We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another TA top tip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ode Porto Wine House

Ode Porto Wine House
Ranked #16 of 1,611 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $59 - $86
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Portuguese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to a quite, rustic 19th century house, just in front of river Douro, where Portuguese wine and food are the perfect excuse to forget the world and to enjoy the moment. An open kitchen where we love what we do to whom we do. A wide variety of Portuguese wines (15 by the glass) from which you can choose. Far from confusion, protected yet exposed, we look to pay an Ode to those who visit us - our guests. Relax. Fell at home.
Sydney
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Another TA top tip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

TA comes up trumps again here.

Modern, innovative fresh produce in a funky setting back rom the river.

You need to book as it gets very busy and is only a small resturant.

Entree was a selection of olives/bread and cured pork with olive oil - simple but very good.

The grilled octopus was tender and tasy. Recommended. The pork was good, but did not rise to the lofty levels of the octopus.

Cash only! Great value for the food quality and service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dropkick59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,170
    233
    68
    35
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

near the river and off the beaten track - small bistro style restaurant - very welcoming and clearly passionate about their own and local produce. Service was excellent with good advice about the food and wine. Nice atmosphere and we were not rushed to finish our meal - food very good and reasonably priced. Would highly recommend.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CandJDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a lovely place to eat with a very cosy and welcoming atmosphere. The food was fantastic and the staff were very attentive. One small point - when we visited (29/03/14) they warned us that they were not taking credit/debit cards, which meant nipping back to a cashpoint prior to the meal - maybe we just looked dodgy?

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“A must in Porto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I have been to many fine restaurants in Europe but I was quite impressed with the quality of the food and the ambiance at Ode Porto Wine House. The owner is a young gentleman that took great care of us with his great recommendations and honesty. It was a wonderful experience and I would recommend it to anyone visiting Porto - A perfect experience!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ntouchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“This place has great potential”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had heard great things about this restaurant, but we were a little disappointed. The food was only ok, and compared to other restaurants we ate in, it was expensive. The concept is great, it's wonderful that the produce is sourced as local as possible, that everything is made from scratch, for you. It just didn't hit the spot for us.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank kittyolux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ode Porto Wine House also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Ode Porto Wine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing