We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Porto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Gale Porto
Ranked #36 of 101 Hotels in Porto
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

A tall tower block of a hotel that is situated about 25 mins walk from the centre of Porto. Easily accessible on the Metro (direct from the airport) and with a taxi rank nearby (they are relatively cheap in the city) there is good access to the rest of the city. Inside the hotel is nicely decorated, especially if you're a film fan. The room was spacious enough for a twin; the bathroom exactly what you would expect from a decent hotel; the breakfast buffet (included in our rate) was pretty good (a good variety of hot and cold items); and the live music in the 2nd floor bar was quite good. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. There is free WiFi in the hotel reception area and in the bar, otherwise there is a charge.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShuttleTydirium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for Y/ kind review.
It is our goal to fulfil all of our guests' expectations regarding their stay at Hotel Vila Galé Porto and make it as enjoyable as possible. We are very please to know we have achieved our goal.
In the name of the Hotel management and staff, we look forward to welcome you again in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    400
    158
    43
    14
See reviews for
217
290
37
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed as a couple at the end of May. The stay was a competition win and we were a bit unsure what to expect, we know the Porto area quite well from previous trips to the city. The area around the hotel was nothing special.

When we checked in to the hotel the young man behind the desk noticed from my passport that it was my birthday and wished me a happy birthday. We were given a room on the 13th floor that had a good view over the city towards the sea. The room was a standard size hotel room with a good quality on suite.

later in the evening when we returned to our room after having a good meal out by the river there was a plate of different sliced fruit and a iced bottle of sparkling wine in our room, when we asked later it was because of my birthday, This was a very nice touch from the hotel and we both enjoyed it very much.

The breakfast was a buffet and it is difficult to think of anything they didnt have either hot or cold it was very good and all you could eat.

The hotel bar was on the 1st floor and the prices were reasonable and a very good choice. The service in the bar was excellent. On the second evening there was a duo on giving some live music. The bar is a large space and does lack a bit of intimacy but wasnt too bad. There was even a large glass cage for the people who still smoke

We had to leave the hotel before breakfast on the day we left and booked a taxi to the airport the night before. While doing this we were asked if we wanted a boxed breakfast to take with us, we said yes. When we collected them the next morning they contained a yoghurt, piece of fruit, sandwich and a juice, very nice.

Whenever we interacted with the staff they couldnt be faulted. The hotel does take coach parties and several at once but we never had a problem getting service

Room Tip: As others have said, a high floor has good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank siemenstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for Y/ kind review.
It is our goal to fulfil all of our guests' expectations regarding their stay at Hotel Vila Galé Porto and make it as enjoyable as possible. We are very please to know we have achieved our goal.
In the name of the Hotel management and staff, we look forward to welcome you again in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the Vila Gale as a couple, our observations are:

Location - near 24 de Agosto metro station approx. 2 minutes walk, 30 minutes from the Porto airport with single trip fare costs 1.80 euros. The area itself is disappointing as it looks run down and we didn't feel safe being out at night so we stayed in the hotel. On the plus side, lots of buses and taxis near the hotel and it is approx. 10-15 minutes walk to the main shopping area! Via Catarina is quite a nice shopping mall that from the outside, anyone would think it is a very small place but it actually is quite a nice in the inside.

Reception - very friendly and helpful staff! We cannot think of anything negative to say about the staff at Vila Gale as they are very lovely! Check-in was straight forward, we arrived just after 8:30pm and checked-in immediately. Information was readily available to us whenever we asked, we got it!

Rooms - basic but adequate. We stayed in room 1403 with an amazing view of Porto! Beds were firm but comfortable and the room was very quiet that we had enjoyed a couple of nights peaceful sleep. Rooms on the higher floors are highly recommended, lifts are regular too but definitely ask for a nice view room. Decor is basic throughout the hotel.. it seems to have a movie stars theme which was quite nice.

Food - on our first night, we tried the restaurant which served a buffet for 22 euros per person. We also had a bottle of Rose which only cost 9 euros. The buffet food wasn't great but there were adequate choices. On the plus side, hearty breakfast!!!! Lots of choices - usual hot food of bacon, eggs, sausages etc. Cold meats, cheese, pancakes, fruits etc. including Champagne! Breakfast was very enjoyable!

Bar - cheap drinks and again, lovely staff! They have live music on Saturdays and during the week... very relaxing atmosphere.

Spa - the hotel has a Spa on the 19th floor overlooking the lovely views of Porto. It is run by another company but the staff are lovely and friendly. We tried the 20 euro promotion which included use of pool, jacuzzi, turkish bath, sauna, ritual tea and 15 minute back massage which was very relaxing! Good value for money!

Overall, Vila Gale is a good base for visiting Porto. The area may not be the best in Porto, but the staff are very passionate about the service they provide and always do their best to make guests feel welcome. We certainly felt that way! Would definitely stay there again if visiting Porto as it is good value for money. I would say it is a 3-star hotel with 4-star quality service from their staff. Hope it continues to improve all the time.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mish77_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you in advance for Y/ most pleasant review.
We are very please to know that we have made Y/ stay in our hotel most pleasant and look forward to see you again soon in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I spent 2 nights in this hotel as part of a group of 27. I checked the room as I always do and found no insects. My room was a little dark and cramped but still comfortable. Bathroom was well laid out and shower pressure/temperature were perfect. Unfortunately, newly laid carpeting off-gassed in both my 10th floor room and in the hallway which lead to an unpleasant smell but this shd be temporary. Breakfast buffet was beautifully laid out with many choices of food. The breakfast room was very large and pleasant - sunny because it faces east. Staff was friendly and competent and lobby furniture and restrooms were clean and comfortable. Neighborhood is a little run-down. There is a Pingo-Boce mini-grocery across the street from the hotel's front door which has an ATM/Bancomat as well as food to go.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLady511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you in advance for Y/ review.
Look forward to see you again soon in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Fab views over the city, clean, comfortable room, good choice for food, breakfast and bar. Staff friendly and helpful, outstanding bed & pillow comfort, so important after days work.
Easy walk into upper part of the city where you will find cheap but excellent cafés and small shops for port & cheese.
Excellent conferencing facilities well organised. Would make a good base for weekend break. Make sure you gave your comfy shoes if out and about on the cobbles no place for high heels!

Room Tip: Good views in the high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for Y/ kind review.
It is our goal to fulfil all of our guests' expectations regarding their stay at Hotel Vila Galé Porto and make it as enjoyable as possible. We are very please to know we have achieved our goal.
In the name of the Hotel management and staff, we look forward to welcome you again in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The hotel does all that is supposed to do: clean, comfortable and with good service delivery.
The room was nice and big, and although there was a storm outside I slept like a baby.

The only need for improvement I saw was a need to update their look & feel.
The lobby and lounge areas are delicious but the rooms are a bit outdated.

The parking also needs some attention.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isaurinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you in advance for Y/ review.
Look forward to see you again soon in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I recently stayed here on a business trip for the first time and I was in the hotel a lot. I couldnt have asked to stay in a nicer place where we were treated like queens. The staff were so friendly and attentive, knowledgeable and extremely helpful. The gym had everything you needed and as it was January the staff had put the heating on in my room at night so I wouldnt be cold. The restaurant served delicious food and we ate there 4 out of 5 nights as a result. I highly recommend this hotel next time ill make sure to bring my swim suit.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gizm027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for Y/ kind review.
It is our goal to fulfil all of our guests' expectations regarding their stay at Hotel Vila Galé Porto and make it as enjoyable as possible. We are very please to know we have achieved our goal.
In the name of the Hotel management and staff, we look forward to welcome you again in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.

Joaquim Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
HF Ipanema Park
HF Ipanema Park
#43 of 101 in Porto
4.0 of 5 stars 906 reviews
1.7 mi away
HF Ipanema Porto
HF Ipanema Porto
#30 of 101 in Porto
4.0 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
2.6 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#13 of 101 in Porto
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Porto

Property: Vila Gale Porto
Address: Avenida de Fernao de Magalhaes 7, Porto 4300-190, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Porto
#9 Spa Hotel in Porto
#27 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel is situated in the heart of Oporto and close to one of its' main shopping district. The Hotel is 1.5 km away form the city centre (Praca da Republica) and only 50 m from the transportation network which can easily be reached on foot. Restaurants and bars can be found all around the Hotel area. The distance to the closest beach is 8km and the airport is 15 km from the hotel. Opened in 1999, the hotel offers a total of 292 rooms spread over 21 floors. Among the rooms we can find 20 superior rooms, 12 junior suites and 7 superior suites on the top floor. The Hotel offers a 24-hour reception desk, Free Wi-Fi in public areas, wheelchair access, exterior parking spaces for cars and buses, garage (for and additional fee), lifts and hotel safe. Among the common areas you will find a restaurant, two bars, a TV room and a games room. This hotel is perfect for business events due to its 13 event rooms with several disposition and multimedia options. There is also a laundry services and medical assistance. The comfortable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has a Health Club, which can be accessed for an additional fee, equipped with an indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam room / Turkish bath, Gym and Spa where you may enjoy massages and treatments. Breakfast and Lunch can be select from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may alternatively be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Vila Gale Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing