We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Ranked #1 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
256 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

We chose this hotel partly because of its Tripadvisor rating and partly for its location. Right on the central square of the old city, it's perfectly placed for sightseeing and we walked pretty much everywhere during our 4-day stay. We had a one-bedroom suite which was traditionally decorated and comfortable. Not a great view - we probably should have asked for a view over the square - but we were on the 4th floor, it was very quiet and we could see the cathedral.
Check-in was speedy and professional and indeed staff throughout our stay were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was an excellent buffet and waiting staff very attentive.
With all these pluses it might seem strange to rate this hotel as 'very good' as opposed to 'excellent'. It is reasonable to expect high standards from a 5 star hotel but we were puzzled
when we arrived at our suite to find just one bottle of water, one glass and one plate of fruit with one knife and fork. A nice gesture, but which of us was this for? We were surprised that we didn't receive water each day and, disappointingly, no chocolate at turn-down. We paid nearly 300 euros a night and for this it's reasonable to expect little extras. There was a coffee machine provided but each capsule was charged at the rate of 2.50eu. There was also a kettle and packets of tea and instant coffee - and two tiny containers of milk each day. We felt we were being rationed! Of course we could have called housekeeping for more but what a bother. Water in the minibar was 6eu for a 25cl bottle and, while you expect to pay over the odds for minibar drinks, this was 12x the price for the same in a local shop.
So, for us, there were minuses as well as pluses.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,477
    284
    50
    9
    7
See reviews for
296
1,019
59
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Pros:
We stayed here for one night in August 2014. The location of the hotel is great for walking to shopping and restaurants. We actually took a cab to get to the water front, but I understand that it is a very short walk.

Breakfast was beautiful and a full spread. We walked around the square and were not able to find anything to fill our hunger. The hotel breakfast is the best bet if you have a full day and need more than a pastry.

The hotel lounge had live music which was wonderful.

Cons:
The wifi did not work in our room. We were not able to connect any of our devices. The staff was very helpful in setting up a router in our room. However, the wifi still did not work. This is minor, but we like our wifi while on vacation.

The noise from the square was a little much while we were sleeping. Our cab driver told us the clubs in the square do not close until 8am... We could definitely hear the celebrations and yelling. I recommend ear plugs for you awake easily.

Overall: Highly recommend!! You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerAGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Mr/Mrs TravelerACG ,

Thank you for taking part of your precious time to review your stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.
Your feedback is very important to us and we would like to thank you for given it, this will help us to improve our Hotel.

Hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in a near future.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We arrived at approximately 3:45 PM on a Thursday afternoon and were invited to seat at the check-in tables to check in. The process itself was fast and efficient. However after the paperwork was completed, we were told the room was not ready and that we would need to wait for a few minutes. The hotel offered complimentary glass of port to welcome us to the city and for having to wait. So we proceeded to the bar to have the port. The few minutes turned into 45 minutes. This was very disappointing considering it was past the official check-in time and we were very tired from our long journey from the States.

At around 4:30 we were told the room was ready and were offered a small box of chocolates as an apology. The port wine and box of chocolates was a nice gesture. However, I would have preferred to have the room immediately.

We were upgraded to a loft suite. The room was absolutely stunning and very posh. The downstairs had a full bathroom downstairs along with a couch, coffee table, television and a closet. The upstairs included an even bigger bathroom, very comfortable bed, office desk and a television. All the furnishings were very posh and beautiful. The room also included a mini bar (for charge), free coffee and tea and a nespresso machine that costs 2.50 Euros for each cup.

While at the hotel, I had a chance to use the gym. Use if complimentary and included weights and cardio machines. It was decent sized and I did not have to wait to use any of the machines.

The hotel has complimentary wifi and it worked well at all times. Very fast!

The bar in which we were served the port is absolutely stunning and provides views of the street.

We did not have a chance to eat at the restaurant called Astoria. However, we looked at the menu and it is very pricy.

The hotel is in a great location About a 10 minute walk to the water, 3 minute walk to Clerigos tower and lots of restaurants near by. There are also train stations within a 3 minute walk.

The staff were always smiling when we passed by and the gestures seemed genuine. I saw people asking for directions and recommendations. They were also very detailed and helpful.

Overall, great stay and would stay again. They should work on having the rooms ready so people do not have to wait.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doshivk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Can only reciprocate the high number of "excellents". Thought the staff ultimately made it....the Portuguese have good chemistry anyway and it certainly was only display here...the guy on reception was brilliant..says a lot about the hotel leadership as well. Very good central location and very near a Metro station for a easy overground airport trip. Couldn't quite understand why the same (really good) platter of Portuguese cheese was €8 with room service and €15 in the bar (€15 is overpriced)....anyway cheese with port at the end of the night in the room wasn't too painful!! Btw try while port as a aperitif....excellent!!

Room Tip: Had a split level duplex on the fourth floor...great view over Se Cathedral from the bedroom floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank footprint99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Mr footprint99,

Thank you for sharing your memorable experience about the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, during your recent visit to Porto city.
I will pass your feedback to our F&B Manager although am happy to see that you have enjoyed our cheese quality.
There aren’t enough words to thank you for the kind post on TripAdvisor regarding our Hotel and above all your kindest words about our Team, they will be delighted to acknowledge your feedback about their work.

Looking forward to welcome you back to our Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Besides form bing a top hotel it is done with great taste, it is located smck in the middle of town and we could walk to most attractions, restarants and bars. We got upgrated to a bueatiful two level suite and when tired from discovering town was a great place to hang.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TAscrenname2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Mr/Mrs TAscrenname2011,

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas during your visit to Porto city.
I’m delighted to acknowledge you have enjoyed your upgrade to a Duplex Suite and above all your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Porto and at the gorgeous InterContinental Porto Palacio das Carodsas. The room was lovely with two juliet balconies to the view. It was a little noisy, but when you pulled the heavy drapes you really had a quiet space. The room was immaculately clean, lovely washroom and amenties, everything worked well. Housekeeping staff were courteous and discreet.

We did take the time for a drink after a day of touring, once in their bar very beautiful- we had Compari and sodas and a cheese tray, and it was excellent. The other time was on their Terrasse and it was also a great spot to people watch.

The hotel staff were great, unfortunately the only negative was the experience at breakfast. The food was bland, and the service a little confusing. I definitely concur with many other guests to eat at the numerous cafes right outside the hotel at a fraction of the cost. We didn't have breakfast included so the other couple of days we ventured out for breakfast.

This reveiw would not be complete with a mention of the excellent Conceirge staff, and I have to mention Rogierio in particular. He recommended the best private tour, and when we were a little late returning, Rogieiro called the Tour guide to make sure we were okay. Rogieiro also sent us to Toscano, we were homesick for Italian food, the only good Italian restaurant in Porto,(it was very good) and also to perhaps the best restaurant in Porto O Paparico, with excellent reviews of lovely Portuguese dishes. All the conceirge staff were great and arranged our dinner reservations and wrote out the addresses for the taxi cabs so we never got lost. These fine attention to detail is what made our stay go from good to great. We highly recommend this gorgeous hotel to anyone staying in Porto.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndieCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Mrs AndieCanada,

Thank you for sharing your memorable experience about the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, during your recent visit to Porto city.

There aren’t enough words to thank you for the kind post on TripAdvisor regarding our Hotel and above all your kindest words about our Team, specially Rogerio, will be delighted to acknowledge your feedback about his work.

We would like to thank you for recommending our Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed at the InterContinental Porto for two nights and had a wonderful stay! The hotel is beautiful and the staff is great! We were upgraded to a loft suite with two bathrooms. It was lovely and very spacious. The buffet breakfast at the hotel was lovely. The concierge service at the hotel was the best we have ever had. On the first night of our stay in Porto, I left my sun glasses in a taxi when they took us to a restaurant. When I discovered what I had done, the restaurant said they would contact the hotel and see if they could track down the cab. Amazingly, when we returned to the hotel, the concierge had found the cab driver and had gotten him to bring the glasses to the hotel. Where do you get amazing service like this? All the conceirge were great, but I especially want to mention Goncalo. He seemed to be at the desk most of the time when we were there. He was very attentive and helpful. He even helped us book a tour in Coimbra, a town we planned to visit several days after we left Porto. Everything about this hotel is 5 star. And the location could not be better, right across the street from the train station and in the center of the town. We highly recommend staying at this hotel when in Porto. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We loved our loft suite on the top floor of the hotel. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Mrs Beth N,

Thank you for sending us your kind feedback and for choosing InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas for your recent stay.
I’m delighted you have enjoyed your upgrade to an Duplex Suite and that all the staff was great , specially Gonçalo, who was beyond your stay with us. All our team will be thrilled as it is greatly appreciated when their efforts are recognised.

Would like to thank your kind words and for highly recommend us to other visitors of Porto city.

Looking forward to welcome once again to the InterContinental Porto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.9 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.2 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Porto River Apartments
Porto River Apartments
#3 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas

Property: InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Address: Praca Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#1 Business Hotel in Porto
#2 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL PALACE AT THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. Located in the heart of the Historical Centre, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas is the result of a careful renovation of a palace dated from the end of the 18th century. The Hotel is located in Oporto’s main city square, the Praça da Liberdade,within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights,trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The Hotel comprises 105 spacious rooms and suites, the Astoria Restaurant, Cardosas Bar, meeting and banqueting rooms, as well as a Wellness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Porto Palacio Das Cardosas Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing