We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious hotel in a terrific city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Astoria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Luxurious hotel in a terrific city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

The location couldn't be more convenient for travel--just around the corner from the São Bento train station (with its beautiful tile-work). The staff are friendly, the public spaces impressive and the rooms tastefully decorated. Those on the front overlook the lovely Avenida dos Aliados. I suppose in summer they might be a bit noisy between the traffic and the crowds, but I would still opt for one of them given the wonderful air and light. Porto is a fascinating city, filled with interesting architecture and attractions.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maeve32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Mr Maeve32,

Thank you for the review and for the kind words about Porto city and our Hotel.
I am truly delighted to learn that the team and hotel facilities made such a great impression.
We are looking forward to receive you once again In our Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,496
    288
    50
    9
    7
See reviews for
299
1,033
60
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed here for one night in june 2013. Was in the city for work and got stuck for one night extra when our flight was cancelled. And we changed from another - not very nice hotel - to this one. We were not sorry!

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The beds are AMAZING! Never slept better! The room felt more like a suite, it was huge with beautiful decorations. Almost felt royal. The staff is friendly and the service is excellent. The hotel is nicely situated in walking distance from lots of cosy and nice restaurants. Only sorry I just got to stay one night!

If I ever go back to Porto - I will absolutely stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PimPamPei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear MrPimPamPei,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas and for your kind words. It is very important to us to realize you had such a memorable stay back in June and you will came back to our Hotel when visiting Porto.
We are looking forward to receive you in a nearest future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Centrally located, beautifully decorated hotel in Porto - a true 5 stars experience. The concierge was super helpful - he even arranged a private tour at the Graham's for us. Parking at EUR22 was quite steep tho...but I guess that's the price you pay at the hotel like this.

Breakfast buffet at the hotel was splendid! Make sure you include breakfast in your reservation.

The hotel has a gym and a steam room in the basement (same level as the spa treatment).

This was truly a great hotel to stay at. Friendly staff and royal-like treatment! Highly recommended for anyone looking for a romantic and luxury experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayonaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Mr Mayonaka,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay within the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.
I am delighted to hear that our facilities and specially our service met your expectations, in deed our team is our crown jewel.

We trust that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
1,054 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 727 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

If you are still looking for a hotel at this charming city of O Porto, stop searching: you've just found it! Intercontinental Porto Palácio das Cardosas will be your address while visiting O Porto. First of all, it is a Palace! Completely and carefully renovated. "Chic et racé", as French visitors would happily say. They've done an excellent job: good taste, beautiful marbles, modern furniture, special lighting and bathrooms with designer's signatures: a real dream "salle de bains". Main hall already gives you a good hint of what is expecting you. Located at central "Praça dos Aliados", at the very heart of O Porto, it is close to almost every thing, any top attraction is at a walking distance, even the Railway Station (considered one of the most beautiful stations in the whole world and fully decorated with the incredible traditional Portuguese tiles). Pay attention to "Bar das Cardosas" on the ground floor and spend there some time, listening to the great music, at a fantastic signature décor. You'll enjoy it. Restaurant Astória is also extremely beautiful, but has been receiving mixed reviews. So, check it and tell us your conclusions. Finally, two last remarks: 1) Housekeeping - impeccable! Cleanliness is a fantastic characteristic of Palácio das Cardosas and you can't imagine the great smell you'll feel all over the place - parfum stickers are seen everywhere; and 2) Front Desk and Conciergerie: Outstanding staff: young, gentle, helpful and efficient, due to excellent and extensive training. Prices are accordingly to similar hotels in the world, but you'll have the good feeling that every single cent was extremely well spent. I loved it! Enjoy!

Room Tip: A room with a view is always nice. My room had no unforgettable view, but was an excellent room, a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuizDutraNeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Mr luizdutraneto,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our location, quality of the room and specially our service. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and your comments have been shared amongst the team.

We all look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you in the not too distant future.
All our Team wishes you a Happy New Year.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed here in mid-December 2013. Service was very attentive and helpful, everyone spoke very good English. Concierge was helped with recommendations and made reservations, gave instructions to cab driver, etc. Rooms were clean and stylish as well as quiet, even my street side room - and I know there were late night revelers in the street! And this was the least expensive hotel I have stayed at in Europe in a fairly large city. Located in city center, easy to walk to all major sites. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Walk across the bridge to Gaia on both the bottom and top - great views! Tour the wine sellers (Sand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobcat18793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Mrs Cheryl F,

Thank you for your comment and kind words.
We are very happy that you have enjoyed our Hotel and specially our Team.

Looking forward to receive you once again in our Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel does just about everything right. The rooms are modern and elegant with stylish and functional decor.

The bed and bed linens are soft and luxurious feeling. The pillows and duvet are plush down.

The blackout curtains are the most effective I have ever experienced. I thought it was still the middle of the night when I woke up and opened the curtain and it was already sunny out.

The bathroom was large with a separate shower and soaking tub. The shower was effectively sealed with the door closed so the bathroom floor didn't get soaked. The tub is large and perfect for a long hot bath. The towels are huge and fluffy. The hairdryer in the room is the highest quality hair dryer I have ever found in a hotel.

The staff are helpful and attentive but the service is not suffocating. The lobby and the bar on the ground floor are very nice. The location is convenient to anything one could want to do in Porto.

The valet parking was inexpensive and convenient.

The only complaint I would register is that both checking in and checking out there was only one person working at the desk and I had to wait quite a long time both times.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs LikeMagic,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.
We are very happy to acknowledge you had such a wonderful stay with us and have enjoyed special the room and our service.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

What a lovely city is Porto and staying at intercontinental made it even nicer.coming into the hotel what a wonderful smell.we even bought this bottle with scent to take back home.hotel is very well located.concierge services very helpful and attentive directing us to all interesting sites.large spacious rooms and bathrooms.free wifi and such a comfortable bed!
Breakfast had a delicious variety.opening everyday the window we saw sunshine and decorated for Christmas view of the square
Will recommend and come back myself

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilana2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Mrs ilana2207,

We would like to thank you for choosing the InterContiental Porto Palacio das Cardosas during your recent stay in Porto.

We are pleased to acknowledge you had a wonderful stay and brought home a little scent of our Hotel, so you can remember your experience in Porto city.

Thank you for recommending our Hotel and we are expecting to see you in a near future once again.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.9 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.2 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#4 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas

Property: InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Address: Praca Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Porto
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto
#2 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL PALACE AT THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. Located in the heart of the Historical Centre, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas is the result of a careful renovation of a palace dated from the end of the 18th century. The Hotel is located in Oporto’s main city square, the Praça da Liberdade,within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights,trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The Hotel comprises 105 spacious rooms and suites, the Astoria Restaurant, Cardosas Bar, meeting and banqueting rooms, as well as a Wellness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Porto Palacio Das Cardosas Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing