We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food at the top level”
Review of Rui Paula DOP

Rui Paula DOP
Reserve with
Rui Paula DOP is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 1,707 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: In the first quarter of 2010, Rui Paula returned to his homeland, OPorto, with the opening of the DOP restaurant. The new space is situated in the Palace of the Arts - Talent Factory, in Largo de S. Domingos in the historic city center, classified as World Heritage. This building is full of history. It began as the S. Domingos Convent and remained active since the fourteenth century, as a venue for auctions and council meetings. In 1834, served as the headquarters of the Lisbon (later Portugal Bank), and between 1934 and 1989 hosted the Douro Insurance Company. The Palace of Arts, now under the jurisdiction of the Youth Foundation, aims to "establish itself as a center of creativity and innovation of national and international excellence, professionally promoting young designers / artists, and be the dynamic center of the historic center as a cluster of arts and creative industries, enhancing its ability to attract creative professionals and tourism." The concept of the Palace of Arts fits perfectly in the Rui Paula project, who understands the gastronomy field as a creation with a strong cultural component. DOP has been designed to operate as a good taste, space cosmopolitan and yet familiar, and the generator of exciting dining experiences. The restaurant, with capacity for 65 people is provided with the latest equipment and has two distinct and complementary spaces: one show cooking, where the service is faster and more economical, and a traditional but innovative cuisine and dinning room.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food at the top level”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

By visitng DOP and Rui Paula our stay in Porto became memorable. The food is not only extremely tasty and fresh - it is also served in a very artistic way. Food at the top level!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Biorno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    269
    101
    46
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Metz, France
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very good restaurant. Could have 1 Michelin star.
We went twice in that restaurant in 3 weeks time. The second time we had the menu "mar" with the selection of wines. Everything was perfect and matching very well together. The only slight disappointment was the local "brandy" I ordered at the end, not so tasty.
The service is very good, the cooking is inventive and flavours are enhanced.
It is an expensive place but you get very good value for the money. Employees are very professional and taking care of you in a way that you can't ignore that you are that important person, the customer.
Two very pleasant evenings in Porto.
The second time the lady at the entrance recognised us,
We would definitely recommend that restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank deuxvies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“High quality restaurant”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We came across this restaurant by accident when we were strolling the city an decided to make reservations for the evening. A nice atmosphere and a good quality restaurant with a high level of service. My wife expected to have sushi and was disappointed when there was only one sushi dish on the card in a 6 or 7 course menu. The staf immediately produced an alternative menu with various sushi combinations, all equally excellent. My wife thoroughly enjoyed the sushi as a starter and entree, while I went for the duce with foie gras, follewd by truffle tagliatelle. Rui Paula came by to check if everything was to our liking. The staff where helpfull and friendly.

Don't expect to eat cheap here, but prices and quality match and where well balanced.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GerardNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exquisite Food and Service”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Let me begin by saying there is no doubt that is was the most expensive meal we've ever had. Over $300 for two people. However, it was also one of the best, if not the best, meals we've ever had. We can't go there every day, that's for sure, but we are so glad we were able to eat there.

This was more like an event than a meal. It lasted over 3 hours, with 8 or 9 courses and intermezzos and amuse buche, with Portugese wine paired with every course, truly stellar bread plate, and more service than we knew what to do with.

The person who primarily took care of us (who I think was the sommelier, but spent a lot of time with us because his English was better than the other servers) was so patient, thoughtful, and informative. We had a million questions about every course, since we love knowing about what we are eating and how it was prepared. He explained everything in detail. We were really impressed during one particularly interesting course, wherein there was a blown glass-like globe of spun sugar filled with olive oil atop octopus carpaccio. After answering all our questions, the sommelier even took my husband down to the kitchen and the staff taught him how to make this!

Each course was very small, and very carefully crafted. Very thoughtful. The wine pairings were perfect.

We did not want this meal to end, but after 3+ hours and probably 6 glasses of wine, it was definitely time to call it quits. By this point, we felt we had a personal relationship with our sommelier, so we exchanged information so that when he comes to the US we can make sure he gets some good food experiences and doesn't end up at Disney.

Anyway, this place was fantastic. But if you are going, be prepared to pay. And then just order the multi-course menu with the wine and sit back and let it happen to you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants ever - GO!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a fantastic dinner at DOP during our holidays in Porto, so good that we went back the day after to eat there again.
Friendly and good service, extraordinary food and very good wines selected by the sommelier. The beautiful presentation, the taste experiences, the atmosphere. Really one of the best restaurants we have ever been to.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Musken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rui Paula DOP also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
 

Been to Rui Paula DOP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing