We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull hotel, wonderfull stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Ranked #1 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Wonderfull hotel, wonderfull stay!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is really great - starting from the moment you arrive - how employees are greeting you up to your departure! Rooms are very comfortable, beautiful and clean, there is absolutely everything you need: high quality bathroom amenities, kettle with diferent types of tea, iron and ironing board, good wi-fi connection etc. Atmosphere in all hotel is very welcoming and relaxing. You can really have rest from the moment you enter the building.

Room Tip: All rooms are just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank volk-dasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs volk-dasha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas and for your kind words.

We are very happy to had deliver a memorable stay and we are looking forward to receive you once again in our Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,594
    303
    51
    6
    4
See reviews for
334
1,094
64
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is centrally located in a walking distance to most tourist attractions. The hotel is new even though the building itself is quite old. The breakfast is quite good with some exotic items like jam made from tomatoes or pumpkin. Rooms are spacious. Good advice was provided by concierge re where to have a dinner.

We have been upgraded on arrival due to having a gold loyalty card.

You might be offered a glass of port wine upon check-in.

Few negatives:

1)They have a shuttle to Corte Inglese (the department store), albeit we have not been told about it - even though we have asked them to order us a taxi to go there. This was a bit of a nuisance.
2) They have not addressed our request re pillows/blankets, which was not too difficult.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zilonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs volk-dasha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas and for your kind words.

We are very happy to had deliver a memorable stay and we are looking forward to receive you once again in our Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanFrancisco
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a luxurious hotel with lovely rooms and first-rate service. The value was incredible in comparison to Spain or France. The reception and concierge were extremely attentive. They spoke enviable English and made excellent recommendations. We had a huge corner room with a beautiful view. Though it faced the busy square and train station, there was little noise. The bathroom was enormous. The only minor disappointment was the restaurant, where we had dinner one night. The food was below par, esp. considering the prices.

We would absolutely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rolandsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Mr rolandsf,

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas during your stay in Porto city.

Your feedback about Astoria Restaurant is important to us and we hope next time we can meet all your expectations.

Thank you for your kind words about the Hotel and our service, we are delighted to know you had enjoyed your stay and will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This wonderful hotel is located in a great location easily walkable to everywhere we wanted to go. The lobby is absolutely beautiful. We had a fantastic service from doorman to concierge and reception and this service continued during our entire 5 days stay. Our deluxe square view room was spacious, beautifully furnished and felt really luxurious. The bed was the most comfortable we have ever had in any hotel. It was on the top floor and on the corner with windows on two sides (room 305). Even though it faced 2 busy streets, it was remarkably quiet. The bathroom with double sinks had both a tub and shower. It was spacious and beautifully finished. The buffet spread was excellent although the quality of the baked goods was not of the standard expected at a hotel of this caliber. The service was good but also not quite what we expected. We ate dinner one night in the restaurant. It was very good, but again not outstanding and service lacked polish. Overall, this is a wonderful hotel and given everything that it has to offer and the superb service (with the possible exception of the restaurant) the Palacio das Cardosas gets our top rating.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms facing the square are fantastic. Our corner room (305) was incredible-windows on 2 side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanFran11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs SanFran11,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.

We would like to thank you for your kind words about our service, comments like yours motivates our team to deliver their very best everyday.
We are doing some changes in our Astoria Restaurant and we are pleased that you gave your feedback so we may improve our service and quality. Hoping we may surprise you in your next stay in our Hotel.

Nevertheless we are thrill you enjoyed your room and the Hotel location was convenient during your stay.


Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven County, Ct
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband & I spent 3 nights at the InterContinental as part of a tour group. The staff spoke English a huge plus since we do not speak any Portuguese and were very well trained and cordial. The rooms and public areas are just gorgeous and very well maintained. The breakfast buffet (included in our tour pckg) was great. The Portuguese really know how to make delicious pastries!! The hotel overlooks a large square with the city hall at the other end of the square. The train station is right around the corner and is a must to see. Lovely tiles telling a historical story. The area felt very safe and we walked to the Gaia area at the river. Take the funicular back up the hill unless you enjoy over 200 stairs. Highly recommend this hotel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moosemagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs moosemagnet,

Thank you for the kind words and for the feedback about your recent stay at the Intercontinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.

The central location of the Hotel allows our guests to walk easily through town and touristic areas.

Hoping we have presented a memorable stay for all the group and we are looking forward to receive you once again in our Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in Porto to explore the city and surroundings and selecting the Intercontinental was a perfect choice, very central to all attractions, the bus tours close by, and many historic sites within walking distance. From the moment we arrived until we left the service was just perfect. The doormen, the concierge, the reception were all incredibly nice and helpful, breakfast was very good. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: They all appeared to be nice, we had a room with an internal courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Mrs Gabri,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us in Porto and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are happy to know that you found the location convenient for your trip in Porto and that our team stood out during your stay.

Looking forward to welcome you once again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in August and found it extremely comfortable and perfectly located. Ideal for sightseeing, staff are very friendly and accommodating, Sales Manager Brenda Sa Ribeiro gave a very warm welcome. Bedrooms are spacious and concierge team couldn't be more helpful with their sightseeing tips and restaurant recommendations. If you are travelling to Porto this is a place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonja22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs Sonja22,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in the Tripadvisor about your recent stay in our Hotel.
We are very flattered about your feedback and will let our Team know about your kind words.

Hoping to welcome you back once again in Porto.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1.9 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#7 of 108 in Porto
559 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas

Property: InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Address: Praca la Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#1 Business Hotel in Porto
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto
#2 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL PALACE AT THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. Located in the heart of the Historical Centre, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas is the result of a careful renovation of a palace dated from the end of the 18th century. The Hotel is located in Oporto’s main city square, the Praça da Liberdade, within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights, trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel comprises 105 spacious rooms and suites, the Astoria Restaurant, Cardosas Bar, meeting and banqueting rooms, as well as a Wellness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, IHG, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Porto Palacio Das Cardosas Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing