We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Portus Cale
Ranked #41 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed September 13, 2011

we stayed 4 nights in this hotel and first they gave me a room on 2nd floor with back view to the kitchen roof. I asked to change it to a front view and higher floor which they did. The rooms are big and quite clean, but they should have wood floor instead of carpet. The beds are too hard. The lift is very very small and with 4 people in, there is the danger to get stucked which indeed happen. 4 of us got closed inside during 15 minutes with a terrible horn sound. After we were relesead the answer from receptionist was "too much weight" and she forgot to apologise. The breakfast was very poor served in a very small room near the reception. The garage (paid separately) was very small and the entrance access ramp is very high and not flat causing the cars getting damaged because they scratch on the floor.

Room Tip: choose a room with view to "Avenida da Boavista"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 418 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2011

Stayed 4 nights, room very spacious, modern, clean, very comfortable bed, nice bedding and towels bathroom imaculate. Staff good service, Breakfast better than most hotels ive stayed in in Porto/Portugal for similar price. Choice of breads/meats/cheese/fruit/Cereals/Hot food/Fresh fruit juices/Coffee/Tea.

Good location 5 mins walk from Rotunda - Av Boavista. Bus stop outside hote, the Yellow and Red tour bus companies stop right outside, Parking available out on street, Good cafe next door`"chocolate" and two doors down is a good honest restaurante/takeaway - good value food.

Will stay here again for business purposes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank businessinportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

The hotel has a nice location, close to Casa da Música, the bedroom is confortable. But that´s all. TV has only a few channels available. The staff seemed to be tired. We arrived and they said we had to wait for the extra bed. We waited, waited... nothing. We called the reception asking for the bed and they said we had to wait a little more (!?!?!). I was feeling sick (7 months pregnant) so my husband left the bedroom and went downstairs to, once again, request the extra bed.
The breakfast was sooooooo weak! At home I have better! 2 or 2 types of bread, and one or 2 other things. Expresso coffee is paid (?!?!). The ladies who work in the hotel didn´t stop looking at us, like they were counting what we were eating. Very strange.
The bedroom is very confortable, but the owner of the hotel should teach the employees to behave and be more polite.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viajandoporai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

We were on a business trip and ended up here after our hotel had a booking error. The staff were great and very accomdating and the two bonuses were the chocolate bar next door and the easy access for taxis or clients to pick us up or drop us off.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RafikiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

This is a small hotel situated on a road with a few restaurants and bars. There were 43 people in our tour party and the breakfast room seated about 30 so there was a lot of chaos as we all had to depart at the same time. The porter was late and although we paid for porterage we had to bring our own cases downstairs. The rooms were adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeanutDotJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Very nice hotel with large clean rooms . The beds were clean and comfortable and the staff extremely helpful. I was put into a smoking room which actually didnt smell much, but as soon as I mentioned this to the staff they changed my room instantly even though a coach full of tourist arrived whilst I was talking to them. The hotel wasn't very central but I didnt feel this was an issue as there are buses and a metro quite close. Some of the other participants who had rooms at the front of the hotel did say it was noisy but as I had a room at the back it wasnt an issue. The breakfast selection was just right. All in all a very nice place to stay. One downside (which could just have been my room).
I arrived back after middnight and there wasnt any hot water - but this happened on just one of the four nights I was staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodtogethome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2008

Clean, secure, well-located, with a good breakfast and in a great city. The crew is also good. Don´t expect so much about the size of the elevators. Good opções to eat around.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tamboril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.5 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 108 in Porto
933 reviews
2.5 mi away
Eurostars Oporto
Eurostars Oporto
#17 of 108 in Porto
683 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Porto
Quality Inn Porto
#45 of 108 in Porto
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
AC Hotel Porto
AC Hotel Porto
#39 of 108 in Porto
629 reviews
0.4 mi away
HF Tuela Porto
HF Tuela Porto
#36 of 108 in Porto
651 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Portus Cale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Portus Cale

Address: Avenida da Boavista 1060, Porto 4100-113, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#32 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: $61 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Inn Portus Cale 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Portus Cale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Portus Cale Hotel Porto
Quality Inn Porto
Porto Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing