We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
iStay Hotel Porto Centro
Ranked #50 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed here with my wife for one night only. For such a small duration as i required it was the cheapest possible hotel located in the heart of the city. It is like any other Low cost Hotel where you have to pay for anything else like wifi, glasses, parking, early checkin and late checkout on pro rata basis, even storing your luggage after checkout etc etc.

Anyway, the location was the best, at walking distance to the center of the city, breakfast joints nearby, near to hop-on bus stop, staff was really nice, friendly & spoke good English.

I will recommend this hotel, if you are looking for a clean, hygienic, cheap option in the city and not looking for anything else other than a place to sleep in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kul_Saini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 492 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

I am giving 2 not 3 points of the overal rating just because the room was missing some basic components such as glasses (even plastic ones would be ok just to put your tooth-paste brushes in them), wardrobe (even though there were hangers). The rating is actually 2.5 to be honest.
The sheets are not changed - you have to pay for this service additionally.
There were a few courners with moss near the window and on the the bathroom curtain, I really think they should replace the curtain. On the other hand the rest of the bathroom was clean.
The room itself and the sheets were clean, the bed was comfortable and the location is perfect in the city center. The staff was helpful and was answering all our questions.
For the good budget price I'd say it's worthy and for the 3 night stay there we were satisfied.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntsonev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hotel is located near main station and Cathedral. Check in and check out is very easy and quick. Price wise very very cheap.
Room was very basic but clean. Wifi was not included in room price. Good for 1 night stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varsha156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Clean, quiet, well-located. Online rates from re-sellers same as from easyHotel site. Be careful as "double" means double i.e. one big bed that can not be split into two twins. Otherwise be prepared to get intimate with your travel companion!

I like this concept of paying only for what you need/use. Be prepared for extras however if you need extra towels or room cleaning.

If you're not a heavy internet user, make use of the free wifi at Cafe Lobito a few doors down while having your breakfast or lunch.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lostinhollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The location is amazing. Nearby the downtown area and available to walk by to all atractions by bubway or train. The staff was amazing. The room mas big enough to a couple with luggage of 30 days traveling... The wifi is free of charge different of all easyHotel's. Certainly will stay ther in my next visit to Porto.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emerson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here for a week in a visit to Porto for Sao Joao. We got a decent price for the week, and the location is very good, very central.

One thing that you should know about easyHotel is that you pay for any additional extras, including left luggage, wifi, fresh towels etc. After a couple of days, we requested that we have more toilet roll put into our room, as well as maybe some fresh towels, and we were told that as a favour since we were staying 7 nights, that they would do it this once free of charge. We were not happy with this. A 7 night stay would surely warrant at least two towel changes, without having to worry about extra charges.

The room and bathroom were clean, new feeling, and pretty spacious. The shower was good, and I wouldn't have much bad to say about any of this. Except maybe that there were only two pillows for the bed, one would expect four.

Generally made for a comfortable stay, however I would like to stress how we were not happy with having to pay for 'extras', especially the wifi - at €5 per stay is not good, though obviously better for us as we were there 7 nights.

Room Tip: If you're disturbed by traffic noise, try get a room off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Good location of hotel lets get in most places by walk. Room and bathroom was new and clean. My room was big, but I would say it is really easy hotel - basic hotel. There was a plenty space for some desk or table with some coffe/tea maker. That was missed, because hotel not serving breakfast and other meals. On leaflet of hotel there is an information that on one of the floor there is a coffe/tea maker. When I needed tea I went downstairs and what I've seen: machine with ready "tea" and "coffe" to buy. Size od cups was for 2 sips and "tea" wasn't real tea - probably some granules instatnt - horible sweet. Coffe was similar quality. Awful. So finally there wasn't a chance to get some hot water and even do tea myself.
What quest also should know before booking: there is a one towel per person for stay. If u need new towel it cost additional charge. Service room is cost additional money as well. So what can I say it was ok stay (but only ok).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorotiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#26 of 111 in Porto
1,962 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stay Hotel Porto Centro Trindade
2.6 mi away
Star Inn Porto
Star Inn Porto
#49 of 111 in Porto
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Porto
Quality Inn Porto
#48 of 111 in Porto
1,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Rex Hotel
The Rex Hotel
#81 of 111 in Porto
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iStay Hotel Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iStay Hotel Porto Centro

Address: Rua de Alexandre Herculano 296, Porto 4000-053, Portugal (Formerly easyHotel Porto)
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range: $42 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — iStay Hotel Porto Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the historical centre of Porto, iStay Hotel Porto Centro offers contemporary accommodation within 400 meters of the iconic Dom Luis Bridge. An entirely non-smoking property, the hotel offers 24-hour reception services. The air-conditioned rooms at iStay Hotel Porto Centro feature views of the UNESCO-listed city centre. Equipped with private bathrooms and flat-screen satellite TVs, rooms are spacious and functional. Popular nearby landmarks include the Palacio da Bolsa and The Sao Bento Railway Station, 300 metres away. The hotel is also a 10-minute walk to Guindais Funicular with links to Ribeira riverside quarter and Port Wine cellars. Guests can benefit from the central location and discover many traditional restaurants serving Portuguese food and famous port wines. Vending machines for drinks and snacks are situated in-house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your iStay Hotel Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing