We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A Casa Formosa
Nearby Hotels
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$338
$315
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$340
$267
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$935
$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$212
$200
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$160
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$112
$87
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$244
$215
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$79
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
51
14
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
14
2
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 67 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

although a casa formosa is in the midst of a busy and bustling part of town, the apartment is calm, cool and soothing. we only stayed a couple of nights, but would be back in a second and would wholeheartedly recommend this place.

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank polishchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

special place
special people
thank you for my amazing New Year stay
so cozy and charming
feeling at home best location and neighborhood

room is exactly as pictured
full of light, very large and comfortable
the bed exceptionally comfortable - very nice to sleep in
the house which was nicely decorated in retro style, is kept very clean every day

hearts and hugs go to Joao and Sara

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a real mess finding this place as there are 3 Casa Formosa's listed on Google. It was a non residing owner and the place had a very unlived in feeling. There were no pictures on the walls and altho the beds were comfortable it seemed rather odd to be staying there without a host. Real coffee would be a good thing to have on hand, not instant. We did like the owner tho, he did his best to make our stay pleasant. A huge downside tho is that it cost us 24 Euros to park for a day and a half as there was no parking on the street.

Room Tip: The single bed is fabulous.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank champion51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACasaFormosa, Owner at A Casa Formosa, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Rita,
sorry for the fact that you didnt have the proper address and waist so much time to find the house.
Although i dont live in the house, i try to make guests stay the more confortable and pleasant possible. Unfortunately, i was not in the city on your stay, and i regret it, because your stay it was not the best.
If you ever come back again, i will make sure you have an unforgettable stay.
Thank you once again.
João

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Nice place, very easy to reach from the airport with the direction sent from Joao.
We spent only one night; our room was very cleand, confortable and spacious. There are two bathrooms shared with other rooms but that was ok and both of them were cleaned. Breakfast is self made so you just select what you want from the kitchen. That is probabily the only uncomfortable aspect especially if all people arrive at the same time.
From Casa Formosa you can easly reach the rest of the city with a nice and easy walk. There are also typical and not touristic restaurants nearby. Just ask the owner from some suggestions.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CleoBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had a lovely time (3 nights 4 days) in Porto thanks to very helpful hosts: Joao and Andrea, who gave us plenty of tips on local restaurants to ice cream shops.
I initially booked Formosa 2 but Joao nicely suggested to put us in a double room in a beautifully restored top floor flat with a sunny balcony in the building just opposite Casa Formosa, as it was a special birthday weekend, we would have the top level just for ourself and only share the bathroom and kitchen with Andrea. The flat is well located in the old town, walking distance to every sites, the Douro and going out areas. Simple straight forward continental breakfast with instant coffee, weak wifi signal week but we had a comfortable stay and could check out our room quite late (6PM). I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank voyages081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews