We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and entertainment”
Review of Tribeca Jazz Club & Restaurante - CLOSED

Tribeca Jazz Club & Restaurante
Price range: $22 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great food and entertainment”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

If we lived in Porto this restaurant would become a regular haunt. The service, food and wine were fantastic with the added bonus of live entertainment in the club upstairs from 10:30

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank practicepacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    48
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice club, great live music!”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The atmosphere and the music! Friendly staff and good drinks. Mojito is a tip!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hautes Pyrenees
Level Contributor
203 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Memorable”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

My wife and I chose to spend New Years Eve at the club. Never having visited Porto before we wanted a venue within walking distance of our hotel and the midnight fireworks in the town centre.
We were not disappointed. Full credit to Paulo and his team. Before the evening Paulo called a couple of times to check on arrangements. On the evening all the staff must be complimented. The fixed menu and accompanying drinks were excellent and the atmosphere with live band and small dance floor most convivial.
New Year's Eve venues can be disappointing and overpriced. We left having throughly enjoyed ourselves and with a feeling of real value for money.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stillworkingat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Absolutely horrible”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

I really do not understand these 5 star reviews. Unless the chef recently quit fled this place.
Ate here with my girlfriend. We entered, interior of the place is quite nice actually. We got the menu, quite limited choice but some interesting looking options - for Porto rather expensive but not over the top.

I had a starter of goat cheese with pear. Which in the end was a horrible plastic-tasting cheese which came straight out of a pack as you could still see the ribs caused by the packaging with a few pieces of pear on it. Absolutely disgusting. My girlfriend had a Portuguese sausage with sprouts which was okay but nothing special.

Then we both ordered fish. Cod fish and I already forgot the other type of fish as I tried to erase this food-disaster from my memory. The fish was awfully tasteless and dry. It was served with spinach which tasted like rubber. The only thing which could be classified as eatable food were a few potatoes.

The waiter in the meantime tried (of course) to recommend us the most expensive wine. Thankfully we didn't fall for that.

We were planning visiting the jazz concert later, but after this horrible experience decided to both skip desert and the concert. We asked the bill and left money on the table. A few minutes later we left - but were stopped at the door. They wanted to check if we paid (enough?) - her words were literally - "wait here, don't leave yet". Just as you think the experience couldn't get any worse.

I am not commenting on the jazz club experience but would urge you - do not eat here. It's horrible and overpriced.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank diederik82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Loved Tribeca. We weren't able to stay for the jazz show, but the meal was a perfect end to a 2 week visit to Portugal. Staff were so friendly and courteous and the food was terrific.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Prairieguy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tribeca Jazz Club & Restaurante also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing