We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful bed and breakfast in Porto”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cosme Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cosme Guesthouse
Ranked #27 of 151 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
norwich
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful bed and breakfast in Porto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

From the moment we arrived in Porto we felt at home. Victor called us at the airport to see if we wanted to be met at the station. When we arrived at the house we were offered refreshments and cake and VIctor helped us plan and make the best of our trip. He recommended places to go and places to eat and could not have been more helpful. The next day we met the owners and the rest of the staff and everyone was kind and helpful. The atmosphere at the Cosme is relaxed and informal and homely. Breakfast was a continental buffet with homemade cake!
Our room was very comfortable, clean and spacious with a fridge and microwave and a rose on the bed!
The Cosme was in a quiet neighbourhood and very close to the Metro and local shops and cheap places to eat. It was a pleasure to return to the Cosme after a long day exploring. We would recommend the Cosme as good place to stay.

Room Tip: We had the Dita room which was on the back facing a lovely Orange tree and had a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norwichman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    39
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
94
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

The owner, who is a architect, renovated this old house in a great way. The house has a pleasant feel with 7 nicely decorated rooms. But what made the difference is the hospitality even in the smallest details. They make you feel at home straight away through food, port, information, flower in the room and so on. The breakfast is great with plenty of choices.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaNL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Once we arrived at the Cosme Guesthouse we were greeted with big smiles and a warm friendly atmosphere. We all sat down with the people that run the place and they talked us through the map of Porto and made some great recommendations on where to go and what to see. They also gave us a glass of Port each on arrival, and talked to us about the Port and where it was from.

Due to them we visited some places we would probably not of stumbled across, including one of the best restaurants we ate at on our whole trip - which was a local restaurant.
We went to the Majestic Cafe and also the Lello Bookshop, by taking their advice, and they were fabulous sites to see.

The rooms were nice and clean and we had a beautiful view of a little orange tree out of our window. The location was handy as it wasn't right in the tourist centre so felt more like real Porto, but it had local bus stops and the metro very close by.
Great value for money. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarynBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

The people here were really friendly and the house has been quite nicely renovated. Rooms have a small kitchen area with plates and cutlery and glasses. There's double glazing, it's fairly quiet (on a quite street), some noise of feet in rooms above. Some bathrooms are extremely small, but modern, nice. Shades of blue-grey and white, modern art, colourful graphic design. Internet is slow. Juice at breakfast - preferred not to drink it. Things in packets. We enjoyed our stay because of the staff but would not return because of the breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wortleberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

We arrived and the proprietor, in perfect English, sat us down with a snack and port, and talked us through places to go in the city. Definitely made us feel welcome.

The rooms were large and clean, and there was free wifi. Combined with the breakfast, this is an incredible value, I've stayed at much more expensive hotels and gotten far less.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

Wonderful hotel in the central part of Oporto that made us really feel at home! Very friendly and helpful staff, clean recently renovated rooms, good breakfast and its central location made our stay there really very pleasant! Can definitely be recommended to anyone desiring to spend very good time in Oporto! Especially considering its reasonable price;)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergeykalinin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lobitos, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

Easily in the top three places I stayed during my nine-month trip. The owner and Vitor were so hospitable and friendly and made our stay in Porto perfect. From the tastefully furnished rooms to the local wine tasting and Portugese pastries, I couldn't fault the place. Good breakfast, free internet, bookshelf, satellite TV etc. etc. Has everything you could want and more. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We managed to get the top-floor apartment. Book this one if you can, it's the furthest you can g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fearinenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Fine Arts Guesthouse
Fine Arts Guesthouse
#22 of 151 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.1 mi away
Charming House Marques
Charming House Marques
#20 of 151 in Porto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yours GuestHouse Porto
Yours GuestHouse Porto
#6 of 151 in Porto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa dos Guindais
Casa dos Guindais
#9 of 151 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercador Guest House
Mercador Guest House
#23 of 151 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malmerendas Boutique Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosme Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosme Guesthouse

Property: Cosme Guesthouse
Address: Rua Barao de Sao Cosme no 67, Porto 4000-502, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosme Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The concept of our house is based on three main characteristics offered to our guests: Port Wine tasting, permanent exhibitions of Portuguese artists,and a little library with some books related to the Portuguese culture. The house is located in an old part of the town, where the rich bourgeoisie was installed in the beginning of the 20th century. It's 10 minutes away from the City Centre and 5 minutes from the subway station, on foot. It's got a car park nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cosme Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing