We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Nearby Hotels
$219
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$142
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$287
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$162
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$286
$267
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$284
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$300
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,167)
Filter reviews
2,167 results
Traveler rating
1,760
339
56
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,760
339
56
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconcierge staffduplex suiteastoria restaurantbeautiful hotelthe main squarethe rivertrain stationperfect locationfive star hotelthe heart of the citybeautiful roombreakfast buffetold palacedouro valleyloved this hotelhigh ceilingslong weekend
Filter
Updating list...
1,116 - 1,121 of 2,167 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Like all other reviewers noted, this hotel has big comfortable rooms, great service and nice breakfast. I especially want to say thank you to the concierge staff. There was a train strike at the end of our stay in Porto so we asked Concierge how to get back to Lisbon. The concierge desk sent people going over to the train station to first check the situation, then left a map with detailed walking directions in our room showing us where to take the bus, also the bus schedule and pricing info. We got back to Lisbon with zero problem. Thank you intercontinental and yes I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for your kind words; it's very rewarding if not the best reward to hear that our team made the difference within your stay. I
It’s truth that our Concierge team is always trying their best in order to deliver excellence service providing our guests with the best tips or solutions in your case!

So, now you know, if ever decide to come back contact our Concierge that will be more than glad to help you organizing your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I always stay at this hotel when i visit Porto for my business. Although the price is higher than other hotels, you know you'll always get the good service and the good food you deserve. the rooms are spacious and comfortably decorated, very clean, reception and concierge always very helpful, breakfast is rich and the bar has the best cocktails. İt's positioning is at the heart of the city, very nice place and a walk distance to the river.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basak A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your preference and such a great review about your stay with us.
We have a few news, like new entertainment program in our Cardosas Bar with o Live Music Piano at Mondays, Wednesdays and Thursdays & at weekends Voice and Piano duo!!

All this and more, to enjoy on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Nice Hotel, very polite staff, big room and bathroom. I would highlight the Concierge Service which was great with a detailed explanation for our city tour. Our room (201) was a very quiet one. The Hotel has a great Fitness center. We had only one slight problem: the water in the sink did not flow down appropriately and this was resolved only for the second notice to the Reception Desk. But all in all I would recommend this Hotel and would return again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krisztina234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
It's a great pleasure to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and both, our hotel and service combined with location had resulted in such an wonderful experience.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Porto is a great city, and I can't imagine a better place to stay to ensure you get the most out your visit. We stayed at the Intercontinental for a long weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and as I am a Priority Club Ambassador we were upgraded to a beautiful duplex suite on the top floor. A great start!

The location is perfect for exploring the city and the region, less than 10 mins walk to the river and very convenient for the main Sao Bento station for local/regional trains or the city metro.

The hotel facilities were very good but what really made the difference was the staff. In particular the Concierge team led by Goncales and Rogerio went out of their way to:
- provide superb restaurant recommendations and very efficient reservation service;
- transport advice and train timetables for our day trip up the Douro valley, (a beautiful trip, highly recommended!) which made booking tickets much simpler across the street at Sao Bento;
- get hold of football tickets at very short notice (in good seats too) for an international match at Dragao.
The team were always willing to chat about Porto in general, or to get our feedback on the places we'd been to, especially to ensure we'd liked the places they had recommended.

All in all, the friendliest and most professional Concierge team I've come across in years of business and leisure travel. I really look forward to another opportunity to visit!

Room Tip: The top floor suites generally don't have a view of the square, but will have a view over parts of the city including the cathedral.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevora61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you very much for your review and for your loyalty to the brand. It's very rewarding to hear from you, as an Ambassador, that IC Porto is the place to stay when visiting Porto.
Comments like the ones you were so kind to write help us in motivating our
team to continuously try to improve our services. Our Concierge is doing their utmost in order to provide our guests with the best "tips"!
We take this opportunity to thank you again for your preference, "Special occasions must be celebrated especially"!!
Looking forward to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our room overlooked the Liberdade Square - the room was large and beautifully decorated - five star luxury and very quiet. The staff were very courteous and helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. It is centrally located and an easy ten minute walk down to the river. Continental breakfast was generous and reasonably priced. The hotel has been tastefully restored and is amazing value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaRMaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience.
We are pleased that both our services and location met your expectations.
Your comments about the hotel are truly appreciated as our property is quiet new... it was recently opened (July 2011)!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews