We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-class hotel, top-class people in a wonderful city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Community of Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top-class hotel, top-class people in a wonderful city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Porto is a great city, and I can't imagine a better place to stay to ensure you get the most out your visit. We stayed at the Intercontinental for a long weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and as I am a Priority Club Ambassador we were upgraded to a beautiful duplex suite on the top floor. A great start!

The location is perfect for exploring the city and the region, less than 10 mins walk to the river and very convenient for the main Sao Bento station for local/regional trains or the city metro.

The hotel facilities were very good but what really made the difference was the staff. In particular the Concierge team led by Goncales and Rogerio went out of their way to:
- provide superb restaurant recommendations and very efficient reservation service;
- transport advice and train timetables for our day trip up the Douro valley, (a beautiful trip, highly recommended!) which made booking tickets much simpler across the street at Sao Bento;
- get hold of football tickets at very short notice (in good seats too) for an international match at Dragao.
The team were always willing to chat about Porto in general, or to get our feedback on the places we'd been to, especially to ensure we'd liked the places they had recommended.

All in all, the friendliest and most professional Concierge team I've come across in years of business and leisure travel. I really look forward to another opportunity to visit!

Room Tip: The top floor suites generally don't have a view of the square, but will have a view over parts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevora61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you very much for your review and for your loyalty to the brand. It's very rewarding to hear from you, as an Ambassador, that IC Porto is the place to stay when visiting Porto.
Comments like the ones you were so kind to write help us in motivating our
team to continuously try to improve our services. Our Concierge is doing their utmost in order to provide our guests with the best "tips"!
We take this opportunity to thank you again for your preference, "Special occasions must be celebrated especially"!!
Looking forward to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,496
    288
    50
    9
    7
See reviews for
299
1,033
60
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our room overlooked the Liberdade Square - the room was large and beautifully decorated - five star luxury and very quiet. The staff were very courteous and helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. It is centrally located and an easy ten minute walk down to the river. Continental breakfast was generous and reasonably priced. The hotel has been tastefully restored and is amazing value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaRMaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience.
We are pleased that both our services and location met your expectations.
Your comments about the hotel are truly appreciated as our property is quiet new... it was recently opened (July 2011)!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
280 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Arrived on train and taxi to a most professional welcome. I have stayed at many intercontinentals (Hong kong, Singapore, Australia) and this one easily maintains the standard. The staff are unfailingly courteous and helpful. What is promised is delivered. Booked a garden room and it is very quiet and comfortable. Free internet. Astoria is very good value for lunch. Great location for a first time tourist. This hotel has my full recommendation. I am not usually this gushing!

Room Tip: Chhose a room not facing the square for good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lankylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for your preference and loyalty to the brand.

It's a pleasure to learn that you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed so much Porto.
Your comments are most valuable for us as they help us in motivating our team to continuously try to improve our services.

Looking forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the InterContinental for 3 nights. We had a deluxe room which was large and quiet. The hotel has a good gym, an excellent breakfast and the location couldn't be better. It is right on the main square and a 10 minute walk from the river.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. They are quite proud of their city and everyone, the concierge and the bell hops all want to give advice on the best sites to see.

My one piece of advice if you choose to stay here is to not take a room next to the elevator. The elevator makes a fair bit of noise when the door opens and closes. Other than that, an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: My one piece of advice if you choose to stay here is to not take a room next to the elevator. The e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelpal32489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
It's very rewarding to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us and enjoy both, our property and service, so much.
Our Concierge is doing their utmost in order to provide our guests with the best "tips"!

Looking forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Elm
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I will start by clarifying that I am an American with extensive travel experience around the world. I like comfort and quality at a good price. My wife and I spent three nights at the Intercontinental in Porto and loved it. I don't know when they finished their renovations but it must have been fairly recently as the interior of the hotel appears to be brand new. We stayed in an upgraded room that over looks the plaza. The room was a nice size, the bathroom was a good size and the bed were heavenly. The only warning is that if you ask for the side facing the plaza, be prepared for noise!! Lots of noise!! We would not have slept a wink if it had not been for the applications on our ipads that gave us soothing background noise. It was a great view but never quiet.

Room Tip: Even ear plugs would not be enough to keep out all the noise from the plaza (we were on the 2nd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drgirdler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at Hotel InterContinental Porto. We are very pleased you enjoyed staying with us.
In fact the hotel opening was last year back in July 2011, quiet new!
Regarding the noise we absolutely agree that our location right in the city centre might have inconveniences as the noise, nevertheless we do have rooms facing the backyard that are more quiet! On your next visit must try one of these rooms!

Looking forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very conveniently and centrally located, just around the corner from the São Bento main station (amazing interior!) First impressions very favourable - beautiful long façade on Liberdade Square. Built as a monastery, later a palace, and following recent sympathetic conversion, it is now a very stylish hotel. Reception made us feel extremely welcome, especially when we were shown to what must have been one of the best rooms overlooking the square in the centre of the building. There was surprisingly little street noise. Service was first-class, not only from reception, but from the concierges, restaurant and bar staff - clearly all well trained and motivated. They all made us feel very special.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrandMrsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that both our services and location met your expectations and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokolbin, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Wonderful hotel in great location. The staff were helpful, Ricardo was a great help giving us sightseeing and restaurant tips. The rooms were exceptional, huge bathrooms,separate toilet and shower. The bed was extra comfortable, the rooms had everything in them you could want. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be a bit spoilt and looking for an upmarket hotel- most enjoyable!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view overlooking the main square.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is very rewarding to read your review and see that you had an enjoyable stay with us, thank you for sharing it.
Comments like the ones you were so kind to write help us in motivating our team to continuously try to improve our services.

We look forward to welcome you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.9 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.2 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#4 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas

Property: InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Address: Praca Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#1 Business Hotel in Porto
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#2 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL PALACE AT THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. Located in the heart of the Historical Centre, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas is the result of a careful renovation of a palace dated from the end of the 18th century. The Hotel is located in Oporto’s main city square, the Praça da Liberdade,within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights,trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The Hotel comprises 105 spacious rooms and suites, the Astoria Restaurant, Cardosas Bar, meeting and banqueting rooms, as well as a Wellness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Porto Palacio Das Cardosas Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing