We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local produce, delicious flavours and cooked with skill and knowledge”

Ode Porto Wine House
Ranked #17 of 1,681 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $64 - $93
Cuisines: Portuguese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Welcome to a quite, rustic 19th century house, just in front of river Douro, where Portuguese wine and food are the perfect excuse to forget the world and to enjoy the moment. An open kitchen where we love what we do to whom we do. A wide variety of Portuguese wines (15 by the glass) from which you can choose. Far from confusion, protected yet exposed, we look to pay an Ode to those who visit us - our guests. Relax. Fell at home.
Sydney, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great local produce, delicious flavours and cooked with skill and knowledge”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We ate here on our last night in porto after reading the previous reviews we were delighted that this restaurant lived up to our expectations. We had the appetisers which were recommended including local smoked pork, sheep cheese, olives and bread. We also enjoyed the pork sausage with mango and the salad for starters both dishes were delicious and full of flavour. For the mains we had the octopus which was tender and paired with a chutney and vegetables, the second main was the steak with port reduction which was cooked to perfection and paired well with the sauce. We also enjoyed a cocktail of the house (white port) and a bottle of red wine, this cost around 110 euro. Overall the food had great paired flavours and was cooked with love. Not the most outstanding meal we have eaten in our travels but definitely great food and excellent atmosphere would recommend visiting if you enjoy great food and are in porto.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,228
    251
    71
    37
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Dining Experience”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

ODE is more than just a night out for dinner; it is a special dining experience. You enter through the rustic door, and your special evening begins the moment you are greeted enthusiastically by the owner. The starters are just amazing, and the owner explains the origin of each item that is offered. Wine list offers excellent choices, and dinner dishes and desserts were perfectly prepared and tasted delicious. Delicious food accompanied with a beautiful intimate setting and the treatment you receive from the owner and the staff makes this restaurant a very special place. Don't leave Porto without visiting ODE.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank M12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We ran through the rain to find this restaurant and it was well worth the effort. A tiny little restaurant with a huge footprint. The food - amazing. The staff could not do enough to make it a memorable night. In all our travels it is a standout.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Morris1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Porto dining experience”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Tired from international travel and hot from historic temperature highs, Ode was exactly what we needed to welcome us to the ambience and flavor of Portugal. The owner exhibits amazing passion for his culinary craft and is eager to educate you. He makes you feel like a guest in his home, not a foreigner in a foreign restaurant. The appetizer, starter course, and entrees all exceeded my expectations. We had excellent wine recommendations to compliment our dinner selections. The dessert was my favorite part of the meal and the owner was able to guess my selection without me saying it. Don't go to Ode without trying the chocolate volcano. You will be mesmerized. Come to Ode for a unique experience and leave knowing more about the finer things Portugal has to offer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kmindigo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It lived up to our expectations!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure to dine in this lovely restaurant on our recent trip to Portugal.
We had made a reservation for June 20th, prior to leaving Canada.
I received a phone call from Cristovao the owner, at 3:30 pm that afternoon explaining they were experiencing an electrical issue at the restaurant and could not open for dinner that evening.
This was a huge disappointment because of all the rave reviews ODE had received on TA.
Cristovao could not have been more apologetic, knowing that we were coming here almost directly from the the airport. He asked if we could re-book for the next night, which we did.
The whole evening was quite an experience. We started at the communal table where we met his lone server (who is a dead ringer for Mila Kunis). She started our evening off by pointing to a map, showing which regions of Portugal the food and wine we were going to consume came from.
After a pleasant 45 minutes or so of conversation with the 2 other groups at the table, not to mention some amazing apps, we were led upstairs to a quaint little room containing only 5 or 6 tables.
Dinner and dessert exceeded our expectations, along with great comradery with Cristovao and his staff. Also, the comments on the Chocolate Volcano are spot on. It has to be one of best desserts we have ever had.
I will wrap up this review with one sentence...

"When in Porto, a visit to Ode Port Wine House should be on every foodies can't miss list"

(Note: for those of you trying to see the exterior of the building on Google Maps, it still shows it proir to the extensive renovations that were done...it is the building with the brown doors, in front of the white van)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ode Porto Wine House also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Ode Porto Wine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing