We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic welcome”

Ode Porto Wine House
Ranked #15 of 1,633 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $87
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Portuguese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to a quite, rustic 19th century house, just in front of river Douro, where Portuguese wine and food are the perfect excuse to forget the world and to enjoy the moment. An open kitchen where we love what we do to whom we do. A wide variety of Portuguese wines (15 by the glass) from which you can choose. Far from confusion, protected yet exposed, we look to pay an Ode to those who visit us - our guests. Relax. Fell at home.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We arrived a little early at the restaurant but we knocked on the door and were welcomed in. We had a superb banter with the owner for a few minutes. We were taken upstairs to a lovely restaurant. Next we were asked what we would like to drink and after several tastings of beer and wine we chose our drinks. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff make you feel special and welcome. The appetiser was very nice and a good taster of the region. The owner explained where all the food came from. We were asked if we had any likes or dislikes foodwise. I asked if they had a Portugese style creme brulee on the dessert menu. The owner said, "no, as his mother is the best maker and he couldn't match it". However, at the end of the evening Chris brought a creme brulee to the table made especially for me. It was honestly the best ever, a surprise and no charge! I was introduced to the chef who made the dessert for me. Ofcourse I thanked him. Next visit I will book the slate table and stay downstairs to savour the atmosphere. A great evening, excellent value and I will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,185
    237
    68
    35
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bargemon, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“"Very very Exceptional!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

The overal experience is more than super and almost undescribable!
As hospitality profesionals we have travelled to all corners of the world and we have experienced many many places. We know Portugal very well and especially Porto. But the ODE restaurant in Ribeira of Porto is one of those places which I like to put on my favorite list from one of the best in the world places! In ODE you feel like coming home....

The service is very personal, besides any menucard they want to know what YOU like and adapt to that. Do not even think of anything rushed as if you know it is "slow food" of an great quality and everthing is fresh and personaly prepared for you. There is no Micro wave, no rapid gimmicks what so ever and you can taste that.
Al veggies come from a private familly farm up the Douro river.

Than there is an unbelievable wine list of the best of what small producers have to offer in the region. We live in The south of France and we own an exceptional charming B&B, "Mas la Jaina" a small "health farm" where Ecologic, Organic, Slow Food and Humanitary issues keep us bussy.
So we love to visit the ODE as soon as we can again!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank hombergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best meal of the holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

The restaurant is fantastic. The decor is great, the host/owner is fantastic and the choices of food and wine are exceptional. I suggest booking a table and just letting Cristovao guide you through each course with wines of his choosing. You cannot go wrong. We had a pre-dinner cocktail in the reception with a first course before moving upstairs to the main restaurant and a table by the window overlooking the square. There is a really beautiful private room downstairs for larger groups.

Food was exceptional, wine equally so. Pricing; not comparable with other restaurants in Porto, but not crazy and well worth every penny. Next time I'm in Porto, I'll be back to this place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank klinsmannj18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic restaurant, with great service and wonderful food. The owner is clearly very proud of their work and his quite rightly so. The food is carefully selected, the menu refined and this is not just a place to eat, but a wonderful experience and a food journey.

Helpful?
Thank Garth59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
322 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Unusual Dining Experience…but in a good way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

You definitely need time to enjoy this meal as it is one that cannot be rushed. It is rather intimate in cosy settings, so there is no hustle & bustle. Very relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere. Food was beautifully presented and very tasty. I'm not a fan of the tradition of placing dishes at the table before you decide (not just this restaurant but in Porto generally), however I must admit that on this occasion, we actually chose two of them so clearly it works! If you in Porto I do recommend trying this out as it is an unusual but enjoyable night!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravelVentures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ode Porto Wine House also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Ode Porto Wine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing