We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Ranked #1 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Lovely rooms, and a great bar. The happy hour is definitely worth its value!! The staff were very polite and courteous - also helpful. The location is perfect for walking around the town, shopping and seeing the historical sites. Definitely worthy of its high rating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluepotatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Mr/Mrs Bluepotatoes,

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas and for sharing your experience in Tripadvisor.

We have a new concept in our Astoria, the Terrace with Happy Hour and we would like to thank your feed back on this, it seems the guests are enjoying it very much.
We are very glad that you enjoyed our Hotel and service, comments like yours motivates our staff to continue deliver their very best everyday.

Hope to receive you again in Porto.

Kind Regards

Francelina Amaral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,996)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

927 - 933 of 1,996 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel is very well appointed with large rooms (lovely marble bathrooms) and friendly staff. The location is in the heart of the city's main square and close to shopping / restaurants. While we stayed only one night, the hotel staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kmulski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Mr Kmulski

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and for your kind words.
Our privilege central location allows our guests to visit the city touristic points or enjoy a shopping day.

We are looking forward to receive you in our Hotel in a near future.

Kind Regards,
Francelina Amaral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great service and location. Lovely rooms, great shower!! Conceige was awesome - booked a great private tour guide and helped us with a great recommendation for dinner. Skip the dining room - awful service and unremarkable food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank de0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear de0402,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.

We are delighted to read that you appreciated your stay with us in terms of room comfort and concierge services.

Your statement on the restaurant experience is strong and of course as you can imagine is affecting us a lot. The restaurant has just received two distinctions and great coverage as one of the best tables in the historic part of Porto ; it has not been at all at your taste and we deeply regret this. We hope, in a future visit we have the opportunity to positively influence your opinion.

Thank you again for choosing us for your visit to Porto and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards,

Eric Viale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Located in the heart of Porto this hotel is first rate. A new hotel just over 3 years old, formerly an 18th century palace. The staff were very helpful, our room first rate. We overlooked the Avenida dos Aliados. However, there is quite a lot of traffic in the am & pm, with anxious drivers using their car horns a lot and several blocks from the hotel are several streets with loud music until late into the night. So if you're a light sleeper ear plugs are a must.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Mrs Mary T,

Thank you very much for sharing your review in Tripadvisor.

Our InterContinental is 2 years old and very well located in the city centre, allowing our guests to walk to all touristic attractions, therefore in the busiest part of the day some noise may occur due to the central location. Despite this we are very happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back,
Francelina Amaral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This new InterContinental, located in a refurbished palace in downtown Oporto, is just perfect - rooms, restaurant, bar, service, concierge ... My 2-day stay was memorable. Special recommendation for the restaurant, with high quality food for very affordable prices. Surely, a place to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sergio a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Mr Sergio a,

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas during your recent stay in Porto city.

We are very pleased to hear it was a memorable stay and the Hotel and Service met your expectations.
Your feedback will inspire our Team to deliver their very best everyday.

Looking forward to have you once again with us.

Kind Regards,
Francelina Amaral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great rooms, excellent location. Clean and comfortable and good staff, but I got the impression it is understaffed.
Extras are a ripoff. A 20ml of water is 5euro, and the NEsspresso is charged 2.5€ a capsule. I still do not know where this was indicated (I thought it was complimentary),

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank BEKMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Mr BEKMaster,

We would like to thank for taking the time to post your review into Tripadvisor about your recent stay in our Hotel.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our facilities and staff.

We may assure the Minibar prices are in tune with other similar Hotels in the city and the Nesspresso capsules are in a box open with a price tag on the right corner.
We are sorry we did not meet your expectations on this matter.

We trust that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Francelina Amaral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed two nights in this truly lovely hotel, plain on the outside but beautiful on the inside. The room was a two-story with a loft which is where the master bedroom and bathroom were. On the first floor there was a living room/lounge with welcome cakes on the buffet and another lovely shower room. Both rooms had flat screen tv's. The only drawbacks were no towel bars in the bathroom on which to hang used towels and the breakfast wasn't quite up to five star standard. Service was excellent and the concierges were extremely helpful. It's very centrally located.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyBoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Mr JudyBoz,

Thank you for the kind words about your experience at the InterContiental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.

We are happy to hear you have enjoyed our Duplex Suite and the Welcome treatment in your room.
Our breakfast is been change to fulfil all guests needs and desires and we hope in your next stay it will be up to you expectations.
The Concierge team will be glad to acknowledge your feedback about their service.

Looking forward to receive you in nearest future.

Kind Regards,
Francelina Amaral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Pestana Vintage Porto
#10 of 108 in Porto
2,169 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 108 in Porto
571 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,068 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 108 in Porto
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas

Address: Praca la Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#1 Business Hotel in Porto
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto
#2 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range: $211 - $603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL PALACE AT THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. Located in the heart of the Historical Centre, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas is the result of a careful renovation of a palace dated from the end of the 18th century. The Hotel is located in Oporto’s main city square, the Praça da Liberdade, within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights, trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel comprises 105 spacious rooms and suites, the Astoria Restaurant, Cardosas Bar, meeting and banqueting rooms, as well as a Wellness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Porto Palacio Das Cardosas Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing