We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portuguese snack house”
Review of Casa Guedes

Casa Guedes
Ranked #39 of 1,661 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: An excelent to eat in between locals and as a local in Porto. It has one of the most amazing sandwiches in town. All in all an excelent place to discover portuguese typical products, ham, chorizo, portuguese cheese, wine, etc.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
316 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Portuguese snack house”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

One of Porto's most iconic restaurants, great for portuguese traditional snacks, such as papas de sarrabulho (pork blood soup), and ham sandwiches. But the signature snack is a pork leg sandwich with Serra da Estrela Cheese - definily reccomend to try it out.

One the downside, there's always a large queue that reaches outside, and the space is cramped up. But the wait is payed off once you get your hands on that sandwich.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank espm252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    797
    428
    104
    30
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great, succulent roast pork sandwich”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Simple café in Bolhao district. The striking feature is a couple of huge roast pork joints sitting warm in their juices on the counter, from which a generous portion is cut and placed into wonderful Portuguese bread with juices and optional local soft cheese. Magnificent, tasty and filling, washed down with a couple of glasses of good house wine all for about 4€

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geoff d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

They have a good pork sandwich, not delicious in my opinion, but good. And it's very cheap, no doubt about that. The service though is rather weak. I told the waiter not to put prok skin in my sandwich, and it was as if I had not said a thing!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nuno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

In middle of city a simple and nice place, where there are very good sandwich!
A wonderful price for an amazing food quality!
Very polite people turns this place much better!
Turn again for sure!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EuniceNery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanremo, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“the most succulent porc-sandwich you could dream about”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

a simple place where it is all about food …. once you try the porc sandwich it is difficult not to go back every day … our favorite is the porc-sandwich with soft mountain cheese …. the porc is exaptional good and a great value for your money … as we were living close by we would not go when we see people lining up …so we always managed to have a little corner table or a place at the bar … service is friendly and fast even when they get very busy you should try and we will be soon back … a must when you are in town

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Guedes also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Casa Guedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing