We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel experience of my life!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dixo's Oporto Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dixo's Oporto Hostel
Ranked #34 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Davis, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best hostel experience of my life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I've traveled a lot throughout my life. I always stay in hostels, so I've seen quite a few, but none like Dixo's hostel. Honestly, I have never felt more welcomed and taken care of in a hostel in my life. Joanna and her brother are absolutely the nicest people you will ever meet. On my first night they cooked me dinner, and Joanna took me to some of her favorite spots. I was travelling alone, so she introduced me to some of her friends. What I love about this hostel is that although it's a professional business, you just feel like your at home with a family.
And just as a plus, it has one of the most beautiful views in all of Porto.
Absolutely amazing. It'd be a mistake not to stay here!
Thanks so much for a great time, Joanna!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    18
    12
    7
    0
See reviews for
4
29
51
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I had the chance to stay at Dixo's from the 1st to the 3rd of May, 2013. The purpose of trip was to show my country to a group of foreigners from my MBA program. Our stay at Dixo's was simply amazing. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, as well as, the WC facilities. There's privacy in the hostel and the roof top terrace adjacent to the kitchen provides an unbelievable scenery of Porto. We were a group of 12 people, and the staff (Joana & Pedro) made sure we made the most out of our trip to Porto. They have recommend and organized some excursions, they were always willing to help, in the end they've made us feel part of the Dixo's family. Centrally located, it's within walking distance from the main attractions in the city. A great place to stay... an amazing experience...Great Value for Money!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank renato_g_marques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I used to live in Europe and have travelled to nearly every country staying in hostels, this one is the best! You have proper beds, great location and amazing staff! Such a 'homely feel' with Pedro and Joana really looking after you with tours, pub crawls and even great hostel family dinners.
One day my mate was sick and asked where he could get to a doctor, instead of giving directions, Pedro and Joana's father picked him up and took him to their family doctor where he skipped waiting around for an appointment and was treated. Not only are the facilities great, more importantly the people are too!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grayden_Bartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I've stayed in Dixo's after staying 3 other hostels in 1 month and it's clearly the best. It is well located in the downtown. Staff is awesome and friendly. Place is perfect, cozy and well-decorated. I will go back in one day. Highly-recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcabrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

best hostel to stay. ever!
first time i went there i came alone and didn't know anything about porto. my plan was to stay two nights and then travel around portugal... i stayed my whole trip at dixo's.


you can have some calm days all alone, but if you want to meet people, just go up to the roof terrace: enjoy the fantastic view and share a glass of portwine (you'll always find someone who bought some at the portwine-tastings - i promise ;)).
there's a lot of nice restaurants aroud to enjoy fresh and delicious sushi or fish and if you like to go out there are fantastic bars and clubs in porto... it's all in walking distance.

the beautiful riverside-promenade right next to "dom luis I"-bridge is just around the corner and if you want to see the sea, just walk one minute and you'll find public transportation to praia da luz for example, very chilling!
of course rooms, breakfast, facilities, cleanliness, safety and all that "basics" are perfectly fine.


in everything you see at the hostel, you'll find the owner's handwriting... it's THEIR thing. and they really seem to love it. they really make you feel at home. wherever you're from.


just go there and enjoy it!
and when you're there, say hello to porto and the two dixos ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ullat418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

It's been a wonderful experience to stay at the Dixo's Oporto Hostel. Absolutely every aspect of the stay was perfect. Everything is clean and the staff members are awesome. I was there with friends and we had an amazing time. We also met great friends Pedro and Joana whom work there and are very nice and king people :)!

What are you waiting for? Stay at Dixo's!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ayasenza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Dixo's Hostel is the place to stay if your traveling to Porto we had an awesome time there the rooms and facilities are really good, the staff are super friendly and helpful ! Location a really good I Didn't wanna leave ! ! and i will definalty go back ther one day :) Thanks for a great trip

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Being Porto Hostel
Being Porto Hostel
#22 of 205 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
InPatio Guest House
InPatio Guest House
#2 of 148 in Porto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Douro Apartments - RiverTop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casas do Porto - Ribeira Apartments
0.1 mi away
Sao Domingos Apartments
Sao Domingos Apartments
#116 of 205 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Ribeira Guest House
My Ribeira Guest House
#47 of 205 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dixo's Oporto Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dixo's Oporto Hostel

Property: Dixo's Oporto Hostel
Address: Rua de Mouzinho da Silveira 72, Porto 4050-415, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dixo's Oporto Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing