We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”

Ode Porto Wine House
Ranked #13 of 1,655 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $62 - $90
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Portuguese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to a quite, rustic 19th century house, just in front of river Douro, where Portuguese wine and food are the perfect excuse to forget the world and to enjoy the moment. An open kitchen where we love what we do to whom we do. A wide variety of Portuguese wines (15 by the glass) from which you can choose. Far from confusion, protected yet exposed, we look to pay an Ode to those who visit us - our guests. Relax. Fell at home.
Киев, Украина
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I loved sophisticate food& wine. Chocolate cake is something to die for:-) It is expensive but worth every penny spent.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank OlgaZhuravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,206
    239
    68
    35
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top Quality Food”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This restaurant ticks all the right boxes. Came here with my husband and young children. The staff were so welcoming and helpful in ordering the dishes we need and understanding about the dietary restrictions we have. The food was delicious and so fesh and the wine my husband and I had was to die for. Excellent all round.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful place for foodies!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

An evening at ODE Wine House is more than a restaurant meal. It is like being invited to interesting and knowledgeable people, and have the privilege to benefit from their cornucopia of tastefull dishes and stories about food. . Ecologiacal and carefully chosen produce, nothing is pre-fabricated.
As you arrive you are told to have high expectations about everything, except service time.
This is slow food heaven, not a fast food place.
Interior is wonderful. If you are a foodie, you'll love it. If you are the MacDonald's kind, go somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LWJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“an Ode to Ode”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

You have to ring the front doorbell but walking in you instantly understand. Right behind is a table D'Ami. A long high table ideally for a glass of wine and snacks, a view at the kitchen, meeting fellow food lovers and most of all ideally to get aquatinted with the owner. A real gentleman, very knowledgeable on wine and food but most of all in giving you this unique feeling of being welcome and willing to pamper you. It became a remarkable evening.

I am a foreigner but visiting Porto on a monthly basis and I carry a long list of restaurants and bars. Since last week Ode is on top. The food is excellent, wine list very good. But the feeling of eating at a "friends house", being "at home" is rare these days in the "hospitality sector".

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ronaldvb2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“exceptionally remarkable dining experience”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The atmosphere is utterly charming in the ODE Wine House: simple yet cozy interiors, pleasant music accompaniment, and a predominating sense of the Portugese authenticity. Conversations with the staff and the owner himself, Christovao, were enjoyable - he paid extreme attention to our requests and taste preferences, and overall proved his passion to making the dining experience very special for each and every guest. However, depending on a particular occasion for some visitors his enthusiasm might seem a bit unnecessary.

The food and all the ingredients were superb: fresh and full of flavour, wonderfully cooked with a touch of originality. The octopus was sensationally delicious and tender - one of the best seafood courses i've ever tried. Moreover, both the food and drinks are reasonably priced. Outstanding restaurant, and it certainly deserves a visit if you ever in Porto!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hidden_shine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ode Porto Wine House also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Ode Porto Wine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing