We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away! AMAZING LOCATION! GREAT ROOM! GREAT SERVICE!”
Review of Almada Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Almada Guesthouse
Ranked #44 of 163 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Altdorf bei Nurnberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home away! AMAZING LOCATION! GREAT ROOM! GREAT SERVICE!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Amazing guesthouse on a great location! staff is friendly and willing to help you.

you feel like at home, ´you can grab drinks from the kitchen when necessary for free, and store your shopping as well.

there is a really nice iving room and balcony upstairs where you can bring your own bottle of wine and enjoy the view to the old town of Porto or simply watch tv!

i will reccomended to anyone that likes design and to travel not looking for unnecesary luxury but to be on the perfect spot with good and simple design!

Room Tip: If you dont want noice, choose the rooms looking to the backard, we stay in room 2.2, very big, smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuSaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    48
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
81
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Debrecen
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Amarvellous surprise to find this wonderfully restored, spacious and whizzy establishment in the middle of a rather down-at-heel street. The surroundings don't matter as it's atmospheric and near to bars, restaurants and convenient for the station. Our room was enormous with balcony looking over a small courtyard with seating, a terrapin and unusual views. The breakfast room was huge , well equipped and we had a most comfortable time in very modern conversion.

Room Tip: Rooms at back (2.2 etc) are quiet though more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bogdanDebrecen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adana, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Really Good location...hospitality staff...Thanx for everything...closed to everywhere...we stayed blue room it is a big room for us and the rooms are very clean...you can cook your own meal. Free wi-fi...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

In hotel there are only 8 rooms. All very spacious. The general drawing room and terrace on the top floor. On the first floor are courtyard, kitchen, good breakfasts. There is a computer with Internet connection.
The city central square is nearby, and to Douru River embankment to go not for long, 15-20 minutes.
The staff is friendly, you feel that to you we are really glad.
It would be desirable more cosiness in the rooms, curtains, covers and rugs wouldn't prevent me. But it is strict my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sola248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here (5 friends) in October. Beautiful old house, comfy seating area upstairs where you can relax with a bottle of wine, good breakfast with help yourself arrangement. B and B is close to centre, a 5 minute walk to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in Almada guesthouse at the end of October. We stayed in an en suite room, ( no 3.3).
The guesthouse was easy to find from the metro, and as it says a 5 minute walk. We were greeted by Ricardo who showed us to our room, and then gave us some excellent recommendations of where to visit, eat and get around Porto, along with a helpful map.
Our room, and in deed the house certainly has the ' wow' factor! Our room was at the back of the house with a small balcony, a large double bed, which was very comfortable. The room was very large, and had a wonderful walk in shower along with a separate toilet in the corner of the room. Big, white fluffy towels and a hair dryer supplied.
Breakfast was served in a communial kitchen / dinning room on the 1st floor. You also could store food in the fridge if you wanted to add to your breakfast or indeed cook in the kitchen if you wanted to.
There is a lovely lounge area and terrace on the 4th floor, with great views over the city. A great place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine before going out in the evening!
We met Antonio on our 2nd morning, who again gave us some helpful tips for our stay in Porto. We were also very fortunate to be shown around the house,which is a lovely,beautifully restored house.
Staying at Almada was a real treat, I cannot recommend it highly enough and am sorry we were not able to spend more time there. I would certainly stay there again, and would encourage anyone considering visiting Porto to stay at Almada.

Room Tip: Room 3.3 is large and spacious and very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank syates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Room 2.1 in October, 2012. It was an average stay, neither amazing nor horrible.

Pros:
-Friendly owners/employees
-Great recommendations
-Central location
-Decor house
-Free wifi

Cons:
-We waited about an hour to be greeted by someone at the guest house. Luckily, one of the guests let us in (no front desk) and we waited in the lobby to be checked in. Otherwise, we would have been stuck waiting outside in the rain.
-Loud. We made the mistake of opting for a big room with a balcony which faced onto the street. Unfortunately, it was too loud at night, especially on what seemed to be karaoke night nearby. Rooms do not seem to be much of a sound barrier.
-Decor of the room and bathroom was beautiful but perhaps not the best use of the space.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Exe Almada Porto
Exe Almada Porto
#49 of 108 in Porto
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Almada
Almada
#84 of 238 in Porto
29 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dukes Corner Guest House
Dukes Corner Guest House
#26 of 163 in Porto
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Boavista Guest House
Boavista Guest House
#35 of 163 in Porto
196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa dos Guindais
Casa dos Guindais
#12 of 163 in Porto
279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almada Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almada Guesthouse

Property: Almada Guesthouse
Address: Rua do Almada 353, Porto 4050-038, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Almada Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing