We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I´ve ever been”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dixo's Oporto Hostel
Ranked #62 of 267 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I passed there the festivities of Saint John with my friends and it was an amazing experience: the owners treated us like kings.
As clean as your mother´s house, super cute and amazing international environment.

Highly recommended.

Thanks for this amazing experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millet84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 174 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Brand-new hostel in an ancient building.
Great position between the cathedral and the Douro river.
Warm and welcoming staff, good breakfast.
There is no elevator, but don't miss the view from the terrace: it's AMAZING!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maronno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Extremely friendly staff, beautiful old building right in the heart of porto. Rooms were really clean and so were the shared bathrooms. The best part is the sense of community the staff promotes with the BBQ's, roof terrace and their willingness to go the extra mile to show us where all the local specialties can be found, Great hostel to meet other travellers and have some fun. Rooms were quiet at night. We loved it and will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Like most commenting on this Hostel I had a brilliant experience. Stayed at Dixo's for three nights and it was super cruisy. Rocked up and waited a bit in the reception area which is rather sweet living room style, couch, books, magazines, guitar, TV, music section and endless travel info.
Joana on reception was brilliant, showed me to my room and explained the locking situation which was dead easy.

Massive room, three bunks in the girls only dorm, one bunk was slightly separated with a partition wall to create more privacy and good use of space. You can tip your whole bag into the locker and have a ton of space to work with, a nice sitting chair was placed in my area of the room and a useful bedside table. The other ladies had a beaut of a vanity which everyone was able to use and a fab view of the roof tops across the Ribeira.

Breakfast is serviced daily - your standard few different cereals, bread roll with spreads and tea and coffee. Free tea and coffee all day which is handy and a brilliantly laid out kitchen, you totally feel at home throughout the whole hostel but mainly in the kitchen/dining as its modern, uncluttered and still has everything you need to have a good feed. The fridge is super clean and good to store a few days worth of food if you hit up the supermarket which is a few minutes walk away. Also the terrace view from just outside the dinning room is STUNNING, an attraction in itself - 5 star dinning from your humble hostel dinner plate.

The location is ideal as you have a wee taste of it all, there are a few rather cheap places to eat, then the super touristy area of the picturesque Rio Douro. Nice walk across the bridge to the winery areas and an easy walk to the Baixa which consists of a huge amount of main attractions and only a few minutes from the train station for lovely day trips.

The staff are faultless, they will help you with anything - no fuss. Also a highlight is the walking tours which some of the staff at Dixo's are apart of, the Pancho Tours (http://www.panchotours.com) gather hostels around the city and section off to tour the city. This is a great way to meet new people and the tours a fab, heaps of information and you can tell they love the city and want you too as well, taking you off the beaten track and ask for your interests to keep you involved.

Basically your an idiot if you don't stay here, feeling mellow or up for a good time it has it all.
No negatives - I could move in tomorrow.

Check it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atsophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The views of the old town and river are a memorable way to start the day from the roof terrace. Checking-in in the early hours of the morning, I was given a warm but efficient welcome. The staff were consistently friendly and helpful (gave me a really good recommendation for roast chicken dinner). Is in a great location near the river, surrounded by bars and restaurants but only a short walk to the metro and mainline station at Sao Bento. Is a great place to stay and take in this beautiful city. Only gripe was the bathrooms were not on the same floor, otherwise excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moshelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

It is really one of the best hostels I ever stayed. The rooms are very good and clean, staff is incredibly helpful and friendly, location of the hostel is very good as well, close to the restaurants and tourist attractions, breakfast was good (the bread is incredibly good!) The only minus (very tiny one though) was kind of too fresh water in the shower. I'm used to very hot water and here it felt bit too fresh, but even that didnt ruin the overall opinion of the hostel. Conclusion - if in Porto, definitely Dixo's!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronika507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I've traveled a lot throughout my life. I always stay in hostels, so I've seen quite a few, but none like Dixo's hostel. Honestly, I have never felt more welcomed and taken care of in a hostel in my life. Joanna and her brother are absolutely the nicest people you will ever meet. On my first night they cooked me dinner, and Joanna took me to some of her favorite spots. I was travelling alone, so she introduced me to some of her friends. What I love about this hostel is that although it's a professional business, you just feel like your at home with a family.
And just as a plus, it has one of the most beautiful views in all of Porto.
Absolutely amazing. It'd be a mistake not to stay here!
Thanks so much for a great time, Joanna!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.6 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#27 of 111 in Porto
1,983 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Pestana Vintage Porto
#10 of 111 in Porto
2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#38 of 111 in Porto
831 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel do Norte
Hotel do Norte
#67 of 111 in Porto
394 reviews
1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 111 in Porto
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dixo's Oporto Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dixo's Oporto Hostel

Address: Rua de Mouzinho da Silveira 72, Porto 4050-415, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 267 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Number of rooms: 36

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing