We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a charming place!”
Review of Cosme Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cosme Guesthouse
Ranked #28 of 153 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a charming place!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed here late in February / early March and the climate was unexpectedly mild. Making it a good time to visit Porto. As soon as we arrived in Cosme Guesthouse's neighborhood we praised our choice. It's a calm area and once we had been briefed about its location on site we found ourselves within walking distance from the centre. The Cosme Guesthouse is run by a truly friendly bunch of people and we enjoyed our entire time there. Our room was bright and quiet; perhaps only the bed could have been a bit larger.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    39
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
95
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed 3 nights at the end of December 2013 and it was GREAT!: beautiful place, big rooms, great breakfast and very nice staff. Glass of Porto wine as welcome drink and champagne in New Year's Eve. I hope to stay there every other time I come to Oporto.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Areteu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed two nights in November, at Cosme Guesthouse, (Miro Room) and loved it. Greeted with a glass of port upon arrival and then given a map and a lot of explanation about the city and what to see. Lovely view, on quiet street, of beautiful tiled houses across street. Very clean and comfortable. Small bathroom, tiny shower, but filled with nice body wash and plenty of hot water in the shower, with good water pressure. Nice table and chairs in room, fridge, sink, microwave, dishes and glasses. Good reading lights by bed. The hosts were amazing. Just could not do enough for me. Offered to assist, or give me port, tea or whatever, each time I entered the guesthouse. Their suggestions for affordable, neighborhood restaurants were wonderful. Had the best meals at those places.
Very convenient location. Easy walking distance to everything. Nice grocery store near the guesthouse. Really nice neighborhood. Anything you need, you will have at this Guesthouse. The breakfast was huge and delicious. Really good. I would stay here again, without any hesitation and would not look for any other hotel or B & B. Check it out, it is GREAT. Fabulous staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baker3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The only negative thing I could say about this place is the map they provide to help you find them. We did, but with a little difficulty. Other than that it is all good. The staff were the friendliest and most helpful I have ever experienced. I loved the interior design. Apparently the owner is an architect and I'm not surprised. The complimentary glass of port while we were given the very detailed and helpful run through the local map of places to visit was a lovely gesture.

We had friends joining us the following day from when we arrived and unfortunately they had a problem with overbooking and so didn't have a room for them. Things like this happen, it's how the situation is handled that matters to me, and they did everything right. In the end we all moved into a larger apartment that could take all 5 of us, and at no extra cost.

Oh the only other little thing I would have a little complaint about was the size of the en-suite and the shower - both tiny (in our 1st room/apartment). Apparently the shower is the standard size in Porto, but given its tiny size I would think a glass door would work better than the curtain provided, which you couldn't escape!!

But very impressed overall, the breakfast was plentiful and it was central enough to be walking distance to all attractions.

Room Tip: Our first room/apartment was called Miro and we were very happy with it. Think it would be better s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcoussis
Level Contributor
155 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were in room Dita on the second floor giving on the back side of the building, overlooking Cosme guesthouse garden (12 to 14 October); the room is spacious, with a small kitchen (fridge, microwave, sink, plates and cutlery), and bathroom with a shower. The guest house in 15 minutes walk from the center, and 5 minutes walk from 24 August metro station (direct to the airport) ; the staff was very helpful with good tips about Porto, and we were offered a glass of Port wine when we arrived. We enjoyed the quietness of the guesthouse and its neighborhood, and we slept very well; varied and plentiful continental style breakfast. I strongly recommend this guesthouse. Thanks again to the staff!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelLeclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The staff were all really wonderful and friendlyThe staff were all really wonderful and friendly. We had cake a port wine waiting for our arrival, and they were very helpful in organising day trips. It is great value for money and perfect for a couple looking to explore the city of Porto.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stang is extremely friendly. André welcomed us very helpful and friendly and explained to us many things about the city. This guesthouse is a real confortable hotel just next to the old city center. Appartments are big and beds are very confortable. Breakfast is quite simple but correct. I strongly recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Fine Arts Guesthouse
Fine Arts Guesthouse
#22 of 153 in Porto
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa dos Guindais
Casa dos Guindais
#10 of 153 in Porto
275 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oporto Loft
Oporto Loft
#14 of 153 in Porto
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
6Only Guest House
6Only Guest House
#6 of 153 in Porto
547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dukes Corner Guest House
Dukes Corner Guest House
#27 of 153 in Porto
44 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Carolina
Casa Carolina
#30 of 153 in Porto
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosme Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosme Guesthouse

Property: Cosme Guesthouse
Address: Rua Barao de Sao Cosme no 67, Porto 4000-502, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosme Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The concept of our house is based on three main characteristics offered to our guests: Port Wine tasting, permanent exhibitions of Portuguese artists,and a little library with some books related to the Portuguese culture. The house is located in an old part of the town, where the rich bourgeoisie was installed in the beginning of the 20th century. It's 10 minutes away from the City Centre and 5 minutes from the subway station, on foot. It's got a car park nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cosme Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing