap, delicious dinner feasts. They have pretty much anything you could ask for. Stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    40
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
107
137
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Jose, Nuno and Senhora Ana created an excellent environment. Everything is really top top, above standard for an hostel accomodation.

Every evening there is also a dinner for guests with typical dishes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beingandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hostel is the best I've ever stayed at by far. It is located in the art district in porto, with loads of galleries around it. The hostel itself operates as host for different portuguese artists. The hostel consists of a bar, playing room, kitch, dining room, and a small, but very nice terrace in it's backyard. It offers free guiding tours for their guests, and furthermore a common dinner for a price of 10€. The room was just perfect (4-bed mixed) with two bunk beds. Breakfast consisted of all you need - orange juice, coffee, different kinds of bread, jams, cheese, ham and even a cake was made each day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baenshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Every nook & cranny of Gallery Hostel is so tastefully done up! And what impresses me most is the attitude of the staff - Each of them whom we met is always so full of energy & sincere. You can't help but fall in love with this place & the people =)

Thumbs up on energy saving - there is actually a motion sensor in the bathroom. Light will automatically turn off (vice versa) if no movement is detected after sometime.

We do lunch at one of the restaurants it recommended - Favorita, which is just opposite the hostel & were not disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuilletNeige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Great staff, great cooks, great location, actually I loved everything about it and I met a wonderful friend from Ecuador there. I would go back. Porto itself is a beautiful city, love it, thanks guys.

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Corey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabie, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed here two nights in May 2012, and liked it very much, especially the art work everywhere. The staff are very friendly and speak good English. A good breakfast is included. There is a choice of dormitories or double rooms with private bath. We had booked a double room, but my husband had to return home unexpectedly, so didn’t stay. Consequently it wasn’t good value for me, having to pay the full price on my own, as I couldn’t eat two breakfasts. They wouldn’t reduce the price, although two other hotels, the next two nights, both readily reduced the price of my bookings to a single person in a double room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FuzzySalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had a brilliant time in this hostel. It looks like your normal hostel from the outside but when we got in we could see that this was a good quality hostel! It's a converted school, which you can see from the staircases and the walls are adorned with art by local artists which adds character.

We arrived on the night of the 1st birthday of the hostel. The lady that runs the kitchen made loads of little dishes plus a delicious Portuguese speciality of bacalhau, a fresh salted cod. This was all for free, since it was the party, but there are dinners every night which you pay for but you get a LOT for your money. My favourite night was the port tasting night with most of the hostel guests. The atmosphere was relaxed and really enjoyable. the set up of the great looking common area also encourages socialising - there's even a couple of guitars there if you play!

Our room - what can I say. This room was better than many hotels we have stayed in, certainly the best room we've ever had in terms of hostels. Modern, clean and luxurious bathroom as well. Also very spacious. Unfortunately we were unable to spend our last night there as they were fully booked for Primavera - I was so sad to leave upon check out and found myself wishing I was back there that night as the hotel we ended up in next was a real hole :-(

The staff are amazing. The owner's father drove myself and my fiancé to a place where they played typical Fado music - such a kind thing to do.

Other things - there is a good bar there that sells port wine and beer (Super Bock) for incredibly reasonable prices. Breakfast is also better than most hostels and is included in the price. If you are considering this hostel to stay then book now, before the rooms get taken!

Thanks all to Gallery Hostel for an amazing time - really made our trip to Porto :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
1.0 mi away
Tryp Porto Centro Hotel
Tryp Porto Centro Hotel
#47 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.7 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#27 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallery Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery Hostel

Property: Gallery Hostel
Address: Rua Miguel Bombarda 222, Porto 4050-377, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gallery Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gallery Hostel is set in a privileged area of Oporto, known for its art galleries and modern shops, at a walking distance from the main points of interest in the city centre such as museums, monuments, gardens, restaurants and bars. Located in Rua Miguel Bombarda, the Hostel is established in an historical building with more than 100 years old, which just went through a renewal in order to respond to our guest’s needs and expectations. With high standards of comfort and carefully decorated, you will find a familiar and cosy atmosphere, complemented by a multilingual and professional team. Composed by several types of rooms, the Gallery Hostel is divided in two sections. You can choose between staying in the main building in a 6 or 4 people bedroom, or in one of our Garden Suites, always offering a privileged privacy. In the main building, each room is named after the most renowned artists of Oporto such as Sophia Mello Breyner, Almeida Garrett, Julio Resende, Silva Porto, Siza Vieira and Souto Moura. Also creating an original feeling of the city and enhancing local culture, the Garden Suites are named after the main Oporto city parks (Cordoaria, Botânico, Serralves and Palácio de Cristal). Our services and common areas have also been developed in order to satisfy any need the guest might have. You can choose listening to music and drink Portuguese wine in our Lounge Bar, watch a DVD in our Movie Theatre or play a game, surf on internet or read a book in our Library, have a chat or chill out in our interior gardens, enjoy a meal in our open kitchen and breakfast area, between others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Gallery Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing