We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little guesthouse in atmospheric Porto”
Review of Cosme Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cosme Guesthouse
Ranked #31 of 159 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely little guesthouse in atmospheric Porto”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Situated in a quiet street, this artfully decorated place was one of the highlights of our stay in Porto. Vitor who was looking after us for the majority of our stay was super friendly and helpful.
We had Dita room which included all the amenities one would need on a daily basis. The only thing we were disappointed in was that we had booked a twin room but were allocated a double. The breakfast was rather basic but very tasty. The in-room food&wine menu was of good value for money and although some of the items weren't available what Vitor prepared for us was delicious.
Overall, we loved Porto, the wine, divine but affordable food, cheap fruits that we were indulging in and although in some places the city looks rather neglected it's abundance of atmosphere make up for that. It may be not as pretty as Lisbon but it's less touristy and hence more authentic compared to it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urszula81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    39
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
95
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
589 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The Cosme Guesthouse is located in a quiet street 300 m from the Campo 24 Agosto metro station. It is a new facility but everything works perfectly.
We were warmly welcomed at 11 pm with a glass of Port wine on a chilly April evening. The guesthouse has only 7 rooms. We were given a top floor double - Dita. The room was equipped with a microweve, a set of dishes and wine glasses, flat screen tv and a small bathroom. The Dita room overlooks a courtyard with an orange tree in the middle. it also has a decent heater for colder nights.

Breakfast is basic as for Polish standards and consists mainly of cakes, coffee and juices. You may also try ham, cheese or hard-boiled eggs. For a good espresso do go to a nearby cafe - they serve a really good coffee in Portugal (and cheap - 0.60 Euro). In the bar on the corner you may also try a Porto speciality - Francesinha (hot sandwitch with different types of sausages and meat). They have a 50% discount for it in the evenings :-) The nearby Pingo Doce supermarket is 5 minutes away and the famous riverside - 10 minutes on foot.

Cosme Guesthouse has a nice and friendly staff and is run by young people speaking many languages. No problems with French and English. It’s a great place worth visiting.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Małgorzata B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I can't recommend enough this small typical Portoguese house converted to Cool Design B&B in Porto. Value for money is great, every detail is taken into consideration, but its strongest point is the customer service. The guy who is managing it (Vitor) welcomes it as if it was your new house. On arrival you get a glass of typical Port Wine, cakes and refreshment,. A map where he helps you getting your way around the city and some great tips on how to plan your holiday and where best to go in Porto. Other than that, rooms are clean, design is great (each room is named after a painter or a famous person, and there are work of arts on display throughout the house), breakfast is very generous and you really feel at home. It is centrally located, although not in the very inner centre, but only 15 minutes walk away from it.
Simply look no further when to choose a B&B in Porto!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicoletta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We were greeted by Geral and settled in with a glass of port and freshly baked cake and given a good orientation of Porto. I can't write this without mentioning Vitor though. He is an absolute sweetheart! So accommodating and ready to give advise at anytime. We travelled with a 17 year old and the room gave us the added privacy that we wanted with a sleeping alcove for her. I seen other reviews that say this is a little far away, but really it isn't. A pleasant 15 to 20 minute stroll gets you to the pedestrian shopping street of Rua de Santa Catarina, which for a 17 year old is heaven. Breakfast was Continental and covered the basic needs with freshly squeezed orange juice, breads, homemade jams, yoghurt, fruit, coffee and homemade cake. Driving in Porto overwhelmed us and we were quite happy to leave the car on the street. The electric tram car along the riverfront to the beach was an excellent diversion to walking up and down city streets. We had lunch at Shis Restaurante - which was excellent. They have an upscale part and a more casual part. We ate at the casual area and the food was coming out of the same kitchen at a much more reasonable price. Setting is gorgeous overlooking the water.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beejayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

From the moment we arrived in Porto we felt at home. Victor called us at the airport to see if we wanted to be met at the station. When we arrived at the house we were offered refreshments and cake and VIctor helped us plan and make the best of our trip. He recommended places to go and places to eat and could not have been more helpful. The next day we met the owners and the rest of the staff and everyone was kind and helpful. The atmosphere at the Cosme is relaxed and informal and homely. Breakfast was a continental buffet with homemade cake!
Our room was very comfortable, clean and spacious with a fridge and microwave and a rose on the bed!
The Cosme was in a quiet neighbourhood and very close to the Metro and local shops and cheap places to eat. It was a pleasure to return to the Cosme after a long day exploring. We would recommend the Cosme as good place to stay.

Room Tip: We had the Dita room which was on the back facing a lovely Orange tree and had a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norwichman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The owner, who is a architect, renovated this old house in a great way. The house has a pleasant feel with 7 nicely decorated rooms. But what made the difference is the hospitality even in the smallest details. They make you feel at home straight away through food, port, information, flower in the room and so on. The breakfast is great with plenty of choices.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaNL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Once we arrived at the Cosme Guesthouse we were greeted with big smiles and a warm friendly atmosphere. We all sat down with the people that run the place and they talked us through the map of Porto and made some great recommendations on where to go and what to see. They also gave us a glass of Port each on arrival, and talked to us about the Port and where it was from.

Due to them we visited some places we would probably not of stumbled across, including one of the best restaurants we ate at on our whole trip - which was a local restaurant.
We went to the Majestic Cafe and also the Lello Bookshop, by taking their advice, and they were fabulous sites to see.

The rooms were nice and clean and we had a beautiful view of a little orange tree out of our window. The location was handy as it wasn't right in the tourist centre so felt more like real Porto, but it had local bus stops and the metro very close by.
Great value for money. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarynBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Fine Arts Guesthouse
Fine Arts Guesthouse
#23 of 159 in Porto
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa dos Guindais
Casa dos Guindais
#11 of 159 in Porto
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dukes Corner Guest House
Dukes Corner Guest House
#27 of 159 in Porto
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Oporto Loft
Oporto Loft
#18 of 159 in Porto
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
6Only Guest House
6Only Guest House
#7 of 159 in Porto
550 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Carolina
Casa Carolina
#30 of 159 in Porto
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosme Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosme Guesthouse

Property: Cosme Guesthouse
Address: Rua Barao de Sao Cosme no 67, Porto 4000-502, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosme Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The concept of our house is based on three main characteristics offered to our guests: Port Wine tasting, permanent exhibitions of Portuguese artists,and a little library with some books related to the Portuguese culture. The house is located in an old part of the town, where the rich bourgeoisie was installed in the beginning of the 20th century. It's 10 minutes away from the City Centre and 5 minutes from the subway station, on foot. It's got a car park nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Cosme Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing