We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brand new hotel which IS the centre of the city.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Ranked #1 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I only wnt there for a mid-day beer in its bright cafeteria and out of curiosity for the many many years that this palace has been close and then under restoration; it shows. A fantastic marble floor which, in itself, is a master piece and white walls and ceiling is the welcoming scene. The service is very attentive and the beer only cost me €2.50

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phayaoThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you on your next visit to Oporto so you can also experience the whole of the hotel services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,150 - 1,156 of 2,070 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2012

very kind and freindly service in a antique mood.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HIDEAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights recently and loved it. The location is perfect -- right at the bottom of a beautiful square, in the heart of old Porto. The hotel must have been recently renovated because it was in pristine condition. The beds are super comfortable. Service was also very good and attentive. We did not eat at the hotel, but we did spend some time at the bar. Again, the service was impeccable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thao M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for your review on your stay at IC Porto. We are very glad you appreciated our hotel and service.
The hotel is in fact a renovated 18th century palace that opened last July. It is indeed very well situated right in the heart of the city centre, classified as World Heritage by the UNESCO and within walking distance from main monuments, restaurants, bars and shopping streets.
We hope you come to see us again and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

This hotel was everything my wife and I hoped. Great location - best in Porto, I would argue. Excellent room with all the amenities. When the free wifi didn't work in our corner room, the front desk staff supplied us with a hard wire connection for our laptop.

All staff but especially the front desk and concierge staff were brilliant, taking care of every request and going the extra mile. Ricardo, Goncalo and Vasco were all top class and gave us great help with our rental car, avoiding the electronic radar tolls and giving us advice on the best day trips.

If staying in Porto again, I would stay here without question and recommend to anyone visiting the city.

Room Tip: Get the Corner Square view...you see most of the main monuments in Porto from your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank USABrit77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

It is always very rewarding to learn from our guests that our hotel and staff not only meet, but exceed their expectations.
Thank you for your very kind words and we hope to see you again in a not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed in Palacio das Cardosas for two nights. Very friendly and informative service was constantly given during our stay particularly from the Concierge. He gave us a map and guided us where we could explore even without us asking. His sunny and handsome smiles really cheered up our days there. Our room on the 3rd floor was overlooking the square. Street lights in the square were beautiful at nights and early mornings. Flickering traffic lights in the square looked like a Christmas tree. Street noise indeed reached our room but was least bothering thanks to heavy drapes in the room. Wifi connection was provided for free but there were some disruptions as some reviewers have previously pointed out. Room was elegantly decorated and yet very functional. Loved the big comfortable bed. Breakfast was nothing special but more than sufficient to give us energies to walk ups and downs in Porto. Upon check-out we took a train to Lisbon from the station that was just located across the street. Porto is relatively small and many places are within walking distance from the hotel. Weather was just perfect - gorgeous blue sky, sunny, and fresh air. We absolutely loved Porto for its lovely sceneries and unique character (and scale) and the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the ones facing the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bohemian2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to comment on your experience at IC Porto.
We very much value our guests' contributions towards the improvement of our service. Comments like the ones you were so kind to post certainly motivate our staff to always try to do better.
We are very happy to learn how much you enjoyed Oporto ad look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed in Palacio das Cardosas for three nights and we absolutely loved the experience. The room was decorated in a classical style, with high-quality objects and well-finished furniture. Even if maybe far too small -according to the plan of the hotel, ours was the smallest room: 320 -give it a miss!- the luxury made you feel very comfortable indeed.
Porto is quite an old city which has not paid any attention to its highlights yet, so getting to this hotel every evening was great.
I must descibe, though, two items which were a bit of a nuisance: First, the mattress, which was made of a thin mattress of feathers, the quills of which would stick out and literally pinch your back. So I decided to sleep each of the days with a big towel as a sheet.
Second, Wifi. At first it was not available, but after trying many hours I was leant a cable which solved the problem quickly.
I would like to mention the extraordinary quality of the people attending both the Concièrgerie and the Reception. Angela, Joel and Sophie were highly effective and remembered you as a client, which you don't get in most hotels.
I would finally like to thank them for having been so kind as to send us back home the bag my husband lost in the metro and which was kindly found by a man who took it to the hotel. They then phoned us, and much to our delight, sent it by courier back home.
If I ever go back to Porto I will definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not choose the 320, as it is small while the others are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartaPalomares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Dear Ms Palomares,
Thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay in IC Porto Palácio das Cardosas.
We regret to hear that the mattress cover was so annoying! In fact, real feathers, when new, can sometimes be a problem. Please, next time you come to visit us, do not hesitate to inform us of any inconveniences, so we can try and do our best to make your stay as pleasant as it should be.
I'll make sure to pass on to our staff your very nice compliments that will certainly be much appreciated.
We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

excellent Hotel with very helpful staff.
due to some confusion I cannot award it all 5 stars, I was confirmed that street view was a good option since new years' s concerts would stop at 0130 latest 0200, well...we didn't sleep until 8 o'clock in the morning.
location is very central.
I found breakfast very "hotel chain" like, nothing special.
Rooms quite dark with not enough lightning to make it a more attractive place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bernbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you have taken your time to review your stay with us, particularly the very nice comments about our staff.
We are very sorry to learn the street noise in the main square prevented you from resting in the New Year's eve. It is one of the contingencies of being so well situated right in the city centre. Had we not been misinformed about the late night noise, we would have certainly suggested you a room facing the back garden.
We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1.9 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 109 in Porto
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#7 of 109 in Porto
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas

Address: Praca la Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#1 Business Hotel in Porto
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto
#2 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range: $168 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL PALACE AT THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. Located in the heart of the Historical Centre, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas is the result of a careful renovation of a palace dated from the end of the 18th century. The Hotel is located in Oporto’s main city square, the Praça da Liberdade, within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights, trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel comprises 105 spacious rooms and suites, the Astoria Restaurant, Cardosas Bar, meeting and banqueting rooms, as well as a Wellness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Porto Palacio Das Cardosas Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing