We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its positive points are also its negative points”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Ranked #1 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

It has a very central location with a tram stop just outside, the tourist buses just across the way and the river just round the corner and a short walk downhill. However its on the main square where several nightclubs are very active over the weekend until the early hours. Our room was very plush and comfortable with very heavy curtains but they did not block out the noise. Great housekeeping, the room was ultra clean.
The air conditioning system was most unusual as you could not switch the fan off. It had 3 speeds but no off switch. Also having booked an executive room for 5 nights I had expected complimentary bottled water each day. In Asia you also get complimentary breakfast included if you book an executive room for 5 nights.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful but if I was to stay in Porto again I would not choose to stay here over the weekend and would request a 4th floor room at the back of the hotel and sacrifice outlook for a nights sleep.

Room Tip: You have a choice of outlook or quiet cannot really have both
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller_S-WalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Mr/Mrs Traveller_S-WalesUK,

Thank you for posting your feedback witch is very important for us it will allow us to improve our service and Hotel facilities.
We hope will have the chance to accommodate you in a nearest future on our Executive or Duplex Suites facing the back part of the Hotel, they are very quite rooms. This way you may enjoy the great Porto night life and have a peaceful sleep.
We will forward your kind words to our staff, specially our Housekeeping department.~

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,027)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

922 - 928 of 2,027 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed in Porto at the Intercontinental last month for three nights. We loved the place. Our room was excellent. Despite the fact that it was on the second floor overlooking the busy square, the triple-pane windows kept it very quiet...even for two light sleepers like us. The common areas are beautiful...the hotel is only a couple of years old...done in a redeveloped Porto bank building. The service was wonderful. We were really happy with the Concierge's restaurant recommendations...authentic and delicious. The location is wonderful, about a 10 minute walk from the River and central to everything you might like to do in Porto (and across the street from the train station in case you come by train).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASeattleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Mr/Mrs ASeattleTraveler,

We are delighted to read such kind words about your recent stay in our Hotel.
Your feedback will be forward too our Concierge Team witch give their best everyday at work, to deliver a memorable experience to our guests.
Looking forward to receive you once again in our Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Ii just went to the bar for a quiet drink, in a lovely old fashion elegant and spotless
bar, with a great and grand location.
The waiter was very attentive, and suggested a fine white chilled wine,
I enjoyed the sense of an elegant Porto, which is, by now, seen better days as a city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Terry B,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to review our Bar das Cardosas.
We are looking forward to received you once again and try our newest Tubes & Tunes on Saturday night’s, Cocktails and Wines in tube with DJ playing from 10pm.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just recently back from Porto, spending a 5 night stay at the intercontinental hotel.Overpriced for the service you get. More negetive points than positive-

Positive-
Conserige - excellent.
Room - nice but a bit small but for a city hotel fine.
Housecleaning - good.
Location - v.good.

Negetive-
Breakfast service very poor, empty bowls of food on dispay never filled back up even when sitting down before 10 a.m does not finish until 10.30.
Had to ask to be served tea/coffee.
Food luke warm.
Ok selction not great- average.
Plates not removed until I asked for them, not 5 star service you would expect.
Other guests complained to be served on the mornings we eat there, dicided to have breakfast acroos the road in the cafe instead as I was not looking forward to breakfast in the hotel.

Resturant- stayed half board- told when I checked in that we had only a 25 euros allowance for food so either you have starter and main or main and desert not what you would expect for a 5 star. Staff rude and slow , never filled up the drinks while I was eating my dinner ,we had to serve ourselves at one point.
Food was nice but service lacking compared to the other 5 star hotel we stayed in previously to the intercontinal hotel.No atmospere in resturant only a few couples dined there each night, room also cold, some couple had to aked to be moved without a draft near them.
Waited 2o minutes to be asked for choice of dessert but in the end left it as no one came back to us .
Overpriced for what you get, avoid half board.
Will not be returning to intercontineal again other nicer hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Do not get a deluxe room ,facing onto a building site and sand pit roof at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear suds1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. It's nice to hear that you like our hotel location and concierge service. Your opinion is very important to us, as it helps us identify areas in need of improvement. I would like to apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced due to the unacceptable service and food selections received from our hotel restaurant. We truly value the comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer to improve your stay. We will address these points and we hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back in an effort to provide you the level of service you expect from InterContinental hotels.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Lets start with a positive - the staff were all great especially the concierges. The rest of the hotel leaves a lot to be desired other than the location which is perfect. Our room faced the square but since they only have single pane windows it was very noisy all the time and especially at night. We wanted to open the doors to the Juliette balconies but were told that we would have to sign a waiver to get a key to unlock them? The air conditioning was all but useless. The wifi was slow and intermittent. The lighting in the bedroom and bathroom was terrible.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Mr Peter AZ,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.
Our Hotel is located in the city center allowing walking through the city and we have double glazed windows to avoid our guests been disturbed during their rest.
We are sorry we did not fill in all your expectations and we hope in your next stay we have a chance to deliver a relaxing stay, perhaps a room facing the back of the Hotel would be more quitter and you will have more natural light coming into the room.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was extremely pleased with every facet of this hotel. The rooms are very well maintained and the location is wonderful. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Ricardo, a concierge, gave us outstanding advice and service. We drove up to the front door and they took care of everything from there on. We didn't see the car again until we checked out (but be prepared to pay €22 per day for parking). This is a world-class hotel and InterContinental is doing a great job in managing it to world-class standards.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggb1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in Porto for 5 nights and enjoyed every minute. Fantastic location with a room overlooking the square on the 3rd floor. High quality room with everything needed and space to enjoy. Two french windows which the Hotel allowed us to open, gorgeous bed and linen and a generous bathroom and shower space. Staff were friendly and helpful. Walking distance to the river and all surrounds. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Mr / Mrs Pam255103,

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas during your stay in Porto city and for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are thrill to acknowledge you have really enjoyed every minute of your stay with us and we hope it was memorable.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1.9 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.4 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 108 in Porto
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas

Address: Praca la Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#1 Business Hotel in Porto
#2 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range: $206 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL PALACE AT THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. Located in the heart of the Historical Centre, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas is the result of a careful renovation of a palace dated from the end of the 18th century. The Hotel is located in Oporto’s main city square, the Praça da Liberdade, within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights, trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel comprises 105 spacious rooms and suites, the Astoria Restaurant, Cardosas Bar, meeting and banqueting rooms, as well as a Wellness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Porto Palacio Das Cardosas Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing