We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average not four star” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dom Henrique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dom Henrique Hotel
Ranked #36 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“average not four star”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Average hotel for the price.
Close to public transport., but not the best location in Porto
Great view from restaurant., but very rude head waiter who would not serve us because we were wearing sadals. There are better places to eat in the locality.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    361
    139
    33
    16
See reviews for
147
308
43
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was quite nice. Was able to walk to river although a log of people may prefer can or public transportation. Loved area along the river....scenic and quaint. Recommend visiting port wine cellars. Fun and educational!! Tram ride also a must do. Food in Porto fabulous.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank townboundgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Is an average stay and for the price it was not that bad. Next to the Metro and the breakfast buffet was good. I didn't like the bed and rooms seemed a bit old. Nice front desk staff. Near good restaurants.

Room Tip: Next to Metro, good breakfast buffet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dallylta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

The hotel staff are helpful and nice. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and comfortable. Great choices for breakfast and you can have breakfast outside on a huge balcony. Great value for money, lovely fountain and park outside. Close to shops and bars, metro station is just bottom of the hill. Made to feel at home in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed at the Dom Henrique Hotel for my first visit to Porto, is now one of my favourite cities in the world. The hotel experience was overall average. It is dated and needed to be updated in terms of the overall look both of the outside and inside. The bedroom was very spacious and it had a balcony overlooking the town, although the bed was not the most comfortable and the room ambiance was average at most. The staff service was good, the front desk was friendly and the bell man was helpful. The location did not seem to be too good upon arriving to the hotel, however, the central area of Porto was not too far away and averaged to about a 10 minute walk from the many amazing restaurants along the river that divides Gaia and Porto. This river side walk is a must when visiting Porto, it is especially beautiful in the evening. The morning breakfast at the breakfast buffet was pleasant with a good selection of food. Overall, my experience was average-good at best.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed three nights in this hotel and were very pleased with the room, the price was excellent. It is centrally located and near all the shopping streets. The room was very clean and comfortable. We had TV in both sitting room and bedroom. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

This old hotel has no power plugs so you can understand how old is it.
We've arrived and left after 2 hours. There was no way we could stay.
The location can might be close to the center but the place is strange and doesn't look nice at night. We were scared to walk around.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank betocamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Premium Porto Downtown
0.3 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#27 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porto Trindade
Hotel Porto Trindade
#23 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro
0.5 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Henrique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Henrique Hotel

Property: Dom Henrique Hotel
Address: Rua Guedes de Azevedo 179, Porto 4000-273, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Henrique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dom Henrique-Downtown, located in the traditional centre of Porto, 300 metters from the Metro station TRINDADE with direct connection to the Airport and Campanha train station, is the point of departure for the discovery of the city, its inhabitants and architecture. Steps away from Rua Santa Catarina, the main shopping zone of the city, the Hotel is at the proximity of the Theatres, several monuments including the ancient City area recognised by UNESCO as World Heritage, the Douro River Cruises boarding quay and 5 minutes away from the lively bars area of Rua da Galeria de Paris. The city view from the "17º RESTAURANT & BAR", on the top floors, is unique and a must to all visitors of the Hotel. You can also appreciate the tilled wall, created by Julio Resende, a renowned artist, in Restaurant "ALEM-MAR", on tIn the city center one can lose track of time, and want to linger on... In high quality accommodation, where all your needs are catered for. We offer you a calm, friendly environment, where you can relax in comfort and ease in a setting of contemporary design. Our intermediate and upper floors enjoy unrivalled views over the city, including rooms and suites with a balcony. Whatever choice you make, you will find yourselves in a world in which the accommodation and service on offer will make your stay an experience you will want to repeat. Room service available from 07:00 to 02:00. The Hotel offers 111 Confort and Standard rooms in a variety of sizes and styles, allowing us to adapt our offer to the needs of each client. All rooms include: - Door with double safety lock and an electronic key-card system - Modern bathroom (with audio speakers) - Air conditioning - Television (25 satellite channels) - Free Wi-Fi - Mini-bar - Safe - Hair dryer - Telephone (with a direct outside line and an automatic alarm clock service) The products with which we pamper our clients are in ecological packages, allowing us to look for the environmenthe ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dom Henrique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dom Henrique
Dom Henrique Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing