We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basically the best hostel on the world!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dixo's Oporto Hostel
Ranked #49 of 232 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basically the best hostel on the world!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

It's been a wonderful experience to stay at the Dixo's Oporto Hostel. Absolutely every aspect of the stay was perfect. Everything is clean and the staff members are awesome. I was there with friends and we had an amazing time. We also met great friends Pedro and Joana whom work there and are very nice and king people :)!

What are you waiting for? Stay at Dixo's!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ayasenza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    18
    12
    7
    0
See reviews for
4
29
51
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Dixo's Hostel is the place to stay if your traveling to Porto we had an awesome time there the rooms and facilities are really good, the staff are super friendly and helpful ! Location a really good I Didn't wanna leave ! ! and i will definalty go back ther one day :) Thanks for a great trip

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Wow, I usually can't be bothered writing up about hostels, but Dixo's is the complete package: tidy, centrally located, affordable, breathtaking views, well designed so it never feels crowded, good showering facilities, excellent security, easy-going and super-helpful staff.

It's like living in an apartment with long, lost friends. POrto is an AMAZING city too. I've stayed there on two separate occasions and I plan to be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiremuAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I can promise that you will not be disappointed. Dixo's was truly the highlight of our three month Europe backpacking trip! It is a bit hard to explain, but everyone who works at this hostel is amazing!! We will have friends and memories that will last a lifetime.

And about the hostel itself: VERY clean, beautiful, fun, helpful and relaxing. Joana and Pedro, we love and miss you!!!

-- Your California Friends

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ty N Bailey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My partner and I had a wonderful time at this hostel : very very clean, breakfast is plentiful, nice view from the top, pretty lovely room (we stayed in a double).. The owner and her staff is very helpful and a lot of fun to have a chat with. They will help you plan your trip around Porto and Portugal. They even managed to get a girl to give us a portuguese lesson ! Also, last but not least the location is perfect : super central, very close to the Douro. Wonderful !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grigouillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Really good experience in this hotel. Everything is quite good, from the rooms, to the kitchen, including the bathrooms, the service. Most important thing to me, its very very clean. I really recomend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoseRMRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

View from top floor, where the kitchen is, is marvellous. They have also small terrace where you chill out. People at reception were super. Got a map and before i started to ask direction she draw main sights and places to map.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forzaHJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
InPatio Guest House
InPatio Guest House
#2 of 159 in Porto
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
World Music Hostel
World Music Hostel
#163 of 232 in Porto
32 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yes! Hostel Porto
Yes! Hostel Porto
#4 of 232 in Porto
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Being Porto Hostel
Being Porto Hostel
#27 of 232 in Porto
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Descobertas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dixo's Oporto Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dixo's Oporto Hostel

Property: Dixo's Oporto Hostel
Address: Rua de Mouzinho da Silveira 72, Porto 4050-415, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 232 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dixo's Oporto Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing