We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
iStay Hotel Porto Centro
Ranked #62 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but Noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Well located, near everything, clean, professional service.
The rooms in lower flower are noisy. You can ear the people passing and speaking in the street, even without speaking loud, feeling that you are sleeping in the street. Noisy street, lots of traffic and buses all the night, increasing earlier. This can be improved with another set of windows, I suppose.

Room Tip: The rooms in lower flower are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John the First S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    169
    131
    36
    20
See reviews for
50
241
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

This room cost 24 euros per night. What I got was a totally functional room; double bed, hot power shower, air con and black out blinds.
The hotel was well located, ten mins wander from all the sights and the river front.
The room lacked character, but I guess that's to be expected for the price.
The thing that prevents me giving a 5 star rating is that there were extra fees for the tv and the wifi. I know this makes them optional, but part of me would prefer to pay a bit extra on the room and have them included.
I'd stay here again thou, a b

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemTT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Great location, clean, comfortable bed - all for euro30! Simply a bargain

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SohoSquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

hotel is 2 doors down from bus terminus, bus from Lisbon. young energetic people at reception working shifts, has vending machines fom coffee to water. lifts to rooms. clean, plain white linen, we had room on the street so of course it was noisey due to all the buses driving pass but that was understandable, the hop on bus is also 50mters either way, walkign distance to shops and restaurants, wants we got the lay we walked to the cathedralm down to the waterfront, value for money

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvettealbertse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Easyhotel really delivers what the name says.

Easy check-in, simple, clean rooms with a decent location for a reasonable price.

Because it is part of a big company, there are a lot of rules: no check in before 3 o clock, to pay extra for television, for fresh towels, ...

Good to know is that the airco can only work 1 way for the whole building. Or cold air for all 50 rooms or hot air. They need a techniciean to change this. In summer or winter it is clear wath the airco should do. In between seasons (like March for us) it can get hot without possibility to get cold air.
The guys at the reception were extremely friendly though and tried to help with the settings as much as possible.

For 1 night while travelling it is certainly ok, but i wouldnt stay here for a week.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blacketter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

It's a nice hotel for short stays and for who don't spend many time at the room.
Location is nice, but, I believe that for the same low price is possible to find something better located.
Bus and taxi right in front.
For night life, you can go by foot, but it's not so near (i'm talking about the Galeria de Paris area).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
227 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

I had my reservations when I booked it, but it had a great location for the price in porto.

When I got there I was quite impressed decent decor, with pod shower and the twin room no 6.1 was spacious with a great view across the valley which wasn't expected.

The big let down was the noise from the street as it's above the bus station in porto and it never stops all day and late into the night.

It's a in a great location which for the price makes this still a good buy but it isn't luxurious in any way shape or form. It's like a posh backpacking hotel so go with caution.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank copleycop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#31 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#62 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.6 mi away
Star Inn Porto Smart Choice Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Porto
Quality Inn Porto
#46 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel do Norte
Hotel do Norte
#60 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.9 mi away
TRYP Porto Centro Hotel
TRYP Porto Centro Hotel
#47 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iStay Hotel Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iStay Hotel Porto Centro

Property: iStay Hotel Porto Centro
Address: Rua de Alexandre Herculano 296, Porto 4000-053, Portugal (Formerly easyHotel Porto)
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — iStay Hotel Porto Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the historical centre of Porto, iStay Hotel Porto Centro offers contemporary accommodation within 400 meters of the iconic Dom Luis Bridge. An entirely non-smoking property, the hotel offers 24-hour reception services. The air-conditioned rooms at iStay Hotel Porto Centro feature views of the UNESCO-listed city centre. Equipped with private bathrooms and flat-screen satellite TVs, rooms are spacious and functional. Popular nearby landmarks include the Palacio da Bolsa and The Sao Bento Railway Station, 300 metres away. The hotel is also a 10-minute walk to Guindais Funicular with links to Ribeira riverside quarter and Port Wine cellars. Guests can benefit from the central location and discover many traditional restaurants serving Portuguese food and famous port wines. Vending machines for drinks and snacks are situated in-house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your iStay Hotel Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing