We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality, decent location”
Review of Vila Gale Porto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Gale Porto
Ranked #41 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A group of us stayed here in October. The hotel is quite nice with a competent and professional desk staff, although they don't often answer phone calls from the rooms. There are two computers for guests use in the lobby. There is also a bar in the lobby that looks to be just for show because there is another, much more active bar on the first floor. They have sandwiches for sale in the bar, but there is a small supermarket directly across the street where you can buy prepared foods and groceries. The breakfast room is on the second floor and is hopping with so many tour groups staying at the hotel. That said, the breakfast is good in taste and quantity. The hotel is quiet even though it is on a main street because it is set back off the road. I would stay again because of the location and value and they may have to most comfortable beds in Portugal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your contribution. We are glad that your experience was very positive and met your expectations. We try on a daily basis to give nice experiences. We have a fantastic product and a very professional and helpful team. Clients use to say we have a fantastic location, rooms, breakfast and Staff.

Best regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here at the begining of October for 4 nights. The hotel is very nice, clean and tidy. We arrived as a group of 19 but were dealt with in a very timely and friendly fashion. I found the staff here to be friendly, polite and helpful. Rooms were very clean and tidy and were of a decent size. Bathroom was well stocked and was clean and tidy also. It doesnt have much of a day time bar, but does have one on the 2nd floor which opens at 6pm. My one moan about the room would be that you have to pay daily for the use of the safe in your room. I feel this is a bit of over kill and should be provided free of charge. I went to breakfast each morning and found the food to be off a good standard and lots of it. Plenty of choice to suit most people. It is a good 15-20 minute walk into town and is not the most straight forward walk to undertake. A taxi will cost you approx €10 from hotel to town. I enjoyed my stay here and aside from the safe issue, I have no complaints. Just one thing, even though it is listed as a four star hotel, I feel it is more of a three star, so just be aware of this in case your are expecting really top class luxuary.

Room Tip: From talking to the other members in a group, all rooms were good. But if you can, get a room high u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed description of our Hotel and its services. We are glad that you have had an enjoyable stay at our Hotel. Our location, rooms, breakfast and Staff are fantastic. We have a fantastic product and a very professional and helpful team. VG Porto is a fantastic 4 stars Hotel in Porto! We just reshap the rooms, restaurant, reception.

best regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

A very good hotel,near metro station 24 augusto,extremely helpful staff,clean rooms,the bathroom with heating,was perfect in a reining day.The food -breakfast very good.a good value for money.in Porto very good price for taxi and food in restaurants .i reccomand you pesce griato i was in oct 09 10 2013 -14 10 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexanrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that the facilities and services were according to your expectations. Our quality/price is one of the best in Porto!!

best regards

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

THis is a lovely hotel with extremely helpful staff. The rooms are big nice and clean; the bathroom is excellent with heating and shower, hot water..etc. Room service was perfect, they even organise your clothes books for you.. very nice... The food including buffet-breakfast was one of the best hotel food I have had. Only issues were the internet in the rooms were not free but cheap to purchase however it did not work properly; its alternative, the internet in the lobby was very fast and free. There are no iron and coffee maker in the rooms. If you need these while your visit i highly suggest this hotel. The people work there are very welcoming and make you feel comfortable. I especially want to thank you the gentleman who helped me on my last day. Because of my panic i forgot to ask his name but i am sure he will remember me. He safely put me in the taxi while I was so panicky about catching my flight on a rainy Sunday afternoon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUNA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed description of our Hotel and its services. We are glad that you have had an enjoyable stay at our VG Hotel. We try on a daily bases to exceed expectations.

best regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a lovely big hotel located within walking distance of the main tourist area. Very close to metro if required . It is good value for money though you will pay extra for things like your safe. The room was big, clean and the bathroom very modern, well equipped and with plenty of hot water and good water pressure. Breakfast buffet is very good and the room is large with lots of seating. Their evening buffet was adequate though a little expensive. Staff was very helpful. I’d certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betlox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that the facilities and services were according to your expectations. Our location is a must and our staff is always to serve and to please the customer. Our price/quallity is one of the best in Porto!

Best regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

After reading other reviews I had some concerns but now that my stay at this hotel is over, I really don't understand some of the issues. For starters, the 4 elevators work perfectly, don' t understand the complaints about waiting a long time for them. Cleanliness: spotless, both in the room and public areas. Anyway, the best thing about this hotel is the exceptional service provided either at the reception, restaurant or bar. Great staff: courteous, friendly, efficient and polite. Note to the management: take good care of them. They're a great asset to your hotel.
Area of improvement : free internet in the rooms.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Joao F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed description of our Hotel and its services. We are glad that you have had an enjoyable stay at our Hotel. It is true that is true that our employees are our diamond and that´s why we have a team very stable and very efficient.

Best Regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 3 days, not a 4 star hotel. Rather a 3 star. Nice looking modern building but interior starting to show wear. Location not so charming, would not stray out at night in the Neigbourhood. Breakfast buffet was very good.Staff charming

Room Tip: A good averah=ge hotel except for location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Guest.,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feed back that we receive and welcome every opportunity to improve. We are very pleased with your comments about the rooms, the breakfast and Staff.
We inform you that we are undertaking a major overhaul of the rooms and we will renovated most of them by end of the year.

Best Regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
2.6 mi away
Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel
0.6 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
2.4 mi away
Eurostars Oporto
Eurostars Oporto
#19 of 111 in Porto
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
HF Ipanema Park
HF Ipanema Park
#46 of 111 in Porto
1,321 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
1.3 mi away
AC Hotel Porto
AC Hotel Porto
#40 of 111 in Porto
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Porto

Address: Avenida de Fernao de Magalhaes 7, Porto 4300-190, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Porto
#10 Spa Hotel in Porto
#32 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: $85 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel is situated in the heart of Oporto and close to one of its' main shopping district. The Hotel is 1.5 km away form the city centre (Praca da Republica) and only 50 m from the transportation network which can easily be reached on foot. Restaurants and bars can be found all around the Hotel area. The distance to the closest beach is 8km and the airport is 15 km from the hotel. Opened in 1999, the hotel offers a total of 292 rooms spread over 21 floors. Among the rooms we can find 20 superior rooms, 12 junior suites and 7 superior suites on the top floor. The Hotel offers a 24-hour reception desk, Free Wi-Fi in public areas, wheelchair access, exterior parking spaces for cars and buses, garage (for and additional fee), lifts and hotel safe. Among the common areas you will find a restaurant, two bars, a TV room and a games room. This hotel is perfect for business events due to its 13 event rooms with several disposition and multimedia options. There is also a laundry services and medical assistance. The comfortable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has a Health Club, which can be accessed for an additional fee, equipped with an indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam room / Turkish bath, Gym and Spa where you may enjoy massages and treatments. Breakfast and Lunch can be select from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may alternatively be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vila Gale Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing