We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great concept and experience. Good for a splurge.”

Ode Porto Wine House
Ranked #19 of 1,709 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $65 - $94
Cuisines: Portuguese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Welcome to a quite, rustic 19th century house, just in front of river Douro, where Portuguese wine and food are the perfect excuse to forget the world and to enjoy the moment. An open kitchen where we love what we do to whom we do. A wide variety of Portuguese wines (15 by the glass) from which you can choose. Far from confusion, protected yet exposed, we look to pay an Ode to those who visit us - our guests. Relax. Fell at home.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great concept and experience. Good for a splurge.”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was our one splurge outing in Portugal. Most restaurants in Portugal are pretty affordable, so at over 100 euro for two people this was expensive. However, we did have a huge couvert plate, an appetizer, a bottle of wine, two entrees, dessert, and two glasses of port, and were in the restaurant for 4 hours, so when you consider all that, the price wasn't too surprising. My favorite parts were: the communal table downstairs, the charming owner, and the care that went into everything. The communal table was a blast. We were speaking 4 languages amongst 6 people! We really enjoyed talking with a lovely couple from Coimbra, Portugal and learned so much about Portugal during our time with them. Another favorite was the map of Portugal that the owner pulls out to show you where all the items on the couvert plate came from. You could taste the freshness in the delicious cheese, bread, meat, and butter (oh the butter!!). Our wine was fabulous- we lived in Oregon for a bit, so we love a good Pinot and it was so great to taste a Portuguese Pinot. The owner was so caring and kind. You could tell he thought of his restaurant as a home, and 4 hours flew by in a flash. Definitely a foodie heaven, come here if you care about where your food comes from.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,241
    253
    72
    37
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A true dining experience”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I really loved dining at ODE. When we first arrived, we were greeted like old friends. From the moment you arrive, you have a whole evening ahead of you. The owner explains how your evening has been arranged and and encourages you take your time and enjoy your experience. I've never had a better reception at a restaurant.

The food, in a word, was exquisite. No matter what you choose, it won't be quite like anything you've had before. (At least, that is how it was for me...) The ambiance of the dining room is very enveloping. It is very comfortable and the soft lighting allows one to settle in for a very liegerly meal. Their service is excellent. We were attended to very well but not overly so and during the course of our meal, the owner came to inquire as to how were doing. He is very attentive to all his guests and if I could give ODE 10 stars instead of 5, I would be happy to do so.

For anyone visiting Porto, putting ODE on your itinerary is an absolute must! I hope to visit again very soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Kick back, relax, enjoy”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

As soon as you walk into ODE, you'll know that you're in for a treat. First, the proprietor greets you and let's you know that this could take a while, but it'll be worth it. Trust him, he's right. The ingredients were top notch. The food and cooking were authentic Portuguese, and second to none. The atmosphere was warm and inviting. So, when you feel the need for a slow food, all natural, authentic dining experience; kick back, relax and head on over to ODE.

Helpful?
2 Thank MarKris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“All of spectacular Portugal on your plate”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I happened across Ode through Tripadvisor, and found it to be just steps from our apartment, lucky us!

Make a reservation as Ode is a busy place, no wonder, as it is excellent. We made reservations one day before we dined.

The menu is small compared to many restaurants I've eaten in but every single item is sourced carefully, planned meticulously, and executed brilliantly. I only wish I was more of a foodie to describe it!

I can only say I ate steak more rarely cooked than I've ever dared and wouldn't have dreamed of asking for it cooked more, as it was perfection. I ate half with the port reduction and the other half without as it was such high quality meat it needed no adornment (21 euros).

My husband enjoyed octopus that was as soft as butter and so tasty with perfectly cooked spinach and potatoes (21 euros). Our starters were the restaurant's offerings (16 euros in total) for breads, olives, sausages, butter and cheese sourced from various areas of Portugal.

We splurged on wine at the owner's recommendation (and oh yeah was it worth it, we even took the last bit home to enjoy), and shared a nice dessert (Grandma's pudding).

We truly feel as if we have experienced Portugal's traditional and regional food, all framed within a modern, simple and elegant menu. The atmosphere is comfortable and intimate and our waiter was very attentive.

What a find, I hope we can come back one day to enjoy Ode again.

Cheers from Ange and Josh from Australia!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AngeleneFay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a wonderful dining experience The owner is extremely hospitable and welcoming. He is so passionate about what he does - explains in detail the ingredients he uses and where he gets it from. We had gone there on Valentines day and we had a great 4 course menu with wine and port pairings. The restaurant is beautifully designed with a limited number of tables and only one sitting - we arrived at 8 pm and left after midnight. The service was superb - the owner is the chef and chief waiter and serves all courses and wines providing us with local knowledge. The food was delicious and presentation was excellent. By the end of the evening the restaurant guests ie three tables engaged in a conversation sharing our travel experiences and enjoyed a general discussion with the owner and fellow guests.The owner was generous and hospitable ensuring everyone had wine/ port to drink (no additional cost) as we had all completed our meals by then - was a really nice way to end a great dinner. We were staying across the river at the Yeatman and he thenarranged for a taxi when we ready to leave - also walked us to the taxi. This evening was just a fantastic experience with exceptional hospitality, passion and enthusiasm displayed by the owner backed up by a careful selection of delicious food with amazing flavors, great wine in a perfect setting. Will definately go back if in Porto and already recommended to friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tigersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ode Porto Wine House also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Ode Porto Wine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing