We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this place”

Ode Porto Wine House
Ranked #16 of 1,678 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $64 - $92
Cuisines: Portuguese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to a quite, rustic 19th century house, just in front of river Douro, where Portuguese wine and food are the perfect excuse to forget the world and to enjoy the moment. An open kitchen where we love what we do to whom we do. A wide variety of Portuguese wines (15 by the glass) from which you can choose. Far from confusion, protected yet exposed, we look to pay an Ode to those who visit us - our guests. Relax. Fell at home.
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Don't miss this place”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I are from the US and had a fantastic dinner at Ode. We managed to get in without reservations and had the most memorable dining experience. We spent almost 3 hours enjoying the fanastic food, service and wine. If you are in Porto, a meal at ODE should not be missed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmiller1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,227
    251
    71
    37
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge, uk
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So good, we went twice”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I'd spotted this restaurant on a couple of websites, so on our first night on Porto we went to investigate. The menu in the window looked superb, so we knocked on the door and made a reservation for another night, as they were full. The food is superb, and the owner very enthusiastic and keen to share his knowledge. On our first visit we started with the ode cocktails, with the platter of local delicacies - smoked sausage, cheese, olives and bread. Then we had the sardines and the sausage and mango for starters, followed by the steak and cod for mains. We didn't have room for deserts, but saw the 'chocolate volcano' being eaten on another table, so asked if we could come back again, and booked for our last evening in Porto. The second time we still had the local platter, but skipped the starters, and had the black pork and steak for mains. The black pork with chestnuts and apple sauce was the best dish I had all holiday, and we had some very good food! However, my partner's chocolate volcano was superb. He described it as 'tasting of posh jaffa cake' which from him is high praise! (It's a chocolate fondant with a tangerine sorbet) We finished with a glass of port each. Would definitely return if I'm ever in Porto again. Great food, and unstuffy but passionate service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank domestic_goddess68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

What a place. The most intimate and detailed dining experience we ever had. The attention to detail and passion of the owner is amazing. Food is top notch and you will remember this fe a long time. €55 per person for 3 courses cocktails wine and port.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Food, if not over attentive”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I read the reviews for this place before we went, which perhaps i shouldn't have, as i have to agree that whilst the experience was great and the food amazing, the service extremely attentive which may or may not be your thing.

It really is a good experience and intersting to understand where all the food came from (with the help of a map!), and the steak and cod that we ate were the best we had in the whole of portugal. Once the main course was served we were largely left to our own devices which was good. The owner/manager/proprietor is clearly very passionate about his food and restaurant, but almost to the point of making you feel guilty if your not completely caught up in the experince and dont want to try everything on the menu! Still, would reccomend.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AliWallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply sensational!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We visited ODE Porto Wine House on the last night of our mini moon. It was a fantastic experience... The service was impecable, the food was just delicious,and it is quite a unique but very enjoyable experience with local produce used (and explained if you wish) and some of the owners Grandma's and Mum's recipes. We would definitely recommend a visit, but be advised to book in advance given the small number of tables and the popularity.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ode Porto Wine House also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Ode Porto Wine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing